New money inflows to Singapore jump 59% to a record S$448b in 2021

Blueray

On 5/17/2023 at 8:51 AM, Karoon said:

Maybe LW will get a message in Beijing to return some of these money, and its owners. 

I think LW in Beijing now

If I was a China billionaire I would do the same.

If anything happens in China my family will be safe here.

Number 2 in Maslow's hierarchy of needs

Maybe I will try to leave MIL behind.

image.png.21f86d7be2545e8215c850e292a3c150.png

On 6/1/2023 at 9:41 AM, Blueray said:

Luxury property rents soar amid demand from high net worth individuals

https://www.channelnewsasia.com/singapore/landed-homes-property-rents-rise-demand-luxury-3527311

These elite rich shift here.

Income tax is already 20% saving a year. Haven't calculate corporate tax savings yet. 

If annual personal income is $20million, each year is 4mil saving on income tax..... 

Corporate tax from 25% to 17% here is 8% saving. If profit is 500m that is 40m saving in corporate tax

Overall savings converted into property here is like "free" property to these rich.

What is ABSD? 

Wealthy here should contribute to society, adhere to Singapore’s norms: DPM Wong

SINGAPORE - The wealthy who park their funds in Singapore should contribute to society through taxes and philanthropy, and adhere to the country’s norms against ostentatious displays of wealth, said Deputy Prime Minister Lawrence Wong on Wednesday.

https://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/politics/wealthy-here-should-contribute-to-society-adhere-to-singapore-s-norms-dpm-lawrence-wong

against ostentatious displays of wealth ... hmmm ... he tokking about his own party ? :D

On 9/14/2023 at 8:09 AM, Blueray said:

Wealthy here should contribute to society, adhere to Singapore’s norms: DPM Wong

https://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/politics/wealthy-here-should-contribute-to-society-adhere-to-singapore-s-norms-dpm-lawrence-wong

against ostentatious displays of wealth ... hmmm ... he tokking about his own party ? :D

Maybe prelude to more taxes on luxury goods. Or increase ARF for higher omv cars. 

Must come out and talk ma.

Otherwise ppl will think G continues to monitor ONLY

🤭

want the rich to come here and be monks ?   Hhhhmmmmmm……. 

singapore norm is flash until you drop leh.   See all the half past six people wearing branded.  

income barely $20k per month wearing $50k watch, driving $300k car….. thats Singapore lang norm….

muayhahaha

On 6/1/2023 at 12:47 PM, Atonchia said:

These elite rich shift here.

Income tax is already 20% saving a year. Haven't calculate corporate tax savings yet. 

If annual personal income is $20million, each year is 4mil saving on income tax..... 

Corporate tax from 25% to 17% here is 8% saving. If profit is 500m that is 40m saving in corporate tax

Overall savings converted into property here is like "free" property to these rich.

What is ABSD? 

that's why I recall someone put up for debate in parliament that not to raise GST but raise the personal/Corporate income tax for those earnings in the higher bracket...$20 mil income and pay addiiotnal 30-50k a year is really loose change to these people.

but i think it was shot down, then again, we all know ba....LW won't go and shoot himself in the leg ba....will never happen.

On 9/14/2023 at 9:52 AM, Spidey10 said:

that's why I recall someone put up for debate in parliament that not to raise GST but raise the personal/Corporate income tax for those earnings in the higher bracket...$20 mil income and pay addiiotnal 30-50k a year is really loose change to these people.

but i think it was shot down, then again, we all know ba....LW won't go and shoot himself in the leg ba....will never happen.

For those earning > $160k/annum, it is already from 18% to 24%.

On 9/14/2023 at 9:52 AM, Spidey10 said:

If income tax for individual is too high, i will definitely retire sooner than later.  

whats the point of funding others ?  

Edited by Throttle2

you dont say....

the other day i was counting....80% of my increment this year went into paying for the increased income tax burden

net net worse off ... given the high inflation currently

knn lie flat suah lah

🙄😬

On 9/14/2023 at 10:30 AM, Enye said:

you dont say....

the other day i was counting....80% of my increment this year went into paying for the increased income tax burden

knn lie flat suah lah

🙄😬

so good still got increment lor [laugh]

you dont say....

knn lie flat suah lah

🙄😬

That means you moved into the next tax bracket.

Congrats

On 9/14/2023 at 10:46 AM, Jman888 said:

so good still got increment lor [laugh]

got increment may not be good because pay cannot catch up with the target pay grade benchmark and vice versa

no increment for many years means company overpaid you for very long already

better work harder to add value to the company

😅

On 9/14/2023 at 10:52 AM, inlinesix said:

That means you moved into the next tax bracket.

Congrats

from no need to pay tax to start to pay tax

😬😄

you dont say....

knn lie flat suah lah

🙄😬

at least you have increment.  I dont hv any increment since many many years. Yet tax keeps going up.