Fcw75 Hypersonic December 29, 2022 Share December 29, 2022 (edited) One death too many, 45th this year. This time a 31 years old Singaporean. Wonder what kind of machine. RIP. Rifle Range workplace death: Victim’s family wants more to be done to prevent such accidents https://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/rifle-range-workplace-death-victim-s-family-says-too-many-such-accidents-authorities-must-do-more Edited December 29, 2022 by Fcw75 ↡ Advertisement 1 9 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
ER-3682 Twincharged December 29, 2022 Share December 29, 2022 RIP,getting Married soon...doing just part time Job & lost his Life. 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kyrios Turbocharged December 30, 2022 Share December 30, 2022 But the mom ministar more focused on letting in more FTs...whats his kpi.. 1 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fcw75 Hypersonic December 30, 2022 Author Share December 30, 2022 8 minutes ago, Kyrios said: But the mom ministar more focused on letting in more FTs...whats his kpi.. Economy. The sister brought up a good point. Ms Chow said her family hopes the authorities can investigate workplace fatalities thoroughly, with the number of such incidents this year pointing to gaps in areas that may not be adequately addressed. More than just dealing with negligence or enhancing supervisory roles, she suggested it may be time to admit there is a lack of a safety culture here. She also called for greater support to be provided to the families of such victims. 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic December 30, 2022 Share December 30, 2022 Wait for more information on the accident. The MOM also need time to investigate. May the victim RIP. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Atonchia Supersonic December 30, 2022 Share December 30, 2022 Which ministry is in charge of workplace safety? Different industries governed by different ministry? Construction by MND? Or all workplace labours should be under MOM? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
ER-3682 Twincharged December 30, 2022 Share December 30, 2022 8 minutes ago, Atonchia said: Which ministry is in charge of workplace safety? Different industries governed by different ministry? Construction by MND? Or all workplace labours should be under MOM? In Charge by PAP & their Ministers. 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic December 30, 2022 Share December 30, 2022 17 minutes ago, Atonchia said: Which ministry is in charge of workplace safety? Different industries governed by different ministry? Construction by MND? Or all workplace labours should be under MOM? https://www.mom.gov.sg/workplace-safety-and-health 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Atonchia Supersonic December 30, 2022 Share December 30, 2022 A lot of the deaths seemed like due to lifting, hoisting, fork lift, all the heavy equipment and falling from heights. Lifting something then the item dropped onto the victim. Hoist or crane topple onto victim Forklift hitting victim. Item from forklift dropping onto victim. Lorry rolling backward onto victim etc. All due to negligence or lack of safety procedures or not following safety protocol. 45 deaths is almost one death a week. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
L23 6th Gear December 30, 2022 Share December 30, 2022 18 minutes ago, ER-3682 said: In Charge by PAP & their Ministers. Under the purview of PM Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic December 30, 2022 Share December 30, 2022 1 hour ago, Kyrios said: But the mom ministar more focused on letting in more FTs...whats his kpi.. Part of the reason for all these workplace accidents is the lack of manpower. Any talk on the increase in safety without any increase in cost is TALK only. To increase safety standards, every job has to be certified. Just like GERMAN. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fcw75 Hypersonic December 30, 2022 Author Share December 30, 2022 Waiting for @Carbon82 to come in and give his opinion. I’m also curious why a 31 years old U grad have to work part time as a general worker. I mean men in their 40s and 50s like me have difficulty finding a full time job and have to resort to doing part time I can understand but at his age too? Haiz… 1 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator December 30, 2022 Share December 30, 2022 1 minute ago, Fcw75 said: Waiting for @Carbon82 to come in and give his opinion. I’m also curious why a 31 years old U grad have to work part time as a general worker. I mean men in their 40s and 50s like me have difficulty finding a full time job and have to resort to doing part time I can understand but at his age too? Haiz… Eh u dun look down but yes, sth amiss @Carbon82 shd be retired but he dunno how to keep mouth closed that’s why still working🙏🏾😂 limpeh work build hdb flat at 14yrs old hor…😂 1 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Windwaver Turbocharged December 30, 2022 Share December 30, 2022 (edited) 29 minutes ago, Fcw75 said: Waiting for @Carbon82 to come in and give his opinion. I’m also curious why a 31 years old U grad have to work part time as a general worker. I mean men in their 40s and 50s like me have difficulty finding a full time job and have to resort to doing part time I can understand but at his age too? Haiz… Life is tough in SG. Especially if you are male Edited December 30, 2022 by Windwaver 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic December 30, 2022 Share December 30, 2022 Mentioned in the article ST Engineering outsourced its manpower to a 3rd party manpower company. Question will be who is in charge of the outsourced manpower safety and welfare? Is it a shared responsibility by the 3rd party supervisor and ST supervisor? Or is the ST supervisor fully in charge? Who is the onsite supervisor? Where is he/she when the accident happen? I think these are the questions that will be asked. The highest ranking person in charge that day will have to answer for what happen. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic December 30, 2022 Share December 30, 2022 (edited) 49 minutes ago, Fcw75 said: Waiting for @Carbon82 to come in and give his opinion. I’m also curious why a 31 years old U grad have to work part time as a general worker. I mean men in their 40s and 50s like me have difficulty finding a full time job and have to resort to doing part time I can understand but at his age too? Haiz… The part-time job could be a filler job to fill his time while waiting for his new job to commence in Jan. Maybe he doesnt want to idle at home for that 1-2 month? Make some extra cash for his wedding? Young man wants to try out different jobs and dont mind it, I think it's normal lah. Edited December 30, 2022 by Watwheels Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
ER-3682 Twincharged December 30, 2022 Share December 30, 2022 Actually any Load lift by Crane or Forklift should stay Clear from the Path...maybe this Guy don't know the Danger as he work part time & no one taught him. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fcw75 Hypersonic December 30, 2022 Author Share December 30, 2022 25 minutes ago, Watwheels said: The part-time job could be a filler job to fill his time while waiting for his new job to commence in Jan. Maybe he doesnt want to idle at home for that 1-2 month? Make some extra cash for his wedding? Young man wants to try out different jobs and dont mind it, I think it's normal lah. But he started in June 2022, don’t think it’s just to fill his time. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...