Calinlin 3rd Gear September 20, 2022 Share September 20, 2022 5 hours ago, Jellandross said: Pls feedback to the auntie who can fry bee hoon with empty wok Senior Minister of State for Sustainability and the Environment Amy Khor said that she hoped the high volume of recyclables collected from this scheme would incentivise the set up of domestic recycling facilities. Dr Khor added that the sale of high-quality recyclable material itself would also help fund a significant part of implementing the scheme. If she truly wants to drive recycling, then make it a law and fine anyone not following. If she truly wants to drive recycling, then make her garbage collector not so picky about what they collect from the recycling bin. I bet NEA don't even know what can or cannot be recycled. Once a minister visit my office. The questions asked, is really like act show, ask for sake of asking like a leader, but it is a empty vessel question. I view this as using recycling as excuse to earn money. Drinks doesn't affect me, but soon, buy anything also put deposit then siao liao. Buy air con put $500 deposit for metal and plastic recycling to refund when you scrap. Buy TV $500 deposit. Buy washing machine $200 deposit. See where this is going? ↡ Advertisement 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beanoyip Turbocharged September 20, 2022 Share September 20, 2022 Took them long enough.. in Germany i think they had this for eons.. 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Datsun366 Turbocharged September 20, 2022 Share September 20, 2022 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Playtime Twincharged September 20, 2022 Share September 20, 2022 So... they gonna put up recycling redemption points all over for people to go ? The amount of travelling time and carbon wasted lppl in the end. Drink sellers will just make all the extra money. This sounds like some stupid WITS idea. No effort needed from govt except extra money somemore. Lazy policy making. 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kb27 Supersonic September 20, 2022 Share September 20, 2022 should charge $10 more, how about $100 more ? or you can keep your canned drink for yourself. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kb27 Supersonic September 20, 2022 Share September 20, 2022 (edited) how about that charging for plastic bag ? i've been to a few, SS, Giant, fairprice, they are not charging. .. another failure ? As for me, if I get charged for plastic bag, that's the last time I go there. to these high caliber ministars, every solution to any problem is by charging money. Edited September 21, 2022 by Kb27 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ct3833 Supersonic September 21, 2022 Share September 21, 2022 (edited) 14 hours ago, Ender said: There those like vending machines I saw at the ActiveSG stadium. Saw one auntie pushed into the machine alot of plastic bottles. Asked her what is this, and she told me can redeem NTUC vouchers. Actually it is good to recycle plastic. Sapok auntie! This canned and bottled deposit is good too, it forces people to recycle waste, people will behave accordingly when their pockets get hit. Edited September 21, 2022 by Ct3833 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator September 21, 2022 Share September 21, 2022 19 minutes ago, Kb27 said: how about that charging for plastic bag ? i've been to a few, SS, Giant, fairprice, they are not charging. .. another failure ? As for me, if I get charged for plastic bag, that's the last time I go there. to these high caliber ministars, every solution to any problem is by charging money. starting mid 2023. https://www.channelnewsasia.com/singapore/plastic-bag-charge-5-cents-minimum-disposable-carrier-bags-large-supermarkets-2544651 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
BanCoe Hypersonic September 21, 2022 Share September 21, 2022 4 hours ago, Calinlin said: If she truly wants to drive recycling, then make it a law and fine anyone not following. If she truly wants to drive recycling, then make her garbage collector not so picky about what they collect from the recycling bin. I bet NEA don't even know what can or cannot be recycled. Once a minister visit my office. The questions asked, is really like act show, ask for sake of asking like a leader, but it is a empty vessel question. I view this as using recycling as excuse to earn money. Drinks doesn't affect me, but soon, buy anything also put deposit then siao liao. Buy air con put $500 deposit for metal and plastic recycling to refund when you scrap. Buy TV $500 deposit. Buy washing machine $200 deposit. See where this is going? Hmmm …… U have not mentioned how to dispose those toxic batteries in EV’s …. Lagi worse 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Si4dr 6th Gear September 21, 2022 Share September 21, 2022 Confirm higher profit for these can/bottle drinks manufacturer. 1) mark up higher than 0.20 2) confirm will not 100% recycle so they earn the extras 0.20(minimum) Can start buy their stock liao Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Stratovarius Turbocharged September 21, 2022 Author Share September 21, 2022 45 minutes ago, Si4dr said: Confirm higher profit for these can/bottle drinks manufacturer. 1) mark up higher than 0.20 2) confirm will not 100% recycle so they earn the extras 0.20(minimum) Can start buy their stock liao i think its more like the resellers (supermarts) will do the mark up. doesnt make sense for the suppliers to do that since there is no increased in operating cost. This will be a good initiative IF the collection points are abundant and near MRT stations. Not like to ewaste bins which previously was quite accessible until they reduced the collection points and make it inconvenient to do so. In the end i really couldnt bother but throw mine like normal waste. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Arogab Turbocharged September 21, 2022 Share September 21, 2022 KNS, if I have put my last year's can beer aside, maybe I take back a lot of money leh🤣 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic September 21, 2022 Share September 21, 2022 1 hour ago, Jman888 said: starting mid 2023. https://www.channelnewsasia.com/singapore/plastic-bag-charge-5-cents-minimum-disposable-carrier-bags-large-supermarkets-2544651 From the article, it says ''Large supermarkets will be required to charge a minimum of 5 cents for each disposable carrier bag from mid-2023.'' They are going to charge every carrier bag customers take? Currently practise is supermarket charge 20 cents for each transaction, no matter how many carrier bag you take. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RH1667 Hypersonic September 21, 2022 Share September 21, 2022 Nabei, i have collecting and dropping the plastic containers and tin can into the big blue re-cycle bin, means kanna short change for so many years. Unfortunately my HDB too small, else will keep till 2 years later and one shot " re-cyle " all to collect back some $ 😆 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahwhye 5th Gear September 21, 2022 Share September 21, 2022 15 minutes ago, RH1667 said: Nabei, i have collecting and dropping the plastic containers and tin can into the big blue re-cycle bin, means kanna short change for so many years. Unfortunately my HDB too small, else will keep till 2 years later and one shot " re-cyle " all to collect back some $ 😆 If I remember seeing or reading correctly somewhere most of this blue bin contents just get sent into incinerator niah, as most are considered contaminated just like the usual rubbish. it is just another wayang waste $ thing. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahwhye 5th Gear September 21, 2022 Share September 21, 2022 heng i am in the process of reducing can or bottle drink intake, hopefully by then none of my problem...... 1 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic September 21, 2022 Share September 21, 2022 2 minutes ago, Ahwhye said: heng i am in the process of reducing can or bottle drink intake, hopefully by then none of my problem...... The only bottle drink i drink once a blue moon is herbal tea. But now also seldom drink liao. Can drink i long long long time no drink lo. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hoseyboh Twincharged September 21, 2022 Share September 21, 2022 15 hours ago, DOBIEMKZ said: Recycled into car tyres..?😁 What do you do with 365 used condoms? Melt them down, make a tire and call it a Goodyear. 😆 ↡ Advertisement 6 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...