The kids that we're raising today

BabyBlade

On 11/28/2022 at 4:31 AM, Starry said:

When I read all the challenges above from wedding cost to BTO,  the real issue is not money.  It is their mindset.

Expand  

True, 1000 guest, knn she think she celebrity meh... faintz 🤦‍♂️

https://mothership.sg/2022/11/changi-airport-slide-boy-hit-metal-barrier/?fbclid=IwAR1BcyEvgMPYFa8ey15npPkog8wgUdYf8SL7p-Y95EvyU4GGS-XD2rKc2Tg&mibextid=Zxz2cZ

Boy, 5, requires surgery on right eye after falling head-first on metal barrier at Changi Airport T3

Sorry, I have no kids but the parents blame the metal barriers?

And isn’t it better to make plastic lens for kids? I’m also using plastic lens.

Anyway, all the best for the kid.

Edited by Fcw75

On 11/29/2022 at 10:14 AM, Fcw75 said:

https://mothership.sg/2022/11/changi-airport-slide-boy-hit-metal-barrier/?fbclid=IwAR1BcyEvgMPYFa8ey15npPkog8wgUdYf8SL7p-Y95EvyU4GGS-XD2rKc2Tg&mibextid=Zxz2cZ

Boy, 5, requires surgery on right eye after falling head-first on metal barrier at Changi Airport T3

Expand  

no one is wrong, just an accident.

Expand  

He's young to be wearing glasses. He may have some condition that req special lenses? 

On 11/29/2022 at 11:20 AM, Lala81 said:

He's young to be wearing glasses. He may have some condition that req special lenses? 

Expand  

Very weird. My EYE friend says normal polycarbonate lenses can't shatter like that. But I thought plastic lenses are the norm. 

On 11/29/2022 at 11:27 AM, Lala81 said:

Very weird. My EYE friend says normal polycarbonate lenses can't shatter like that. But I thought plastic lenses are the norm. 

Expand  

Yes, the photo looks like glass lens?

That’s why I thought kids should be wearing plastic lens?

DC932582-5D70-4055-A8C7-AEC22CACC88D.jpeg

Edited by Fcw75

On 11/29/2022 at 11:38 AM, Fcw75 said:

Expand  

My eye friend said maybe it's glass. Cos plastic also shouldn't shatter until so jialat like this.

Could be the child had some need for high degree correction. 

He said I got mixed up, polycarbonate is a higher tier of plastic. More shatter resistant. more expensive. Usually have to specify u want it. 

On 11/29/2022 at 11:27 AM, Lala81 said:

Expand  

Mine was plastic lens, but don't if it's polycarbonate. But is's the basoc, so likely just plastic.  Both time I fell hard, the lens cracked but did not shattered into pieces.  Advise all lao lang not to wear lens made of glass.

Edited by Ender

Expand  

My son did played at the lower slide on many occasions. It should be the one this 5yo boy got injured. The lower slide is foc for children above 1.2m. 

Me and wifey did played on the bigger slide. The one that need a minimum spending at changi. One slide down per receipt.  I have seen other adults sliding there as well.  😁

The set up to the silde entrance pretty safe proven imo. Zig zag metal grills to prevent kid running around the vicinity. There is also a scanner at the entrance to measure the minimum height. Changing it to retractable barrier will be even more accident prone. 

Yes. An unfortunate accident. Hope the boy recover well. 

On 11/29/2022 at 11:38 AM, Fcw75 said:

On 11/29/2022 at 11:57 AM, Ender said:

Mine was plastic lens, but don't if it's polycarbonate. But is's the basoc, so likely just plastic.  Both time I fell hard, the lens cracked but did not shattered into pieces.  Advise all lao lang not to wear lens made of glass.

Expand  

Expand  

Glass lenses generally much heavier than the plastic lenses.

I was wearing glass lenses prior to my cataract surgeries. Astigmatism around 1k each eye. Only glass lenses can accommodate such high astig according to the optician.

Edited by Kopites

On 11/29/2022 at 12:22 PM, Kopites said:

I was wearing glass lenses prior to my cataract surgeries. Astigmatism around 1k each eye. Only glass lenses can accommodate such high astig according to the optician.

Expand  

My astig around 800. I have been using plastic lens since 4 year old.

Glass has higher index. 
Despite lower index, plastic still lighter than glass

On 11/29/2022 at 12:22 PM, Kopites said:

Expand  

My friend said glass lenses are for high degrees and also better clarity. 

On 11/29/2022 at 11:47 AM, Lala81 said:

My eye friend said maybe it's glass. Cos plastic also shouldn't shatter until so jialat like this.

Could be the child had some need for high degree correction. 

He said I got mixed up, polycarbonate is a higher tier of plastic. More shatter resistant. more expensive. Usually have to specify u want it. 

Expand  

upset-crying.gif