Mercedes Extended Warranty

Innocuous

On 9/15/2022 at 3:15 AM, Innocuous said:

@Rickster Since u r the only one that can speak with experience can u share that if repair, does it covers labour cost as well 

Or the part is covered but labour needs to pay 

Expand  

If the faulty item is covered by the extended warranty (e.g. my front left drive shaft), parts and labour will be FOC. You don’t pay a single cent.

On 9/14/2022 at 12:14 PM, Ceecookie said:

What’s the difference between this and the so-called 10 year engine and transmission warranty by CnC?

Expand  

There is no such thing as 10 year transmission warranty. It’s just the engine warranty, but the caveat is that you will need to ensure that you car is serviced by C&C…

For the warranty extension discussed in this thread, it is a comprehensive warranty that covers many other things, not just the engine.

Extended Warranty or take your own risk?

Lose - Lose

Extended warranty - you pay $$ upfront and also blackmail into going back every year for carrot chopping oil-change session.

TYOR - high chance pay big $$ to AD or outside workshop for typical old conti problems

On 9/15/2022 at 5:40 AM, t0y0ta said:

Lose - Lose

Extended warranty - you pay $$ upfront and also blackmail into going back every year for carrot chopping oil-change session.

TYOR - high chance pay big $$ to AD or outside workshop for typical old conti problems

Expand  

End of the day

Lexus Wan Shui

🤭

On 9/15/2022 at 2:24 AM, shrjun said:

PML has a pre warranty end inspection available  for $ 1xx-2xx and have been known to change certain items which haven't failed yet . 

Merc I have no clue.

Expand  

Those items part of the cost of entry liao... They don't earn from the extended warranty premiums.

They earn from the fact that they tie you down to continue the mandatory servicing with them. That's where the cleaver come unsheathed. 

On 9/15/2022 at 5:40 AM, t0y0ta said:

Lose - Lose

Expand  

Actually, the oil change session for Merc is not so expensive if u get the package for 3 x oil change, it’ll work out to about 300-400 on average per oil change session, not too far off from oil change from Toyota or Mazda AD.

I bought it last time for peace of mind and also the price of extended warranty is negligible compared to the car price.

For my current car, I’m also considering buying it again once the original 3 years run out.

Edited by Rickster

On 9/15/2022 at 6:22 AM, Vratenza said:

Those items part of the cost of entry liao... They don't earn from the extended warranty premiums.

They earn from the fact that they tie you down to continue the mandatory servicing with them. That's where the cleaver come unsheathed. 

Expand  

Yes, C&C Merc cleaver is very sharp. But at least, major wear and tear parts, they allow me to fix outside.

In my previous GLA, I can change my engine mounting, brake disc brake pad, batteries outside without breaking my extended warranty.

Edited by Rickster

On 9/15/2022 at 6:22 AM, Vratenza said:

Expand  

Only issue I had with mandatory servicing was their use of some random Castrol / Shell oil . 

On 9/15/2022 at 6:03 AM, Thaiyotakamli said:

Huh buy toyota pay merc price😆

Expand  

Subjective to individual, Toyota fit and finish is different from Lexus, Lexus have evolve since 1989

is like someone visited Singapore 30 to 40 years ago and look at Singapore today cost of living as say siao so expensive but base on their experience in the 80s or 90s

or people telling me Australia city very boring all shops close very early because it is base on their experience traveling there 30 to 40 years ago…. Go Sydney or Melbourne today there are as happening as Singapore or even more fun 

Edited by D3badge

@Thaiyotakamli Why do u say "Huh buy Toyota pay merc price" ?? 

Actually, I dont understand what was he talking about ? 

Also, the title said Mercedes Extended Warranty and he came with Lexus ??

Likewise, many shared their irrelevant opinions i.e. PML & Oil Changed etc  !  

On 9/16/2022 at 4:03 AM, Innocuous said:

@Rickster I agreed with you.  Same thought

I already outlay 200+k, very soon my car will be 3 years old, hence I dont wanna be Penny Wise Pound Foolish, to sting on $1788 

Expand  

Many here would have experienced owning merc with C&C and would have spent similar amount or more for their cars. 

One thing I forgot to add is the service points dollars that comes with every new purchase. It lulls you into sense of complacency when you will just agree to anything the SA ask you to change during the initial warranty period since you don't have to come up with cash upfront. The only lucky thing for me was the 6k of credit was used up during my 4 years of ownership with C&C before i sold it off. That was with prudence when i rejected c&c "strong suggestion" to change several wear and tear parts that i am certain do not need changing. 

Anyway, end of the day, it is your car and your money. There is no right or wrong to buying the extended warranty. We are just sharing you the experience in hope you can avoid the potholes along the well trodden path mamy have walked before. 

Happy motoring. 

@Vratenza Thank you for sharing your thoughts. 

I agreed with you that if you were given service credits you tend to be ez w the spending because no "out-of-pocket" money.  Don't feel the pain 

-   I dont agreed that C&C mechanics tend to push for unnecessary changes because ; 

1. My old E250 had some reverse issue, she told me "dont change" no safety issue.  Can wait another year. She could have insisted. 

2. I don't see mechanics idling around w no jobs.  Infact they were overwhelmed with works.  She don't even have time to explain the "extended warranty brochure".  She wanted to check w me abt Europe for her coming trip - we didnt get to chat 

3 Fixed salary employees (mechanics) barely want to do more.  No incentive to because not on commission. 

So, to buy or not, to each his own  

I thank you again for sharing 

On 9/16/2022 at 5:05 AM, Vratenza said:

Many here would have experienced owning merc with C&C and would have spent similar amount or more for their cars. 

One thing I forgot to add is the service points dollars that comes with every new purchase. It lulls you into sense of complacency when you will just agree to anything the SA ask you to change during the initial warranty period since you don't have to come up with cash upfront. The only lucky thing for me was the 6k of credit was used up during my 4 years of ownership with C&C before i sold it off. That was with prudence when i rejected c&c "strong suggestion" to change several wear and tear parts that i am certain do not need changing. 

Anyway, end of the day, it is your car and your money. There is no right or wrong to buying the extended warranty. We are just sharing you the experience in hope you can avoid the potholes along the well trodden path mamy have walked before. 

Happy motoring. 

Expand  

i only can say this..... huat ah! should have bought!!!

image.thumb.png.bc1e84b75aa2c58b14bcd0d84845df2e.png

On 9/16/2022 at 2:08 AM, D3badge said:

Subjective to individual, Toyota fit and finish is different from Lexus, Lexus have evolve since 1989

is like someone visited Singapore 30 to 40 years ago and look at Singapore today cost of living as say siao so expensive but base on their experience in the 80s or 90s

or people telling me Australia city very boring all shops close very early because it is base on their experience traveling there 30 to 40 years ago…. Go Sydney or Melbourne today there are as happening as Singapore or even more fun 

Expand  

Yes its subjective to individual

i believe toyota harrier, alphard, crown has good finishing and quality thats close to lexus. 

despite lexus evolves, they still share many similar parts and r&d with toyota just like audi and vw. 

ok back to topic

i think ts most likely to service back in cnc hence taking warranty might be wise option to give peace of mind esp his B class has alot electronic. But best to see again what the warranty covers and exclusion