noobcarbuyer 5th Gear October 25, 2022 Share October 25, 2022 https://www.businesstimes.com.sg/sme/violet-oon-family-file-suits-to-take-control-of-eponymous-restaurants Violet Oon & family file suits to take control of eponymous restaurants CULINARY icon Violet Oon and her children Tay Yiming and Tay Su-Lyn are seeking to take control of the restaurants they operate with 50-per-cent shareholder Group MMM, a luxury and lifestyle company owned by Manoj M Murjani. The Tays have made an application for the winding up of Violet Oon Inc, which is set to be heard in the High Court on Friday (Oct 28). Violet Oon Inc owns a group of restaurants serving local and Peranakan-inspired cuisine. ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RH1667 Hypersonic October 25, 2022 Share October 25, 2022 Their business have been good , at least for the one at National Gallery and Ion. While on the pricier side, ay least the service and taste of food is very good. Not sure what happen, but Hope they can continue the business. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
noobcarbuyer 5th Gear October 25, 2022 Author Share October 25, 2022 For Context : Violet Oon ties up with new investor. Manoj Murjani wants to transform Violet Oon into a global brand. https://www.straitstimes.com/lifestyle/food/violet-oon-ties-up-with-new-investor SINGAPORE - Violet Oon's Kitchen in Bukit Timah is undergoing something of a rebirth. The business, which the 66-year-old cooking doyenne's two children started three years ago, has an investor: TWG Tea co-founder Manoj Murjani. The restaurant is being renovated and will feature a new show kitchen which doubles as a private dining area, a new restaurant is set to open here in October, there are plans to open overseas and product and merchandising lines are also in the pipeline. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maxus-MIFA9 Supersonic October 25, 2022 Share October 25, 2022 (edited) 6 hours ago, noobcarbuyer said: For Context : Violet Oon ties up with new investor. Manoj Murjani wants to transform Violet Oon into a global brand. https://www.straitstimes.com/lifestyle/food/violet-oon-ties-up-with-new-investor SINGAPORE - Violet Oon's Kitchen in Bukit Timah is undergoing something of a rebirth. The business, which the 66-year-old cooking doyenne's two children started three years ago, has an investor: TWG Tea co-founder Manoj Murjani. The restaurant is being renovated and will feature a new show kitchen which doubles as a private dining area, a new restaurant is set to open here in October, there are plans to open overseas and product and merchandising lines are also in the pipeline. Kenna conned or "Tham Sim" (greed of instant global success)...... Just because MMM promised to turn her chain of restaurants into a global brand. Like old folks said in Cantonese "Don't have a big head, don't wear a big hat" Global success, it takes step by step, no short cuts. Edited October 25, 2022 by Picnic06-Biante15 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RogerNg_185295 6th Gear October 25, 2022 Share October 25, 2022 10 minutes ago, Picnic06-Biante15 said: Kenna conned or "Tham Sim" (greed of instant global success)...... Just because MMM promised to turn her chain of restaurants into a global brand. Like old folks said in Cantonese "Don't have a big head, don't wear a big hat" Global success, it takes step by step, no short cuts. She is successful in her own ways and here you are bitting people success again 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jamesc Hypersonic October 26, 2022 Share October 26, 2022 Eponymous means even bigger than enormous and ginormous? 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic October 26, 2022 Share October 26, 2022 Overpriced nasi lemak with a fancy name? 😆 Is it really Peranakan or ripoff? Food like nasi lemak should stay the way it is, simple. Even if I order nasi padang at a place called Red Ginger with lots of meat dishes it also wont cost so much. The food I find not bad as well. No to such overpriced eating places. 5 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
kobayashiGT Internal Moderator October 26, 2022 Share October 26, 2022 11 minutes ago, Abracadabra said: I'm a frugal guy with simple taste. For me, nasi lemak are those $2ish banana leaf wrapped from neighborhood food stalls. Paying so much for simple fare at posh restaurants is a waste of money. You are only making the rich richer. What Violet cooks, I can cook as well. Not rocket science. Sorry ahh, cold wet morning ..... nothing to do, just yada a bit. I think I go PS. 😁 these days the banana leaf wrapped nasi lemak with kuning is $3 liao. $2 you go petrol kiosk, cannot even buy green tea now. 😢 1 8 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maxus-MIFA9 Supersonic October 26, 2022 Share October 26, 2022 1 hour ago, RogerNg_185295 said: She is successful in her own ways and here you are bitting people success again Yes, she was successful. I respect her and always listen to her radio & TV talk shows, ST column and magazines on cooking in the 70's to 90's So, why needs to sell 50% of the shares and now getting into a mess ? Living through the 60's until now, had seen many local successful companies went burst or takeover by tycoons from Indonesia, India, China, .... etc. My friend Bak Kut Teh (famous one - don't want to name it) stalls had been approached many times by tycoons to sell the brand name & recipes or sell shares to them. He refused and rather pass down to his children or closed it down if children don't want to take over. His reason being that he had xin xin ku ku set up his stalls and why sell it to someone else who took the easy path. If I am a billionaire, I will also like buy shares or takeover an established company and carry on from there rather then starting from scratch. In business world, many are looking at how many years your company been in operations in the market. That's why many companies can change the Directors / owners many times but maintaining the brand name. One simple example : When you got a HDB BTO flat and looking for renovation contractors. Do you look into how many years the company, experience & number of units they had completed or just choose a newly opened contractor ? I definitely look into the company number of years they had established and some show flats to showcase their workmanship. My 2 cents worth of commence. 7 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RogerNg_185295 6th Gear October 26, 2022 Share October 26, 2022 23 minutes ago, Picnic06-Biante15 said: Yes, she was successful. I respect her and always listen to her radio & TV talk shows, ST column and magazines on cooking in the 70's to 90's So, why needs to sell 50% of the shares and now getting into a mess ? Living through the 60's until now, had seen many local successful companies went burst or takeover by tycoons from Indonesia, India, China, .... etc. My friend Bak Kut Teh (famous one - don't want to name it) stalls had been approached many times by tycoons to sell the brand name & recipes or sell shares to them. He refused and rather pass down to his children or closed it down if children don't want to take over. His reason being that he had xin xin ku ku set up his stalls and why sell it to someone else who took the easy path. If I am a billionaire, I will also like buy shares or takeover an established company and carry on from there rather then starting from scratch. In business world, many are looking at how many years your company been in operations in the market. That's why many companies can change the Directors / owners many times but maintaining the brand name. One simple example : When you got a HDB BTO flat and looking for renovation contractors. Do you look into how many years the company, experience & number of units they had completed or just choose a newly opened contractor ? I definitely look into the company number of years they had established and some show flats to showcase their workmanship. My 2 cents worth of commence. I like what you said 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic October 26, 2022 Share October 26, 2022 24 minutes ago, Picnic06-Biante15 said: Yes, she was successful. I respect her and always listen to her radio & TV talk shows, ST column and magazines on cooking in the 70's to 90's So, why needs to sell 50% of the shares and now getting into a mess ? Living through the 60's until now, had seen many local successful companies went burst or takeover by tycoons from Indonesia, India, China, .... etc. My friend Bak Kut Teh (famous one - don't want to name it) stalls had been approached many times by tycoons to sell the brand name & recipes or sell shares to them. He refused and rather pass down to his children or closed it down if children don't want to take over. His reason being that he had xin xin ku ku set up his stalls and why sell it to someone else who took the easy path. If I am a billionaire, I will also like buy shares or takeover an established company and carry on from there rather then starting from scratch. In business world, many are looking at how many years your company been in operations in the market. That's why many companies can change the Directors / owners many times but maintaining the brand name. One simple example : When you got a HDB BTO flat and looking for renovation contractors. Do you look into how many years the company, experience & number of units they had completed or just choose a newly opened contractor ? I definitely look into the company number of years they had established and some show flats to showcase their workmanship. My 2 cents worth of commence. That's the difference btw entrepreneur and hawker. An entrepreneur has an exit plan. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Windwaver Turbocharged October 26, 2022 Share October 26, 2022 I'm still stuck with my $3 cai png 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maxus-MIFA9 Supersonic October 26, 2022 Share October 26, 2022 3 minutes ago, inlinesix said: That's the difference btw entrepreneur and hawker. An entrepreneur has an exit plan. Every living creatures have an exit plan.... No ???? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Inlinefour Twincharged October 26, 2022 Share October 26, 2022 me low ses peasant 😬😬😬 dun noe atas food 😱😱😱 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Volvobrick Supersonic October 26, 2022 Share October 26, 2022 (edited) 1 hour ago, Watwheels said: Overpriced nasi lemak with a fancy name? 😆 Is it really Peranakan or ripoff? Food like nasi lemak should stay the way it is, simple. Even if I order nasi padang at a place called Red Ginger with lots of meat dishes it also wont cost so much. The food I find not bad as well. No to such overpriced eating places. IMM Red Ginger is already very pricy for workday lunch. Been around for many years. But I still support! Edited October 26, 2022 by Volvobrick 1 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
noobcarbuyer 5th Gear October 26, 2022 Author Share October 26, 2022 I ate at Violet Oon Kitchen at Bukit Timah only once. Pricey, and in my opinion, no way a true representation of a 'peranakan' restaurant. Never went to any of her outlets since. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Atrecord Supersonic October 26, 2022 Share October 26, 2022 55 minutes ago, Windwaver said: I'm still stuck with my $3 cai png not many places can eat at $3 anymore liao. smelly smelly will be $4 or $4.50... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Atrecord Supersonic October 26, 2022 Share October 26, 2022 30 minutes ago, Inlinefour said: me low ses peasant 😬😬😬 dun noe atas food 😱😱😱 me too... just live to eat... ↡ Advertisement 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...