Tesla earns 8 times more profit than Toyota per car

steveluv

17 hours ago, Starry said:

Err, have to charge quite long time right?  Unless these places is in front of their homes/office, wouldn't it be quite an inconvenience whenever need  to charge?

Tesla SG have superchargers in some shopping centres and some exotic locations, mostly atas areas.

There is no turning back.
The global market for electric vehicles (EVs) is growing continuously at a compounded annualised growth rate (CAGR) of 21.7 per cent. It is expected to grow from 8.1 million units to 39.21 million units by 2030. This exponential growth is being driven by various factors, including concerns for pollution

China already way ahead, EU is following, i think 20 year time only 3rd world country and maybe US still have market for ICE

2 hours ago, Arogab said:

One thing about Tesla design. I have never actually taken a second look at them. I don't like the design at all. Sorry to say that but there will be people who will like it. But just not me. 

One the other hand, I still think Hybrid is a better and more convenient system

Agree always see model 3 and model Y super ugly

maybe the tesla model S still look proportional 

1 hour ago, inlinesix said:

Need 3 prong approach to solve this problem.

1. Charging station must be able to go beyond 150kw.  Currently, our charging station is 50kw.

2. Electricity "converter" in the car must be able to do it that fast.  Currently, it is very expensive.  It is found mostly in expensive EV.

3. Battery must be able to absorb that much energy that fast.

Currently, most of the fast charging cars are found in either Porsche or Merc

Thanks bro.........at least now can understand more about the current EV challenges

Edited by Starry

28 minutes ago, Thaiyotakamli said:

All don't look good to me, My CEO has one outside the office(SUV, I donno what model and never interested). I have never taken a close look. Really too ugly

16 hours ago, BanCoe said:

I wonder if Tesla profit is so high why Apple put theirs in the back burner ( might be cobwebs even now ) ……: and Apple has deep pockets too …. To splurge …… something’s just not right 

APPL is always don't care who reaches the market first, about being first to implement.

They only care about best implementation such that they become best in class even if they give up the head start.

And they are more about the software and user experience. If they do come up with an APPLE Car. Even TSLA will be scared.

very simply put, would u give up your tesla or would you give up your iphone (if u use an apple phone). i think it's very clear which brand is the most sticky.

33 minutes ago, Arogab said:

All don't look good to me, My CEO has one outside the office(SUV, I donno what model and never interested). I have never taken a close look. Really too ugly

Likely to be Model Y.

If gulf wing door, it is Model X.

Tesla has always been lacking in design.

It is all about ease of production.

55 minutes ago, Lala81 said:

APPL is always don't care who reaches the market first, about being first to implement.

They only care about best implementation such that they become best in class even if they give up the head start.

And they are more about the software and user experience. If they do come up with an APPLE Car. Even TSLA will be scared.

very simply put, would u give up your tesla or would you give up your iphone (if u use an apple phone). i think it's very clear which brand is the most sticky.

Actually I did hear a big thing for a few days of Tesla phone launch but finally after that nutting  .....even claimed own OS and own sort of some sattelite supported stuff.....

Tesla is selling a lifestyle product vs the typical bread and butter Toyota.  Of course can make better margin as the buyers have different marginal utilities and ICE market is still a lot more competitive.

2 hours ago, Lala81 said:

Think if Tesla allows carplay in Tesla vehicles, Apple is probably happy to leave them alone. 

They are probably afraid of being left behind in autonomous cars. Can you imagine your iphone calendar cannot sync with your autonomous car? Lol

Edited by Voodooman

2 hours ago, Thaiyotakamli said:

Last time don't have many options, like BMW i4 and Polestar, so Tesla is just "acquired" taste.

Don't think I will buy a Tesla with the current design and Elon is really an a**hole, so I have ruled out buying one.  😂

12 minutes ago, Voodooman said:

Last time don't have many options, like BMW i4 and Polestar, so Tesla is just "acquired" taste.

Don't think I will buy a Tesla with the current design and Elon is really an a**hole, so I have ruled out buying one.  😂

I will wait until EV charging like 3-4 minutes from empty to full before buying one.

I dun think I can wait 1-2 hours just for charging unless that charging point is next to where I live......😆

19 minutes ago, Voodooman said:

Think if Tesla allows carplay in Tesla vehicles, Apple is probably happy to leave them alone. 

They are probably afraid of being left behind in autonomous cars. Can you imagine your iphone calendar cannot sync with your autonomous car? Lol

Tiagong Apple has some plans to slowly push towards subscription basis to use carplay. Paid by the manufacturer for integration with their head units. 

They want to get into the automobile software side. Or if not more subscription fees to collect. And I think it has a high chance of succeeding. 

My personal opinion only, Tesla is over priced like iphone. Branding lah but people pays for brand lor. Eventually, EV will be cheap as it has very little mechanical parts. Even more so when batteries get improved. COE will goes up 😆

43 minutes ago, Victor68 said:

My personal opinion only, Tesla is over priced like iphone. Branding lah but people pays for brand lor. Eventually, EV will be cheap as it has very little mechanical parts. Even more so when batteries get improved. COE will goes up 😆

I think Toyota is right to hedge and not going all in on EV. The transition will take decades, from charging infrastructure to costly raw materials for EV batteries. 

The cheapest Tesla costs US$47k in US and the cheapest Toyota is a mere US$20k.  I am betting on the Chinese and Koreans to conquer the mass EV market. 

Don't think EV cost is coming down, not with all this rush into EV.  

22 minutes ago, Voodooman said:

I think Toyota is right to hedge and not going all in on EV. The transition will take decades, from charging infrastructure to costly raw materials for EV batteries. 

The cheapest Tesla costs US$47k in US and the cheapest Toyota is a mere US$20k.  I am betting on the Chinese and Koreans to conquer the mass EV market. 

Ev production cost is cheap only batt

meanwhile petrol car required more parts in engine bay

28 minutes ago, Voodooman said:

Toyota is playing catchup now.

It is lagging behind European rivals.

https://www.reuters.com/business/autos-transportation/exclusive-toyota-scrambles-ev-reboot-with-eye-tesla-2022-10-24/

Edited by inlinesix