Nice / Rare Vehicle Registration Number - Part 2

Carbon82

5th Gear
On 1/9/2025 at 7:54 AM, 13177 said:

Thought sell off the plate better, if the plate can fetch quite a good deal?

Means you don't sayang the plate number enough lor. I think there are also varying degrees of obsession even as a car plate guy. Some will never sell, some will sell for a tidy profit. All personal.

Give you an example, a plate that we all know, SE1X - if it's hypothetically worth 1 million and it's yours, will you sell? There are no other plates like it.

On 1/9/2025 at 1:29 PM, 107fan said:

Means you don't sayang the plate number enough lor. I think there are also varying degrees of obsession even as a car plate guy. Some will never sell, some will sell for a tidy profit. All personal.

Give you an example, a plate that we all know, SE1X - if it's hypothetically worth 1 million and it's yours, will you sell? There are no other plates like it.

Depends lo. If i am billionaire or trillionaires, i would not sell the plate even it is worth 1 mill, cause 1 mill is peanut to me, 1 mill more would not make me richer a lot. So i will keep the plate forever. Lol. If not, i will sell the plate and keep the 1 mill in my pocket.

On 1/7/2025 at 7:51 PM, 107fan said:

It is not tons of money. 

Even if 100k plate you keep for decades, and pass onto your next generations, cost over time is worth it.

Only in the eye of the beholder of course. Taking example only (i don't have lol), 100k plate can get you single digit plate or 2 digit E or S vintage plate. For those who likes, it's really very nice.

I agree, while there's no certainty that that $100k car plate number can retain its value, you can keep it for decades and still potentially sell it in the future if your kids decides not to take over - though there's a good chance that classic car plates would likely hold or grow in value once the "S" car plates runs out.

On 1/9/2025 at 8:45 AM, Carbon82 said:

You did a lot of naughty things during your younger days har? 🤣 

Neighbor: Aye, I saw your car at Geylang Lor xx last night, you...

Gnahp's Father: Last night I sleep early, didn't go out leh.

Neighbor: Mai geh geh lah, your car is XX 100 right?

Gnahp's Father: Yes that is my car but, oh wait, must be that si lang Gnahp again, always take my car when I am sleeping, and go Geylang some more, later he will know when he come back!

:XD:

quite close 😁

it was more like a joy ride early in the morning, 3am, with my cousin or my friends

then secretly returned the car before my lao peh wake up around 5am

thinking he wouldn't know

as I grew up, I believe he knows, just close both eyes and pretend don't know 

On 1/9/2025 at 5:03 PM, Gnahp said:

quite close 😁

it was more like a joy ride early in the morning, 3am, with my cousin or my friends

Why can’t you just ask from him if you want to use his car le? Lol.

On 1/9/2025 at 4:15 PM, ArtOfPagani said:

I agree, while there's no certainty that that $100k car plate number can retain its value, you can keep it for decades and still potentially sell it in the future if your kids decides not to take over - though there's a good chance that classic car plates would likely hold or grow in value once the "S" car plates runs out.

Classic car plate doesn’t mean the plate would be nice and special.

Like this car plate i saw, EA series consider classic but even though it is a 2 digit number but this number not say nice and special. I find it is just an ordinary number.

IMG_4608.jpeg

Edited by 13177

On 1/9/2025 at 5:03 PM, Gnahp said:

quite close 😁

I kaypo a little, where did you and your cousin or friends usually went at 3am ah? :D

On 1/9/2025 at 8:20 PM, 13177 said:

Why can’t you just ask from him if you want to use his car le? Lol.

Let me answer this question from a lao peh perspective.

My son asked me if he can take my car on a few occasions, usually at night. So the usual questions: Where you are going, who are you meeting/ driving with, what time you will be back, why so late, remember don't speed, don't drink, be careful, blah blah blah...

If you are the son, will you ask for the car officially again, or take the car secretly when the lao peh is asleep?

@Gnahp I also know my son took my car after I went to bed on 2 occasions, 睁一只眼闭一只眼 lor... as long as he is safe and sound and not appearing on social media for the wrong reasons.

On 1/9/2025 at 10:38 PM, Carbon82 said:

I kaypo a little, where did you and your cousin or friends usually went at 3am ah? :D

Let me answer this question from a lao peh perspective.

My son asked me if he can take my car on a few occasions, usually at night. So the usual questions: Where you are going, who are you meeting/ driving with, what time you will be back, why so late, remember don't speed, don't drink, be careful, blah blah blah...

If you are the son, will you ask for the car officially again, or take the car secretly when the lao peh is asleep?

@Gnahp I also know my son took my car after I went to bed on 2 occasions, 睁一只眼闭一只眼 lor... as long as he is safe and sound and not appearing on social media for the wrong reasons.

Cabon82 understands it from both son and father perspective 👍

we digress, we should stop here, pai seh pai seh 😅

On 1/9/2025 at 8:22 PM, 13177 said:

Classic car plate doesn’t mean the plate would be nice and special.

Like this car plate i saw, EA series consider classic but even though it is a 2 digit number but this number not say nice and special. I find it is just an ordinary number.

IMG_4608.jpeg

Yes 100%, but that said, while it isn't nice to us, it could be their landed house or business unit number and brings value to them too (or for whatever other reasons) - so i guess this "value" really is subjective depending on what that number means to them 🙂

On 1/12/2025 at 8:42 AM, Wildfaye29 said:

IMG-20250112-WA0000.jpg

The Q plates are a tricky batch. I think even for people who likes car plates, they may present more confusion than not.

And people might stare at you in public simply out of confusion. 

Nasi Lemak man change car liao.

BTW that LRD is really a head turning looker. [thumbsup]

Ji5evLM.jpg

HxCmFxa.jpeg

@Mkl22 this VRN should fit the title to a tee right? The one and only 'SG' plate which is not on a bus.

On 1/15/2025 at 12:42 PM, Carbon82 said:

Ji5evLM.jpg

HxCmFxa.jpeg

Defender put air vents?

For mud water to go in ah

On 1/15/2025 at 12:42 PM, Carbon82 said:

Ji5evLM.jpg

HxCmFxa.jpeg

Nasi Lemak man no need to deliver nasi lemak liao? So no need to buy a van? Lol.

On 1/15/2025 at 3:00 PM, 13177 said:

Nasi Lemak man no need to deliver nasi lemak liao? So no need to buy a van? Lol.

The bossman probably kope the plate for himself!