inlinesix Hypersonic February 14, 2024 Author Share February 14, 2024 On 2/14/2024 at 1:51 PM, Spidey10 said: gues is for singles lor....look at the car design already know for me....i got 3 kids, can forget about it liao....just like the CHR..... and those countless sedans.... for me, is SUV or MPV type....other than that, dun bother...thou the styling is very nice..........unless is my, just mine alone as a 2nd car... Tell them to take MRT. You can buy spot kar liao ↡ Advertisement 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kklee 6th Gear February 14, 2024 Share February 14, 2024 On 2/14/2024 at 1:45 PM, Macrosszero said: Dropped by Borneo Motors Leng Kee just now to see their Prius. However the one they had in their showroom looked like the poverty-spec car, with steel wheels, manually adjusted seats and no electric boot. Plus, it only comes in 1.8 litre format - so it is in Cat B but does not come with the benefit of power. Rear headroom is terrible - I'm not a particularly tall fellow and my hair is rubbing the head liner... and they're starting to be used as taxis... hmm. I'm told that the Corolla Cross Hybrid is only slightly more costly but comes with all of the features above, including the 2 litre engine. The styling of the new Prius is very nice, but its not so nice that I can overlook its shortcomings if I were to be in the market for a car. IMHO. Sure is "poverty-spec" car - specs cannot be near Lexus. If not, no one would buy Lexus. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
mersaylee Hypersonic February 14, 2024 Share February 14, 2024 On 2/6/2024 at 4:09 PM, Onyx said: Spent 5 days in Hokkaido with the new Prius as well. Overall not bad, sitting position is low and snug, has wireless carplay as well. Are those 18 or 19 rims? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Spidey10 Supercharged February 14, 2024 Share February 14, 2024 On 2/14/2024 at 2:51 PM, inlinesix said: Tell them to take MRT. You can buy spot kar liao Soon.... 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tohto Hypersonic February 14, 2024 Share February 14, 2024 On 2/14/2024 at 3:27 PM, Kklee said: IMHO. Sure is "poverty-spec" car - specs cannot be near Lexus. If not, no one would buy Lexus. Boleh land are getting much better spec car for many model than us. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kklee 6th Gear February 14, 2024 Share February 14, 2024 On 2/14/2024 at 8:04 PM, Tohto said: Boleh land are getting much better spec car for many model than us. IMHO. I checked their Corolla Cross Hybrid, still 1.8L. Maybe is 4th Gen. 🤔 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Heartbreakid 6th Gear February 14, 2024 Share February 14, 2024 On 2/14/2024 at 1:45 PM, Macrosszero said: Dropped by Borneo Motors Leng Kee just now to see their Prius. However the one they had in their showroom looked like the poverty-spec car, with steel wheels, manually adjusted seats and no electric boot. Plus, it only comes in 1.8 litre format - so it is in Cat B but does not come with the benefit of power. Rear headroom is terrible - I'm not a particularly tall fellow and my hair is rubbing the head liner... and they're starting to be used as taxis... hmm. I'm told that the Corolla Cross Hybrid is only slightly more costly but comes with all of the features above, including the 2 litre engine. The styling of the new Prius is very nice, but its not so nice that I can overlook its shortcomings if I were to be in the market for a car. Toyota revived its Prius but in terms of material quality, even in full spec, it is disappointing. The interior rear door panels upper portion are hard plastics. And Prius being a class above Corolla Altis (which has more soft touches interior around), Toyota really doesn't give justice to the Prius. The previous model had better all round interior soft touch plastic than the new Prius. The recently facelifted Altis has a much more pleasing interior yet selling at nearly $50k less than the soon-to-launch Prius which is set to be at around $200k. I too dropped by BM to view the Prius and felt other than just the good looks, the rest, especially the interior just not worth the money. There are other models within the Toyota umbrella offering better deals. The Prius just felt cheap really with the mostly hard plastic interior, 7-inch infotainment screen and steel rims with wheel cover. I won't be surprise it will be hard to sell for BM. Prius really is like spending so much more for less. 1 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic February 14, 2024 Author Share February 14, 2024 On 2/14/2024 at 8:11 PM, Kklee said: IMHO. I checked their Corolla Cross Hybrid, still 1.8L. Maybe is 4th Gen. 🤔 Even Japan/Thailand is selling 1.8L. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kklee 6th Gear February 14, 2024 Share February 14, 2024 (edited) On 2/14/2024 at 10:51 PM, inlinesix said: Even Japan/Thailand is selling 1.8L. IMHO. From their respective website, Japan has Li-Ion whereas Thailand, like Malaysia has NiMH. Also, for the 2.0L engine, it is both port and fuel injection. The rear suspension may also be different for the Thai and MY, torsion beam vs double wishbone. Edited February 14, 2024 by Kklee Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
iamahbee 5th Gear February 15, 2024 Share February 15, 2024 Seems like the 5G Prius is a popular choice of hire car for Singaporeans in Japan, myself included. So here's my contribution. I had the car for a week, a G Grade 2.0 FWD with the M20A-FXS Dynamic Force engine and latest hybrid system. I would never have imagined myself having this much fun in a Prius, but I did. The 2.0 engine has loads of torque to induce wheelspin when pulling away from the (dry) ETC toll-gate, but that's probably due to the skinny 195/50R19 tyres. Styling wise, you can see how low slung it is compared to the sporty GR Yaris. The interior is a pleasant place to be in with a leather-rimmed steering wheel, comfy seats and ambient lighting livening up the otherwise dark interior theme. It had a 8 inch touchscreen with carplay and all the modern connected services that can be accessed via an app. One criticism will be that the instrument cluster is blocked by the top of the steering wheel rim, which is otherwise clear and informative. The boot is very shallow; it did swallow our 2x 28in luggages and a cabin roller but not without the edges of the luggage wedged against the lift gate glass. Will be interesting how it fares as a taxi here in Singapore in this case. Final thoughts; it's a bit of a bummer that Borneo is selling what I believe to be the base spec with the previous gen 1.8 2ZR engine, although not surprising given our taxing approach to car ownership in Singapore (pun intended). I suspect one may be better off getting the Corolla Cross Hybrid which comes with the same 2.0 drivetrain, albeit in a less sexy but more practical body. 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic February 15, 2024 Author Share February 15, 2024 On 2/14/2024 at 11:26 PM, Kklee said: IMHO. From their respective website, Japan has Li-Ion whereas Thailand, like Malaysia has NiMH. Also, for the 2.0L engine, it is both port and fuel injection. The rear suspension may also be different for the Thai and MY, torsion beam vs double wishbone. 2L is for pure ICE. ASEAN and Japan version still uses 1.8L hybrid. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic February 15, 2024 Share February 15, 2024 On 11/23/2023 at 4:00 PM, Unfazed said: I wonder, didn't our big taxi company bragged to have a green vision to replace their fleet with EV progressively? Isn't putting new hybrids like engaging a reverse gear to their own green statement? And I noticed there seems to be a drastic drop in EV taxi sightings recently and what happened to the MGs from SMRT and the BYDs from Delgro? There was a period I see so many of them and suddenly they have become so rare to spot. In the news media they said what's stopping them is the lacking in charging infrastructure. It's not that they dont want to replace their entire fleet with EVs. It's now a "wait and see how" for the taxi companies. Same with many individual car buyers who want to switch to EV. LoL Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic February 15, 2024 Author Share February 15, 2024 On 2/15/2024 at 8:49 AM, Watwheels said: In the news media they said what's stopping them is the lacking in charging infrastructure. It's not that they dont want to replace their entire fleet with EVs. It's now a "wait and see how" for the taxi companies. Same with many individual car buyers who want to switch to EV. LoL I believe most Taxi Lau are Lau Kok Kok. They may not be able to adapt to EV. Resulting in more charging required. That’s the real reason, I think 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic February 15, 2024 Share February 15, 2024 (edited) On 2/14/2024 at 11:26 PM, Kklee said: IMHO. From their respective website, Japan has Li-Ion whereas Thailand, like Malaysia has NiMH. Also, for the 2.0L engine, it is both port and fuel injection. The rear suspension may also be different for the Thai and MY, torsion beam vs double wishbone. https://www.caranddriver.com/toyota/prius The 2023/2024 engine spec DOHC 16-valve 2.0-liter Atkinson-cycle inline-4, 150 hp, 139 lb-ft + 2 AC motors (combined output: 194 hp; 0.9-kWh lithium-ion battery pack) Transmission: continuously variable automatic https://www.caranddriver.com/toyota/prius-2022 2022 engine spec DOHC 16-valve Atkinson-cycle 1.8-liter inline-4, 96 hp, 105 lb-ft; front: permanent-magnet synchronous AC motor, 71 hp, 120 lb-ft; rear: induction AC motor, 7 hp, 40 lb-ft; combined output, 121 hp; 1.3-kWh nickel-metal-hydride battery pack For the 2024 spec One powertrain commands the Toyota Prius lineup. This is a 194-hp hybrid setup that uses a 2.0-liter hybrid inline-four gasoline engine borrowed from the Corolla Cross hybrid crossover and bolted to a continuously variable automatic transmission. Front-wheel drive is standard. For all-wheel-drive Priuses, Toyota adds a high-output permanent magnet electric motor to the rear axle, bumping total powertrain output to 196 horsepower. The launch to 60 mph, which took last year's Prius an exhausting 10.5 seconds to reach, now takes just 7.1 seconds according to our testing of a front-drive Limited model. That's quicker than both the Camry Hybrid and Elantra Hybrid. I think only US model has a higher output rear electric motor? Dunno leh. But it seems like the 2.0L has 2 AC motors while the old 1.8L has one. Battery pack is also updated to Li-ion from NiMH. Edited February 15, 2024 by Watwheels Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic February 15, 2024 Author Share February 15, 2024 (edited) On 2/15/2024 at 9:04 AM, Watwheels said: https://www.caranddriver.com/toyota/prius The 2023/2024 engine spec DOHC 16-valve 2.0-liter Atkinson-cycle inline-4, 150 hp, 139 lb-ft + 2 AC motors (combined output: 194 hp; 0.9-kWh lithium-ion battery pack) Transmission: continuously variable automatic https://www.caranddriver.com/toyota/prius-2022 2022 engine spec DOHC 16-valve Atkinson-cycle 1.8-liter inline-4, 96 hp, 105 lb-ft; front: permanent-magnet synchronous AC motor, 71 hp, 120 lb-ft; rear: induction AC motor, 7 hp, 40 lb-ft; combined output, 121 hp; 1.3-kWh nickel-metal-hydride battery pack For the 2024 spec One powertrain commands the Toyota Prius lineup. This is a 194-hp hybrid setup that uses a 2.0-liter hybrid inline-four gasoline engine borrowed from the Corolla Cross hybrid crossover and bolted to a continuously variable automatic transmission. Front-wheel drive is standard. For all-wheel-drive Priuses, Toyota adds a high-output permanent magnet electric motor to the rear axle, bumping total powertrain output to 196 horsepower. The launch to 60 mph, which took last year's Prius an exhausting 10.5 seconds to reach, now takes just 7.1 seconds according to our testing of a front-drive Limited model. That's quicker than both the Camry Hybrid and Elantra Hybrid. I think only US model has a higher output rear electric motor? Dunno leh. But it seems like the 2.0L has 2 AC motors while the old 1.8L has one. There are 3 variants of 5G Prius. Prius PHEV (2L), 2L and 1.8L. Other than PHEV, the rest has either 1 or 2 motors. PHEV uses 1 front motor. 1.8L uses ole 2ZR engine. 2L uses Dynamic Force Engine Front Motor: PHEV > 2L > 1.8L Rear motor: 2L = 1.8L Edited February 15, 2024 by inlinesix Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic February 15, 2024 Author Share February 15, 2024 On 2/15/2024 at 8:35 AM, iamahbee said: Seems like the 5G Prius is a popular choice of hire car for Singaporeans in Japan, myself included. So here's my contribution. I had the car for a week, a G Grade 2.0 FWD with the M20A-FXS Dynamic Force engine and latest hybrid system. I would never have imagined myself having this much fun in a Prius, but I did. The 2.0 engine has loads of torque to induce wheelspin when pulling away from the (dry) ETC toll-gate, but that's probably due to the skinny 195/50R19 tyres. Styling wise, you can see how low slung it is compared to the sporty GR Yaris. The interior is a pleasant place to be in with a leather-rimmed steering wheel, comfy seats and ambient lighting livening up the otherwise dark interior theme. It had a 8 inch touchscreen with carplay and all the modern connected services that can be accessed via an app. One criticism will be that the instrument cluster is blocked by the top of the steering wheel rim, which is otherwise clear and informative. The boot is very shallow; it did swallow our 2x 28in luggages and a cabin roller but not without the edges of the luggage wedged against the lift gate glass. Will be interesting how it fares as a taxi here in Singapore in this case. Final thoughts; it's a bit of a bummer that Borneo is selling what I believe to be the base spec with the previous gen 1.8 2ZR engine, although not surprising given our taxing approach to car ownership in Singapore (pun intended). I suspect one may be better off getting the Corolla Cross Hybrid which comes with the same 2.0 drivetrain, albeit in a less sexy but more practical body. Since 2L dynamic force engine made its maiden appearance in 5G Prius, it might push it’s price to be not appealing. Corolla Cross Hybrid still uses 2ZR for the hybrid system. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kklee 6th Gear February 15, 2024 Share February 15, 2024 On 2/15/2024 at 8:46 AM, inlinesix said: 2L is for pure ICE. ASEAN and Japan version still uses 1.8L hybrid. IMHO. Japan Prius have hybrid and plug-in Hybrid. Plug-in Hybrid is 2.0L and Hybrid is 2.0L using the same engine M20A-FXS. There is also a 1.8L Hybrid using 2ZR-FXE. Japan Corolla Cross have Hybrid and non-Hybrid. Hybrid is 1.8L engine same as Prius. Non-Hybrid uses M20A-FXS. Singapore AD Corolla Cross is Hybrid. 2L using M20A-FXS using Lithium. This is 5th Generation Hybrid. Malaysia Corolla Cross have Hybrid and non-Hybrid. Both 1.8L engine. Hybrid uses NiMH. Thailand Corolla Cross are Hybrid 1.8L engine using NiMH. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kklee 6th Gear February 15, 2024 Share February 15, 2024 On 2/15/2024 at 9:19 AM, inlinesix said: Since 2L dynamic force engine made its maiden appearance in 5G Prius, it might push it’s price to be not appealing. Corolla Cross Hybrid still uses 2ZR for the hybrid system. IMHO. Singapore AD Corolla Cross Hybrid is 2L using M20A-FXS. Singapore PI Corolla Cross Hybrid should be 1.8L. Engine not stated. ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...