LG Fridge door open sensor keeps beeping

Lala81

On 7/19/2024 at 9:54 AM, bsswan said:

Come back to this, as well.

You need to keep the fridge full, even with empty plastic food containers if necessary. This cuts power consumption as the fridge only needs to keep cool the free space - food, and even the plastic containers, hold onto temperature and do not warm up so fast, so keeping something in the fridge's free space will save you money, and the fridge's motor.

Means empty fridge also no good? 

On 7/19/2024 at 10:43 AM, 13177 said:

Correct.

You waste energy cooling a large volume of air, only.

On 7/19/2024 at 9:54 AM, bsswan said:

Come back to this, as well.

You need to keep the fridge full, even with empty plastic food containers if necessary. This cuts power consumption as the fridge only needs to keep cool the free space - food, and even the plastic containers, hold onto temperature and do not warm up so fast, so keeping something in the fridge's free space will save you money, and the fridge's motor.

On 7/19/2024 at 11:33 AM, bsswan said:

Correct.

You waste energy cooling a large volume of air, only.

These two posts very enlightening. My fridge is muah muah fully packed. 

On 7/19/2024 at 10:43 AM, 13177 said:

ya lah, mean economy not doing well, coz no food. A parent visiting their children with a empty fridge, is very heart pain for them one.

On 7/19/2024 at 10:05 AM, Lala81 said:

Very good point.

Yes the best is not to underload or overload it. I would say anything from 40-75% capacity is good. Beyond too much, the circulation drops, then freezing can occur easily where it shouldn't. 

Less air space also has less heat loss every time you open the fridge and can't decide what to take out. Less air space, mean less air exchange. LOL

Thanks to those who PM me their contacts.

Went down on Sat evening to see what was going on when i visited for dinner. 

no compressor/fan noises. 

Open up to see my mum overloaded the freezer unit. Freezer is about 80-90% packed.
With ice formation at the back. She also set the freezer temp to coldest. 
She said she will clear it but that's like easily weeks worth of food for 2 pax. And i know she will still forget and still go to the market every week to buy more food despite me telling her not to buy anymore and draw down on what's inside first. Her dementia is hindering her from remembering or following my instructions. 
I took back a lot of frozen stuff to split with my sister. 
Kana scolded by her for interfering, say not grateful etc. We let her cook for us still on saturdays so that she's can still be actively doing stuff (she's been a do-er since young and never really one for rest). But it's also a big source of stress for her cos the dementia makes her very inefficient in meal prep. 
I also buay tahan her. Just get angry and shuddup. 

Will now regularly check on the freezer and clear out whatever excess she's buying. 

• Sad 2

On 7/19/2024 at 1:12 PM, Ender said:

Overload is also no good.  There need to be some airflow within the fridge itself for the compressor to work properly. 

I have seen a few fridges with failed compressor  only to see the fridge being overloaded with stuff from the normal compartment to the freezer compartment. The airvents were completely blocked.

Overloading is probably worse than underloading. Underloading is bad only if people  keep opening the fridge frequently everyday. 

75% max. load is usually the recommendation.

https://www.modernlivingdirect.co.uk/why-should-you-not-overload-fridges/#:~:text=Overloading your fridge or freezer,all your food will spoil.

Edited by Stary

The fridge compressor works when the set temp is not reached.

My view is not so much how "overloaded" a fridge is, but how often the door is opened/ left opened or if the door seal leaks; that caused the temp to rise and the compressor to work.

A completely "overloaded" fridge would not consume much electricity, if the door seal is perfect and the door never opened, as the temp would be kept cold.

More importantly, make sure air flow around the compressor is not blocked. If the fridge has any coverings/panels that is blocking the compressor, it'd be better to remove them.

On 7/21/2024 at 5:29 PM, Lala81 said:

Thanks to those who PM me their contacts.

Went down on Sat evening to see what was going on when i visited for dinner. 

no compressor/fan noises. 

Open up to see my mum overloaded the freezer unit. Freezer is about 80-90% packed.
With ice formation at the back. She also set the freezer temp to coldest. 
She said she will clear it but that's like easily weeks worth of food for 2 pax. And i know she will still forget and still go to the market every week to buy more food despite me telling her not to buy anymore and draw down on what's inside first. Her dementia is hindering her from remembering or following my instructions. 
I took back a lot of frozen stuff to split with my sister. 
Kana scolded by her for interfering, say not grateful etc. We let her cook for us still on saturdays so that she's can still be actively doing stuff (she's been a do-er since young and never really one for rest). But it's also a big source of stress for her cos the dementia makes her very inefficient in meal prep. 
I also buay tahan her. Just get angry and shuddup. 

Will now regularly check on the freezer and clear out whatever excess she's buying. 

Well, at least now you know the fridge is ok, and found the real issue,  and that's one good news. 

Old folks with dementia, can't help it, it probably happens to 70% of the aging population, and the older the worse it gets, mentally be prepared.

My late dad also, got hit about 5-6 yrs before he passed on, and it just got worse, until he forgot where he went. Luckily he remembered home, my younger bro and me. Sometimes can remember my elder daughter, his first grandchild.

You will get upset, angry and irritated for sure, at least I can understand that. 

Personally, I am not a believer of loading an empty fridge with empty containers. 

I agree with the points on the compressor works when the temp is not reached, and having a good airflow is more important. 

Inside the fridge, once the desired temp is reached, it's reached, the temp only changes when you open the fridge, and warm air rush in to replace the cold air. 

My Bosch fridge I bought in 2020 before CB, was overloaded because of CB, and the airflow outlet was blocked by food.  I had a lot sweating issues, which Bosch could not solve. But as I ran down the food, the issue went away. I then placed a pc of a kitchen towel roll core under the airflow outlet, so that it stops anything from getting any closer to the flow, and 4 years on, swee swee. 

Instead of placing empty containers, might as well stock some drinks or water, at least something useful, or consider buying a smaller fridge. [laugh][laugh][laugh]

On 7/19/2024 at 1:12 PM, Ender said:

When my fridge is smaller, it will be fully loaded. After getting a bigger fridge still fully loaded. Will always buy things to fill up the fridge.  😅😅

On 7/19/2024 at 1:20 PM, Ender said:

Less air space also has less heat loss every time you open the fridge and can't decide what to take out. Less air space, mean less air exchange. LOL

As long as there is a temp different, there will be heat exchange. When you open the door, cold air escape and warm air rush in, the cold stuffs inside your fridge will absorb the warmer air and increase their temp, and more warm air will enter. When you close the door, those heat absorbed by the stuffs will still need to be cool down. Less air exchange doesn't necessarily mean less heat exchange leh. But of course the air exchange play the biggest role. [laugh][laugh][laugh]

On 7/21/2024 at 8:35 PM, Tianmo said:

Personally, I am not a believer of loading an empty fridge with empty containers. 

I agree with the points on the compressor works when the temp is not reached, and having a good airflow is more important. 

Inside the fridge, once the desired temp is reached, it's reached, the temp only changes when you open the fridge, and warm air rush in to replace the cold air. 

My Bosch fridge I bought in 2020 before CB, was overloaded because of CB, and the airflow outlet was blocked by food.  I had a lot sweating issues, which Bosch could not solve. But as I ran down the food, the issue went away. I then placed a pc of a kitchen towel roll core under the airflow outlet, so that it stops anything from getting any closer to the flow, and 4 years on, swee swee. 

Instead of placing empty containers, might as well stock some drinks or water, at least something useful, or consider buying a smaller fridge. [laugh][laugh][laugh]

Actually solid mass retain heat  (-ve heat) better than air. SO yes store more food instead of empty containers.

Edited by Ender

On 7/21/2024 at 8:46 PM, Tianmo said:

As long as there is a temp different, there will be heat exchange. When you open the door, cold air escape and warm air rush in, the cold stuffs inside your fridge will absorb the warmer air and increase their temp, and more warm air will enter. When you close the door, those heat absorbed by the stuffs will still need to be cool down. Less air exchange doesn't necessarily mean less heat exchange leh. But of course the air exchange play the biggest role. [laugh][laugh][laugh]

I think your idea is same as mine.  Red is the air exchange.  Just that for a well stocked fridge, the volume of air is low. So the exchange if air is only minimal compare to a empty fridge. How much heat that went into the fridge is temperature of environmental air X Mass of air(I use volume just now,) That is the new load for the fridge to cool down to the require temperature.

On 7/21/2024 at 10:29 PM, Ender said:

Another use of the heat exchange behind your fridge. It is a shoe dryer.

Behind fridge boh space leh.. i think everyone will push it closest to wall with the minimum space required.

On 7/21/2024 at 10:29 PM, Ender said:

Another use of the heat exchange behind your fridge. It is a shoe dryer.

I remember those very old fridges ........people like to put their school shoes below to dry.....😆

On 7/21/2024 at 11:38 PM, Stary said:

I remember those very old fridges ........people like to put their school shoes below to dry.....😆

Last time people put risers under their fridge, so got space below. 

For me, I put my shoes ontop of the fridge right to the back where i can feel some heat rising from below.