The Perfect Storm of the Stock Market III

On 8/21/2024 at 11:19 AM, Voodooman said:

Wah, $2.20 to $3.50. ho say liow. I have some and like you, not a lot.  When are you cashing out?  

Seatrium's first half numbers were decent but buay zhao.  

Dunno when cashing out…boss you leh.  i peasant sheep follow you😬

today seatrium stirred to life…🙏

😅

On 8/22/2024 at 10:49 AM, Enye said:

😅

Silly question, but I can't find seatrium and it's code?

Likewise for MULTI WATER? 
Thanks

the top 4 counters in hstech etf already up smelly smelly 25-35% ytd

how come hstech etf still in negative teritory huh

isn't etf track the underlying stocks closely

the top 4 counters accounted for 80% of the holdings in the etf 

if include JD.com the 5th largest holding ... that's 90% of the etf holdings

isn't hstech etf should be positive? [confused] 

2024-08-22_133436.jpg

On 8/22/2024 at 1:40 PM, Wt_know said:

2024-08-22_133436.jpg

cos we tio con liao

On 8/22/2024 at 1:40 PM, Wt_know said:

2024-08-22_133436.jpg

Alibaba is 9%, the other 3 are 8%. JD is also 8+%
Together the 5 of them make up 42-43% of the ETF. 
https://www.blackrock.com/hk/en/products/315923/ishares-hang-seng-tech-etf

On 8/22/2024 at 10:49 AM, Enye said:

😅

Without that stupid acquisition and rights issue, SATS should be above $4 with air traffic back to pre Covid level. I was hoping Sifu can share your exit price and I can follow.

Will probably start cashing out by tranches.  I am a bit nervous with Fed starting to cut rates and as market enters a new interest rate cycle.

On 8/22/2024 at 2:10 PM, Lala81 said:

Alibaba is 9%, the other 3 are 8%. JD is also 8+%
Together the 5 of them make up 42-43% of the ETF. 
https://www.blackrock.com/hk/en/products/315923/ishares-hang-seng-tech-etf

thanks @Lala81

i must have read wrongly ... anyway top 10 counters accounted for 70% of the ETF 

still ... i am surprised the etf did badly

2024-08-22_142925.jpg

• Sad 1

On 8/22/2024 at 2:30 PM, Wt_know said:

thanks @Lala81

i must have read wrongly ... anyway top 10 counters accounted for 70% of the ETF 

still ... i am surprised the etf did badly

2024-08-22_142925.jpg

I'm guessing general outflow of foreign funds from China tech stocks. Only the titans are bucking the trend. 
Though with such a weightage, still not positive for the year does seem weird. 

Like SMIC is 16% down YTD as of today. 

On 8/22/2024 at 2:38 PM, Lala81 said:

I'm guessing general outflow of foreign funds from China tech stocks. Only the titans are bucking the trend. 
Though with such a weightage, still not positive for the year does seem weird. 

Like SMIC is 16% down YTD as of today. 

I haven't gone into their tech stocks. Only bought the big banks (added one more counter last week). Tech stocks will drop or not? I want to go in!

Need to start deploying my cash since Freddy is going to potong soon. No more risk free 5 plus %. 

On 8/22/2024 at 1:45 PM, Vegas said:

cos we tio con liao

kena screwed by hitam rock ... [mad] 

taking a bit of profit never wrong.  

I also took $70k profit off the table into my pocket yesterday, good enough for a few months expenses and taxes

On 8/22/2024 at 2:53 PM, Volvobrick said:

I haven't gone into their tech stocks. Only bought the big banks (added one more counter last week). Tech stocks will drop or not? I want to go in!

Need to start deploying my cash since Freddy is going to potong soon. No more risk free 5 plus %. 

Before the rise up, to me, only tencent is worth buying. But I'm badly scarred by alibaba and hstech. So I won't buy china tech stocks. 

I have only china mobile, cnooc, Sinopec. Wish I had conviction to buy Chinese banks. But I'm still not optimistic to their exposure to the property slump and the weak economy. 

With the intervention in bond markets by govt last week, I would definitely not get ping an and those insurance companies. 

On 8/22/2024 at 2:53 PM, Volvobrick said:

On 8/15/2024 at 7:36 PM, Volvobrick said:

How can? We have best of the best here esp ex civil servants.

Actually no need to bother to think, just dump all the hundreds of billions into  berkshire can liao. Just need an accountant and cashier to manage. 

On 8/22/2024 at 3:09 PM, Lala81 said:

Before the rise up, to me, only tencent is worth buying. But I'm badly scarred by alibaba and hstech. So I won't buy china tech stocks. 

I have only china mobile, cnooc, Sinopec. Wish I had conviction to buy Chinese banks. But I'm still not optimistic to their exposure to the property slump and the weak economy. 

With the intervention in bond markets by govt last week, I would definitely not get ping an and those insurance companies. 

https://www.businesstimes.com.sg/companies-markets/banking-finance/china-banks-become-surprise-winners-frenzied-hunt-yield

Just as I started nibbling again last week this article is published.  More people coming in will drive up the prices and I have to pay higher!

On 8/22/2024 at 11:13 AM, therock said:

Silly question, but I can't find seatrium and it's code?

Likewise for MULTI WATER? 
Thanks

5E2 on STI

On 8/22/2024 at 2:25 PM, Voodooman said:

Without that stupid acquisition and rights issue, SATS should be above $4 with air traffic back to pre Covid level. I was hoping Sifu can share your exit price and I can follow.

Will probably start cashing out by tranches.  I am a bit nervous with Fed starting to cut rates and as market enters a new interest rate cycle.

Ok boss...you give the signal

my exit plan is at bedok reservoir

😅

Out of curiosity was looking at indonesian ETF/unit trusts. 

Seems like might as well invest in STI ETF. even better performance despite the growing/vibrant economy of Indonesia. 

On 8/23/2024 at 10:43 AM, Enye said:

5E2 on STI

Ok boss...you give the signal

my exit plan is at bedok reservoir

😅

Thanks bro

any idea on multi water?

sorry I suddenly realized I have these haha

On 8/23/2024 at 10:56 AM, Lala81 said:

Out of curiosity was looking at indonesian ETF/unit trusts. 

Seems like might as well invest in STI ETF. even better performance despite the growing/vibrant economy of Indonesia. 

IDR depreciation?

On 8/23/2024 at 2:14 PM, Voodooman said:

IDR depreciation?

many experts already commented indonesia moving capital already burn billions if not trillions of IDR liao … jit dong jeng!