Feedback on evaporative air coolers

Atrecord

5 minutes ago, Estrangable said:

Evaporative cooling does not work in this region. Period. The only reason why these machines feel cooling is because you are in an air-conditioned shop or mall.

From wiki - 

"Most evaporative coolers are unable to lower the air temperature as much as refrigerated air conditioning can. An evaporative air cooler in a closed room, without any connection or opening to the outside, cannot lower the room temperature at all by the physical law of conservation of energy. It might even add to the room temperature by its electrical components. "

If you want to waste your money on these.... why not donate to charity. 

yalor, read similar too...

was wondering whether balcony, being open space, will at least got chance... guess not really then...

2 minutes ago, Watwheels said:

Yeah. That's one of the things about balcony. Waste money on blinds as well.

The balcony here is not suited for anything except to dry laundry.

ok lah, the blinds got some use, so the $$ is not totally wasted. When heavy rain, at least now can keep dry, so the balcony still can put things lah... 

don't make me feel bad leh 🤣

53 minutes ago, mersaylee said:

Go green is in vogue...for world peace and innerpeace 😁

green-ear-plug-into-the-ear-picture-id483582881.jpg

young-woman-silenced-with-tape-over-her-mouth-picture-id157533187.jpg

You prepare to sleep on sofa...

1 hour ago, Loki said:

If using on balcony maybe can consider a fan which sprays out mist for cooling?  That might work

I always remember years ago, prof tambyah joking with us that this is the best way to spread legionella pneumonia. 

33 minutes ago, Atrecord said:

ok lah, the blinds got some use, so the $$ is not totally wasted. When heavy rain, at least now can keep dry, so the balcony still can put things lah... 

don't make me feel bad leh 🤣

Agreed on the blind. Heavy rain with wind direction blowing in, without blind balcony will be completely wet.

1 hour ago, Watwheels said:

The exhaust is at the back of the unit.

Screenshot-2022-10-05-115704.jpg

I meant was no need to install the PVC tube for this model.. 😅

i used to sell these useless machines in best denki after my A levels while waiting for enlistment... haha, the profit margin and commission is damn high. But you need to be able to suck on abuses from customers, who cursed at you after trying these air coolers at home. They would come back and demand refund or explanation.... 

one more thing is 

This might cause 风湿关节疼痛 

last time our office using until everyone cry pa cry ma

my 2ml worth of ron92 🙈🙊🙉

If you can still remember those mist fans installed by F&B outlets here. Blowing all the dust sprayed down by the mist onto you and your food. 😆. Yes our RH is already so high the additional vapor will simply have no chance to evaporate Liao. Use it at home, watch out for your camera, optical and electronic stuff. 

39 minutes ago, Estrangable said:

i used to sell these useless machines in best denki after my A levels while waiting for enlistment... haha, the profit margin and commission is damn high. But you need to be able to suck on abuses from customers, who cursed at you after trying these air coolers at home. They would come back and demand refund or explanation.... 

A certain forum regular who loves his MIL very much would like to check if you would join his used car business as a salesman

1 hour ago, Lala81 said:

I always remember years ago, prof tambyah joking with us that this is the best way to spread legionella pneumonia. 

ok. mcf si bey useful. another piece of useful info. guess no need to hunt for this already also liao...

1 hour ago, Tohto said:

Agreed on the blind. Heavy rain with wind direction blowing in, without blind balcony will be completely wet.

yah, mine wet 10 yr liao... bought a dining table to put in balcony when we moved in. after having meals there couple of times, experienced the typhoon season there... abandoned plan for 10 yr... only recently found out about these zip blinds (that were not yet around 10 yr ago...), so now at least can use the balcony even when raining heavily.

53 minutes ago, Estrangable said:

ok, guess that's it. Got all the feedback i need liao... air cooler is out... i don't wanna be another of those angry customers... 😅

40 minutes ago, Inlinefour said:

one more thing is 

This might cause 风湿关节疼痛 

last time our office using until everyone cry pa cry ma

my 2ml worth of ron92 🙈🙊🙉

yet another reason to avoid these...

3 hours ago, mersaylee said:

Go green is in vogue...for world peace and innerpeace 😁

young-woman-silenced-with-tape-over-her-mouth-picture-id157533187.jpg

This one look like my slimming plaster😂

I got one, it is not as powerful as a fan, yet not cooling at all. Now it is in the entertainment room to use when playing Mahjong but we seldom play🤣

1 hour ago, Estrangable said:

Are you in the 2nd hand car dealer business now? 

4 hours ago, Atrecord said:

Searched through and found couple of very old threads on this, but am thinking whether with new products (new tech?) would have changed anything.

Saw these evaporative air coolers that's not an aircon, but uses water and blow out air, that claims to reduce surrounding temperature by like a few degrees...

Has anyone used this before or has any knowledge/information of whether this will really work?

Am considering getting one to put in balcony so that on the days when i WFH, can sit in balcony to work. As it is, on a hot day (>31 deg) even with fan at full blast, it's still quite unbearable.

am wondering:

- really will reduce temp by at least 1-2 deg?
- will it be very noisy
- does it consume lots of electricity (c.f. fan and aircon)

Anyone knows? Thanks...

Screenshot 2022-10-28 at 10.34.37 AM.png

Next time when I have money to buy condo, i will go sit at the poolside , more relax, cooling and stylish when i make conf call.😅

Screenshot_20221028_155119.jpg