inlinesix Hypersonic October 23, 2022 Share October 23, 2022 Death Penalty for drug-related offences is a good way to get vote especially among the older generations. Fundamentally, does it really solve the root cause of drug abuse? On 1 hand, we are heavy-handed on the transporter of this illegal substance. On the other hand, did we take enough action against users of these substances? In addition, due to the emergency act, the biggest benefactor of the entire value chain will never be punished. It looks like something is wrong with the entire policy (i am neutral on death penalty). ↡ Advertisement 8 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ender Hypersonic October 23, 2022 Share October 23, 2022 Sibei karen, this sham.. Simi sai must argue he is right.. Stop wasting tax payer's money and accept a non citizen or citizens will have a different view on the matter. Not everyone have to have a hive mind. 7 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Benarsenal Turbocharged October 23, 2022 Share October 23, 2022 2 hours ago, 1fast1 said: Is this going to be another "sham" of a debate like with Simon Miller? At least that was a "hearing". But this, inviting private foreigners to engage in idle debate just for kicks and public grandstanding, is not a seemly act for the representatives of a nation state. It stinks of insecurity. And the grandstanding is the sort of thing the NK dictator might pull, just with less bombast. Our gahmen should just accept there will be critics and they can't silence them when they don't fall outside their jurisdiction. Not that they should be silencing them even within, but that's a whole other discussion. That has always the SG way mah. LKY is a lawyer by training, so he has inculcated the value in PAP that SG must always have the last word. Must always win, cannot lose. 2 5 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
jcmm 5th Gear October 23, 2022 Share October 23, 2022 If I am RB, I will pay for Sham's air ticket n hotel to debate in neutral ground. 1 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beanoyip Turbocharged October 24, 2022 Share October 24, 2022 14 hours ago, inlinesix said: Death Penalty for drug-related offences is a good way to get vote especially among the older generations. Fundamentally, does it really solve the root cause of drug abuse? On 1 hand, we are heavy-handed on the transporter of this illegal substance. On the other hand, did we take enough action against users of these substances? In addition, due to the emergency act, the biggest benefactor of the entire value chain will never be punished. It looks like something is wrong with the entire policy (i am neutral on death penalty). Look down under and the amount of drug abuse here, you would have wished on the death penalty here.. if they were to jail all the drug users here, it would fill all the offshore islands.. 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic October 24, 2022 Share October 24, 2022 (edited) 6 minutes ago, Beanoyip said: Look down under and the amount of drug abuse here, you would have wished on the death penalty here.. if they were to jail all the drug users here, it would fill all the offshore islands.. Rather than having death penalty, there should be a holistic review of policy. Look at Singapore. We have death penalty. Every year, there are a number of transporter hanged. BUT Every year, the same shit repeat. Is Death Penalty effective? No Edited October 24, 2022 by inlinesix 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kopites Supersonic October 24, 2022 Share October 24, 2022 3 hours ago, inlinesix said: Rather than having death penalty, there should be a holistic review of policy. Look at Singapore. We have death penalty. Every year, there are a number of transporter hanged. BUT Every year, the same shit repeat. Is Death Penalty effective? No Death penalty cannot stem out drug trafficking but it can prevent drug trafficking from ballooning out of control. Without the mandatory death peanlty how many more of household would be ruined. How many more life would be lost. I am one for death penalty. Infact I would advocate death penalty or life imprisonment for all drug abuser. 5 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Shibadog Turbocharged October 24, 2022 Share October 24, 2022 7 minutes ago, Kopites said: Death penalty cannot stem out drug trafficking but it can prevent drug trafficking from ballooning out of control. Without the mandatory death peanlty how many more of household would be ruined. How many more life would be lost. I am one for death penalty. Infact I would advocate death penalty or life imprisonment for all drug abuser. do u personally know anyone in your circle that suffered from drug abuse? i do - a relative of mine. i have seen up close the horrors of (hard) drug abuse and the effects on immediate family members. And i still think the mandatory death penalty for drug smuggling is too harsh, too broad and and not effective enough to justify it. you're using a false dilemma to justify your belief - there are other penalties available that are deliberately kept off the table. Who is to say these won't be sufficient to deter would-be traffickers? 7 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Meanmachine Supercharged October 24, 2022 Share October 24, 2022 Ask them why their Ang Moh countries still has Gun & Roses, killing spraying bullets yet week-in week-out has many ppl dying. Mr Virgin has many minutes to play ploy, lets see if he accept the invite . . . 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Meanmachine Supercharged October 24, 2022 Share October 24, 2022 Some ppl knew the death penalty applies yet still want to try their luck, the more dangerous thing to do, these group of buggers carrier are game for it, most of them knew the consequences, just like our Borders 3/4 tank rule. Tio Bo 🥰 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beregond Supersonic October 24, 2022 Share October 24, 2022 5 minutes ago, Meanmachine said: Some ppl knew the death penalty applies yet still want to try their luck, the more dangerous thing to do, these group of buggers carrier are game for it, most of them knew the consequences, just like our Borders 3/4 tank rule. Tio Bo 🥰 Enter sg there got a big signboard say death for bringing in drugs liao. And there still choose to do it. Wat to do? 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic October 24, 2022 Share October 24, 2022 13 minutes ago, Meanmachine said: Some ppl knew the death penalty applies yet still want to try their luck, the more dangerous thing to do, these group of buggers carrier are game for it, most of them knew the consequences, just like our Borders 3/4 tank rule. Tio Bo 🥰 7 minutes ago, Beregond said: Enter sg there got a big signboard say death for bringing in drugs liao. And there still choose to do it. Wat to do? Why ppl still drink and drive?🤭 1 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic October 24, 2022 Share October 24, 2022 (edited) My take on this is somewhat mixed after much thinking. The judge of the case and law minister repeatedly said he(the intellectually disabled drug mule) knew what he was doing. My guess the police established his motive of the drug run...which is to get a monetary reward for the task. So they concluded "he knew what he was doing" cos money is a strong motivation. He needed the money so he did the drug run. That's their side of the reasoning, I guess. But this guy's IQ test makes him fall in the intellectually disability category, so why isnt this put into more consideration? And whatever drugs he was carrying was not a lot, dont think it is enough for distribution. Maybe ppl will say to send a deterrent message etc. This is a human life we are looking at. It felt like the IQ test result wasn't key to the trial when it matters most. If this is true then it will be very sad. Inviting Mr Branson to argue or debate about the matter imo is rather irrelevant because our system had executed a drug mule who is intellectually disabled. That perspective is difficult to change. Our system somehow did the unthinkable. Talk so much also no use. Edited October 24, 2022 by Watwheels 4 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Thaiyotakamli Supersonic October 24, 2022 Share October 24, 2022 On 10/23/2022 at 11:07 AM, Ody_2004 said: Parliament no strong opponent mah 😁 Need import to debate 1 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maxus-MIFA9 Supersonic October 25, 2022 Share October 25, 2022 13 hours ago, inlinesix said: Why ppl still drink and drive?🤭 At times, I also drink 'beer' & drive. A&W Root Beer Sometimes add a scoop of vanilla ice-cream. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Throttle2 Supersonic October 25, 2022 Share October 25, 2022 (edited) There is nothing to debate with a foreigner. Who or What is a Richard Branson? if there is any debate , it has and only can be amongst us Singaporeans, for Singapore. case close. Edited October 25, 2022 by Throttle2 5 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ender Hypersonic October 25, 2022 Share October 25, 2022 15 hours ago, Watwheels said: My take on this is somewhat mixed after much thinking. The judge of the case and law minister repeatedly said he(the intellectually disabled drug mule) knew what he was doing. My guess the police established his motive of the drug run...which is to get a monetary reward for the task. So they concluded "he knew what he was doing" cos money is a strong motivation. He needed the money so he did the drug run. That's their side of the reasoning, I guess. But this guy's IQ test makes him fall in the intellectually disability category, so why isnt this put into more consideration? And whatever drugs he was carrying was not a lot, dont think it is enough for distribution. Maybe ppl will say to send a deterrent message etc. This is a human life we are looking at. It felt like the IQ test result wasn't key to the trial when it matters most. If this is true then it will be very sad. Inviting Mr Branson to argue or debate about the matter imo is rather irrelevant because our system had executed a drug mule who is intellectually disabled. That perspective is difficult to change. Our system somehow did the unthinkable. Talk so much also no use. The other thing is intellectual disability is likely to fall for blackmail. He might be threaten or pressured by syndicate to do it rather than motivated by money. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Meanmachine Supercharged October 25, 2022 Share October 25, 2022 20 hours ago, Beregond said: Enter sg there got a big signboard say death for bringing in drugs liao. And there still choose to do it. Wat to do? This group gave a blind eyes s if no eyes see, the more dangerous thing to do . . . its a challenge for them, thy like challenges to evade it. Some bro called it :" Xi Gin Na " ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...