'I seriously think our future is f*****': Employer flamed for 'going nuclear' on prospective intern over a question

noobcarbuyer

1 minute ago, Ender said:

We all know the main purpose of many companies, esp sme, why they participate in this internship programme, nurturing future professional is not high on their list.

Yes.

This young gal seeking internship should has shown more earnest attitude rather than asking for a virtual meeting. At least has the courtesy to call up the HR(company). Anyway I doubt any HR would entertain her request. Most would just simply move on to the next person (intern) in line. 

Virtual interview yes for certain position but not for internship position imo. 

4 minutes ago, Victor68 said:

I can understand your thoughts. As an employer, you have every right to set expectations and decide if you want to grant that interview or not. You can also feel disappointed and unhappy with the candidate. However, is there a need to express it in a social media platform and what do you expect to achieve? Are you expecting everyone to agrees with your views? He is already calling the shot whether to grant that interview, not to mention employing her. 

When there are choices, you choose and pick. When there aren't, you pick what is closest match to what you want lor. 

I read the first post of this thread. Imo It sounded more like ranting of current young generation than to put down specifically this young gal.

21 minutes ago, Ender said:

If jeff feels nurturing is not his job, then he should not participate in internship programme. It's partly employer contribution to develop future professional in his industry. Straight away post and look a proper professional with years experience in a job portal.

hello... many treat these interns as cheap labour to be exploited niah....simi develop simi professionalism sai lah

16 minutes ago, Ender said:

We all know the main purpose of many companies, esp sme, why they participate in this internship programme, nurturing future professional is not high on their list.

There is also no loyalty to speak of. Either way money talks. It has always been about $$$ be it employer or employee. Nurture is a nice word to use but once the employee's wings harden they will fly away. When they leave will they thank their employer for "nurturing" them? And be so ever grateful?

14 minutes ago, Inlinefour said:

my friend asking

is the xmm syt intern chio bo

if swee can guess why kick big fuss liao

🙊🙉🙈

I already said is better not to has someone to be "talk of the town" within a week. Pretty destructive to the normal daily  operation. 

Just now, Watwheels said:

There is also no loyalty to speak of. Either way money talks. It has always been about $$$ be it employer or employee. Nurture is a nice word to use but once the employee's wings harden they will fly away. 

Internship is only half a year or so. They are expected to fly away and never return. But the good interns may even get an offer for a proper job upon  graduation. Anyway like the post above, it is just cheap labor to most boss in reality, that's why when they kpkb about intern attitude, I don't empathize for them.

8 minutes ago, Ahwhye said:

hello... many treat these interns as cheap labour to be exploited niah....simi develop simi professionalism sai lah

like serving ns? [laugh]

Interesting topic here. 

Let me ask a question..

What kind of internship provide a more valuable experiences.

A filing/admin job or a sales assistance at some sort boutique outlet?

Imo I would choose the latter as internship. Learning how to face nd deal all sort of characters daily definitely better than learning how to do filing. 😁

Let's admit that what trigged many supports for "Sarah" is because Jeffery mentioned the magic word "FT",  otherwise all the boomers here will be throwing tables and chairs at her from page 1. [laugh]

Internship cuts both ways. Institutions (lecturers in particular),  need to source and find employers for students  internship to complete their studies, and it is really not all that easy to find businesses who are willing to have manpower turn around every 6 months.  I myself have had my lecturers calling me asking if I or anyone I know can support their internship program. Of course there are some businesses where internship actually form 40-50% of their manpower, and without internship they might not be able to operate, I know hotels, hospitals, F&B, creative arts are some of these industries. 

But whatever the case, "Sarah" need to know and learn that, if you are an intern, you need to know what is an intern and behave like one, unless she is not told by her lecturer or not interested in her internship grades. Both my daughters went through internship, one in hotel with shift works that starts very early and ends very late, the other kena one bloody FU event company that I almost wanted to write to the ministry,  but they just hung on, completed the 6 months and FO. I supported by sending and fetching them, and listening to them about their experience. Thats internship, same same serving NS. [laugh]

As for Jeffery, just another of those local business who will go all the way to squeeze dry every employee,  Intern included. "Creative arts and design", 90% of their intern work is done on the computer, unless they can only use design software of the company, makes no different where they work from. And he must have forgotten or lost track that Creative arts and design students are quite carefree, and in this new era, most of their works and projects they dont even need to meet the end user. 

These 2 are just wrong place wrong time, both living in their own world, wrong match to start with.[laugh][laugh][laugh]

Edited by Tianmo

32 minutes ago, Kopites said:

Yes.

This young gal seeking internship should has shown more earnest attitude rather than asking for a virtual meeting. At least has the courtesy to call up the HR(company). Anyway I doubt any HR would entertain her request. Most would just simply move on to the next person (intern) in line. 

Virtual interview yes for certain position but not for internship position imo. 

My son recently wanted to do some holiday part time work, and he just went around to shops, walked in and asked if they wanted part timers. Got call for a same day interview, called me and asked for help to send him there, started work the next day, and in 2 weeks they let him manage the store alone including using the POS. [laugh][laugh][laugh]

9 minutes ago, Tianmo said:

Let's admit that what trigged many supports for "Sarah" is because Jeffery mentioned the magic word "FT",  otherwise all the boomers here will be throwing tables and chairs at her from page 1. [laugh]

Internship cuts both ways. Institutions (lecturers in particular),  need to source and find employers for students  internship to complete their studies, and it is really not all that easy to find businesses who are willing to have manpower turn around every 6 months.  I myself have had my lecturers calling me asking if I or anyone I know can support their internship program. Of course there are some businesses where internship actually form 40-50% of their manpower, and without internship they might not be able to operate, I know hotels, hospitals, F&B, creative arts are some of these industries. 

But whatever the case, "Sarah" need to know and learn that, if you are an intern, you need to know what is an intern and behave like one, unless she is not told by her lecturer or not interested in her internship grades. Both my daughters went through internship, one in hotel with shift works that starts very early and ends very late, the other kena one bloody FU event company that I almost wanted to write to the ministry,  but they just hung on, completed the 6 months and FO. I supported by sending and fetching them, and listening to them about their experience. Thats internship, same same serving NS. [laugh]

As for Jeffery, just another of those local business who will go all the way to squeeze dry every employee Intern included. "Creative arts and design", 90% of their intern work is done on the computer, unless they can only use design software of the company, makes no different where they work from. And he must have forgotten or lost track that Creative arts and design students are quite carefree, and in this new era, most of their works and projects they dont even need to meet the end user. 

These 2 are just wrong place wrong time, both living in their own world, wrong match to start with.[laugh][laugh][laugh]

most XMM wants to intern in TikTok, Google, FB, Lazada and Shopee

free atas coffee, free flow tidbits, relax area with comfy sofa and massage chair ...

so that they can make TikTok ... A day of my life in ..... :grin:

sorry ... just kidding ... 

i think it cuts both ways ... intern <> employer need to understand what are they getting into .... 

8 minutes ago, Tianmo said:

My son recently wanted to do some holiday part time work, and he just went around to shops, walked in and asked if they wanted part timers. Got call for a same day interview, called me and asked for help to send him there, started work the next day, and in 2 weeks they let him manage the store alone including using the POS. [laugh][laugh][laugh]

Your son will come out more mature and better equiped for his future endeavours. 👍

Getting rejection is easy. Overcome rejection is more difficult. Valuable life lesson for your son. 

Edited by Kopites

1 minute ago, Tianmo said:

My son first part time job os I walk in with him. Took a meal at the kopi shop at AMK. Was discussing with him how this Al Carbon managed to squeeze many kitchen equipments and 5 staffs in a tight space and yet everyone is not squeezed. May be good if he can learn from kitchen manager there. He said he is keen to learn an experience a Kitchen environment. I walked with him to the manager and i ask if they are hiring. I let him talk with the manager and return to lim kopi. 

7 minutes ago, Wt_know said:

most XMM wants to intern in TikTok, Google, FB, Lazada and Shopee

free atas coffee, free flow tidbits, relax area with comfy sofa and massage chair ...

so that they can make TikTok ... A day of my life in ..... :grin:

sorry ... just kidding ... 

i think it cuts both ways ... intern <> employer need to understand what are they getting into .... 

You also can make

A day of my life driving Porky

🤭

Just now, inlinesix said:

You also can make

A day of my life driving Porky

🤭

i got intern ... first day report to work asking for "free parking" liao ... smelly smelly B&B conti hor ... mai play play

7 minutes ago, Kopites said:

Your son will come out more mature and better equiped for his future endeavours. 👍

Getting rejection is easy. Overcome rejection is more difficult. Valuable life lesson for your son. 

Before he went, he already zoom in on 3 brands, which did some research on, and then just walk in and ask.  I was a little worry at first, but he said he was  just going to ask if they need part timers,  if have he work, dont have then no have lah. he was prepared. When he was employed, he even joking told me, "WTF they didnt even care I dont have any experience, must be quite short handed."[:p][laugh][laugh]

13 minutes ago, Ender said:

My son first part time job os I walk in with him. Took a meal at the kopi shop at AMK. Was discussing with him how this Al Carbon managed to squeeze many kitchen equipments and 5 staffs in a tight space and yet everyone is not squeezed. May be good if he can learn from kitchen manager there. He said he is keen to learn an experience a Kitchen environment. I walked with him to the manager and i ask if they are hiring. I let him talk with the manager and return to lim kopi. 

Yah, I was there lim kopi with you monitoring him the next week, remember? [laugh]

But seriously, he seem to be enjoying himself with the cooking there when I walked passed him. 

But then your son and my son have quite different characters, mine I can just leave him alone to manage himself, yours is more introvert like his father. [:p][laugh][laugh] 

1 hour ago, Victor68 said:

I can understand your thoughts. As an employer, you have every right to set expectations and decide if you want to grant that interview or not. You can also feel disappointed and unhappy with the candidate. However, is there a need to express it in a social media platform and what do you expect to achieve? Are you expecting everyone to agrees with your views? He is already calling the shot whether to grant that interview, not to mention employing her. 

When there are choices, you choose and pick. When there aren't, you pick what is closest match to what you want lor. 

Its a rant lor

his own personal one.  
no need to expect anything.

why are you expecting something? 

Edited by Throttle2