Should I get a new car or renew COE?

Ct3833

2nd Gear
On 8/11/2024 at 11:58 AM, inlinesix said:

Stockist can’t source?

Think can, right now for my stream the guy is still able to get my parts. I last went to Kah motor for 40k servicing in 2022. Prices have gone up since then.

nissan still with tan Chong for servicing as their package is quite worth it until recently. Less things covered, previously even wipers covered.

for 10k (2), 20k (1), 40k (1) was only 900. On paper 2 years, but can stretch to 3 years to utilise.

On 8/11/2024 at 11:55 AM, Kklee said:

IMHO.
If need to indent and go by spoil then replace,  you will have instances that the car will be unavailable for use.
I think will be more convenient to change to something more current.
Another alternative is to look for a model that is common over in Malaysia,  maybe easier to keep and maintain. 

Altis lor. Simple and cheap to fix and easy to get parts from Thailand. Boring yes but it’s is the best for cheap and reliable motoring. 

On 8/11/2024 at 2:26 PM, Mkl22 said:

Altis lor. Simple and cheap to fix and easy to get parts from Thailand. Boring yes but it’s is the best for cheap and reliable motoring. 

IMHO.
IIRC,  just for indication purposes,  spoiled items after warranty for my ex 2014 Altis 
-  220k AC servo motor flap
-  200k stabilization bar links / bushes
-  170k engine mounts / AC coil
-  145k ignition coils

On 8/11/2024 at 7:58 AM, Evo5sg said:

Yes, last of it N16.

looks bad - paintwork needs a new coat 

a lot of sound - rattling or sort

clutch engagement not as smooth, need double clutch when parking, screeching belt sound in morning when aircon is on.

that is why still considering 

Paintwork - fresh coat of paint (decent quality) - budget $1k

Rattling when driving?  - undercarriage gg - budget $2k to $3k for complete overhaul (including driveshafts/steering rack)

How's the suspension? if suspension gg (do the suspension test) - budget $1.2k for complete overhaul 

Clutch? Maybe worn out after so many years, if never changed before - budget $300 to $400 maybe?

All in, less than $10k to fix everything, provided engine is healthy and compression still good.

Would you be able to get another used car for $10k, excluding the balance COE rebate? I can confidently tell you the answer is no. :D 

Since you planning to retire and drive less, this Sunny is probably your best bet for low depre ownership.

Edited by Beehive3783

Nissan Sunny in Malaysia is Sentra. Still can see on a daily basis. @Beehive3783is correct. Nothing that a few grand can't solve.

Just drive to Malaysia leave it for one week. After one week, we will suspect the workshop there switched car, cos car will look spanking new unbelievably, can't recognize own car probably. 😀

Budget 10k become 33,20 MYR. Nothing a few grand can't do the job. Change out whole aircon unit. Only thing can't change out is the thirsty DNA. How thirsty can a thirsty hippo be. 😊

I love seeing old cars well taken care of. Old cars of any models are just head turners. 

They don't have to look nostalgic of any sort. They just have to look stock.

On 8/11/2024 at 9:14 AM, 13177 said:

Nissan sunny manual is better? I find the manual version not nice to drive le. I find toyota manual better to drive.

the last i drove a manual sunny was the big bumber model...130Y....was ok lah...but very spacious...

On 8/11/2024 at 7:52 AM, Evo5sg said:

Your Jazz was cvt? Saw the 3rd gen so gearbox failure after 100 k, especially 1.5 version.

that’s why looking at the manual.

1.3 version my ex colleague said under power.

true, my stream costs much more to maintain.

yes cvt...didn't manage to keep it until 100k km....sold it after 2 yrs.....bought it for 45k and sold it for 60k...:grin: free ride for 2 yrs..

On 8/11/2024 at 4:00 PM, Kklee said:

IMHO.
IIRC,  just for indication purposes,  spoiled items after warranty for my ex 2014 Altis 
-  145k ignition coils

To be fair, items highlight are wear and tear.

On 8/13/2024 at 9:53 AM, Tohto said:

To be fair, items highlight are wear and tear.

agree sia...at those mileage, a lot of things need to change liao under preventive maintenance....dun even say break...break or no, I would change some of the parts lioa eg fan belt, water pump and temp, gasket...

On 8/13/2024 at 9:12 AM, Spidey10 said:

the last i drove a manual sunny was the big bumber model...130Y....was ok lah...but very spacious...

I had to push the driver seat to the end of the rail for my legs to stretch out and drive comfortably.. so I don't think it's that spacious la :D 

Buy new car dangerous 

Spoiler

Wait e car tio hey sio. Whole carpark gone ☠️

On 8/11/2024 at 4:00 PM, Kklee said:

IMHO.
-  145k ignition coils

My 15+ yo Altis, after under my hand for 7+ years, only 1 high tension coils spoiled, the other 3 are still running. The rest of repair are simple wear and tear like altenator, brake , shocks, lower arms etc auto trans rapired at 300+k km 😃

My 15 yo e200 have spent me more on repair and maintenance but still worth renewing, the only set back the car has a rattling noise that i have been unable to fully resolved though it is a lot better now after an overhaul.

Net is the maintenance snd repair of the 2 coe cars cost much less  money to repair than i spent on drinking grape juice 😅

Edited by Ct3833

On 8/16/2024 at 10:19 AM, Ct3833 said:

My 15+ yo Altis, after under my hand for 7+ years, only 1 high tension coils spoiled, the other 3 are still running. The rest of repair are simple wear and tear like altenator, brake , shocks, lower arms etc auto trans rapired at 300+k km 😃

My 15 yo e200 have spent me more on repair and maintenance but still worth renewing, the only set back the car has a rattling noise that i have been unable to fully resolved though it is a lot better now after an overhaul.

Net is the maintenance snd repair of the 2 coe cars cost much less  money to repair than i spent on drinking grape juice 😅

IMHO.
Before your hand, what was the mileage.   What is the mileage in your hands?
Your transmission is 4AT ?    Mine is CVT, so harder to gauge.  I changed the ignition coils piece of mind because they like failing one by one. 😆
I changed cars because the needs changed. 

On 8/16/2024 at 10:19 AM, Ct3833 said:

Must be the loose coins you had left in the car after emptying your pockets to fix the Merc :D 

On 8/16/2024 at 10:53 AM, Kklee said:

IMHO.
Before your hand, what was the mileage.   What is the mileage in your hands?
Your transmission is 4AT ?    Mine is CVT, so harder to gauge.  I changed the ignition coils piece of mind because they like failing one by one. 😆
I changed cars because the needs changed. 

Mine simple 4 AT. My ignition coil so far ok after 1 piece replacment many years ago. These are cheap stuff anyway.

On 8/16/2024 at 11:02 AM, Beehive3783 said:

Must be the loose coins you had left in the car after emptying your pockets to fix the Merc :D 

It depends but my grape juice are not the loose change type 

Screenshot_20240816_122457_Chrome.jpg

On 8/16/2024 at 12:25 PM, Ct3833 said:

It depends but my grape juice are not the loose change type 

Screenshot_20240816_122457_Chrome.jpg

That means you drink Romanee Conti lo

On 8/5/2024 at 9:21 AM, Beehive3783 said:

Did you hear of the legend that changed car when he had a flat tyre? 

Tyres can be quite expensive...might as well change the entire car is understandable...but hearsay it's no longer a valid reason as far as the legend is concerned...he changes car now when the car key battery goes flat...5 dollah also not worth it anymore...just change the rest of the package...😂