inlinesix Hypersonic October 29, 2022 Share October 29, 2022 2 hours ago, Atrecord said: Hmm... then if use in open space instead of indoor? I'm thinking of balcony leh... Noisy and not cooling. If balcony no cool breeze during the day, LLST ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kb27 Supersonic October 29, 2022 Share October 29, 2022 AIRLEO - sounds too good to be true. Even with a super refrigerant, (which probably nobody has invented or heard of), cannot produce cold air by itself. You still need a heat exchanger, which means a compressor, evaporator coil...unless they have revolutionize heat transfer, I have big doubts. 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sosaria Twincharged October 30, 2022 Share October 30, 2022 (edited) 23 hours ago, Volvobrick said: Physics says it won't work when it dumps the warm ("near room temperature") exhaust into the same room. The whole room will just get warmer and warmer as 200w of heat is added to it continuously. To quote that line from Simpsons episode, Homer said "In this house, we follow the laws of thermodynamics!" Edited October 30, 2022 by Sosaria 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Volvobrick Supersonic October 30, 2022 Share October 30, 2022 11 hours ago, Kb27 said: AIRLEO - sounds too good to be true. Even with a super refrigerant, (which probably nobody has invented or heard of), cannot produce cold air by itself. You still need a heat exchanger, which means a compressor, evaporator coil...unless they have revolutionize heat transfer, I have big doubts. Transfer the heat out via wormhole. Yeah that will work. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Victor68 Turbocharged October 31, 2022 Share October 31, 2022 Air conditioning in simple layman term means, heat transfer. You need to remove the heat from one area and throw it away from that area you wish to cool down. The medium can be water or refrigeron. If you are not able to transfer that gain, I don't see how it is going to work lah. So if someone sells you anything that is a single modular unit sitting in the room, you know it is not going to work. A fan probably works better in providing circulation. 😆 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Atrecord Supersonic January 9, 2023 Author Share January 9, 2023 On 10/29/2022 at 9:08 PM, Kb27 said: AIRLEO - sounds too good to be true. Even with a super refrigerant, (which probably nobody has invented or heard of), cannot produce cold air by itself. You still need a heat exchanger, which means a compressor, evaporator coil...unless they have revolutionize heat transfer, I have big doubts. i went to AIRLEO showroom to take a look at this. They emphasised it's not a replacement for aircon, and touted it to be exactly for balcony use (which is what i wanted). The air that comes out of the unit is indeed cool to the touch, and they say the temp cannot be adjusted, and is set to be at 21-23 deg C... (this is actually lower than my normal aircon temp setting of 24-25C)... Must stress that their showroom is airconditioned, so it's not exactly unbiased test... but i'd put my hand right at the vent of the unit to minimise 'influence from the aircon surrounding' already... The unit is a bit bulky and weighs about 17 kg. Good thing is got rollers below so can be wheeled around. The warranty is 1 year of the spare parts and 5 years compressor. As for the maintenance, just have to clean the clip on filter on the side when it got dust on it... quoting them. Got USB charging ports, though this is not impt... looks decent, is local product, but is priced at $800... oh, it uses 350W of electricity, which compares with 50-90W for ceiling fans and ~2000W for multi-split aircon... noise level is about 48dB... Then i also checked out Coolzy, which is Aust product, and that one is positioned as portable aircon, but also only achieves spot (not area) cooling. They also said it's ideal for outdoor balcony use. Most of the specs/features are about the same. slightly cheaper at less than $600, but design is totally different... Anyone has tried either of these 2? 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fcw75 Hypersonic January 9, 2023 Share January 9, 2023 Once the showroom is air-conditioned then not accurate liao. 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
shrjun 5th Gear January 9, 2023 Share January 9, 2023 Bought a Honeywell evaporative air cooler a long time ago. Now use it as a fan lol. The humidity created was too much to bear. 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Atrecord Supersonic January 9, 2023 Author Share January 9, 2023 1 hour ago, Fcw75 said: Once the showroom is air-conditioned then not accurate liao. yah... i already tried to minimise the inaccuracy by putting my hand at the vent itself, almost blocking any air coming out... but indeed if it serves to reduce surrounding temp by let's say 5 deg, then if surrounding is 33 deg it will only go down to 28 deg, while if in aircon room 26 deg can go down to 21 deg... Then again, i'm looking to cool down just by that few deg, rather than to real aircon setting, so i am hoping that this will achieve the objective... Anyway, the airleo website is https://airleo.co/ while coolzy is https://www.coolzy.com/sg/the-best-mobile-air-conditioner/ 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Victor68 Turbocharged January 10, 2023 Share January 10, 2023 16 hours ago, Atrecord said: yah... i already tried to minimise the inaccuracy by putting my hand at the vent itself, almost blocking any air coming out... but indeed if it serves to reduce surrounding temp by let's say 5 deg, then if surrounding is 33 deg it will only go down to 28 deg, while if in aircon room 26 deg can go down to 21 deg... Then again, i'm looking to cool down just by that few deg, rather than to real aircon setting, so i am hoping that this will achieve the objective... Anyway, the airleo website is https://airleo.co/ while coolzy is https://www.coolzy.com/sg/the-best-mobile-air-conditioner/ The water may give an additional 0.05 deg different depending on the temp of the water. Add some ice cubes may give you a better result. This water thing doesn't work because of our high humidity weather. I would rather go for a ceiling fan, simple and effective. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
serenade 6th Gear January 10, 2023 Share January 10, 2023 https://www.airbitat.com/ Locally made by ST Engg for local use. I see them at outdoor dining areas and public events. Feels effective while I was eating al fresco Good for your open roof-top terrace or balcony 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jamesc Hypersonic January 10, 2023 Share January 10, 2023 I swear the fan at the best hanky was cooler than my aircon at home. Might be due to the best hanky was air conditioned. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Atrecord Supersonic January 11, 2023 Author Share January 11, 2023 19 hours ago, Victor68 said: The water may give an additional 0.05 deg different depending on the temp of the water. Add some ice cubes may give you a better result. This water thing doesn't work because of our high humidity weather. I would rather go for a ceiling fan, simple and effective. This new Airleo and Coolzy are not evaporative cooling fans. They both do not require water, but will blow out cold air (around 21-23 deg C, so they claim). after hearing all the feedback, i've decided that the evaporative air coolers are not suitable here in SG... gave up on those liao, and are checking these 2 out... 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Atrecord Supersonic January 11, 2023 Author Share January 11, 2023 19 hours ago, serenade said: https://www.airbitat.com/ Locally made by ST Engg for local use. I see them at outdoor dining areas and public events. Feels effective while I was eating al fresco Good for your open roof-top terrace or balcony wah... this looks like useful, but also looks industrial/commercial grade leh... my balcony not that type of scale lah. if they have a smaller/household variant, then maybe can consider, ha ha ha... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Victor68 Turbocharged January 11, 2023 Share January 11, 2023 5 minutes ago, Atrecord said: This new Airleo and Coolzy are not evaporative cooling fans. They both do not require water, but will blow out cold air (around 21-23 deg C, so they claim). after hearing all the feedback, i've decided that the evaporative air coolers are not suitable here in SG... gave up on those liao, and are checking these 2 out... Good to understand how it can brings down 5 deg without consuming energy. Imagine this technology being applied on commercial use, 5 deg can equate into $ million per year in energy saving hor. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Atrecord Supersonic January 11, 2023 Author Share January 11, 2023 2 hours ago, Victor68 said: Good to understand how it can brings down 5 deg without consuming energy. Imagine this technology being applied on commercial use, 5 deg can equate into $ million per year in energy saving hor. Ha ha ha... coincidentally, my son also asked me this question - what's the physics behind it? unfortunately i didn't take physics so can't answer him too. but the Coolzy website says it's a small portable aircon that cools only a small targeted space, rather than the whole area - thus only uses a fraction of the electricity c.f. to normal (or portable) aircon. Think Airleo is around the same concept. It had apparently receives AStar grant for the research before... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fcw75 Hypersonic January 11, 2023 Share January 11, 2023 Airleo on shopee. Wait for sale. 😁 https://shp.ee/kitj8u6 ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...