Giving up uni for bus driver

Wind30

10 minutes ago, inlinesix said:

In late 90s, I took bus from Melbourne to Gold Coast. 

Driver wears the same uniform as PIlot.  in addition, driver has a case similar to Pilot.

It was a 24hr ride.  Along the way, there was 2 change in drivers.

Uniform as pilot is over lah. But change driver is good. Long long time ago, Europe's bus drivers got a disk to record and speed and the time of driving of the driver. The disk can be pulled out by traffic police for checking anytime

8 minutes ago, Lala81 said:

There's a minimum wage in Swiss. Think its around 2.9k sgd. 

For the locals I can see. If our locals can be a bus driver 2.9K and do a good job, why not? Just that employer don't wanna pay only. Till today, local companies paying admin clerk $1800 - $2000......how to survive?

• Sad 1

7 minutes ago, Jman888 said:

they dress like pilot and behave like one too. I remember a group of us taking a night coach from Mel to Syd, they stop at many petrol station along the way for people to go toilet or grab some food (there are restaurants/cafe at each petrol station [thumbsup]). 

Then one of our friends took slightly longer time in the toilet at one of the stops, the bus driver just drove off without her, when we kpkb with the driver [furious] he say "will the flight wait for you?" Our friend came out didn't see our bus and lucky there were other buses around, she told another coach driver (different coy) and he quickly too off and catch up with our bus. Imagine dumping a passenger in the middle of night at middle of nowhere? 

We dare not to take longer than necessary to go toilet or macan.  Most of these bus stop is in the middle of nowhere.

7 minutes ago, Thaiyotakamli said:

Phv u get to drive a car and bring home. Can even go jb. 

Also if u want to pee halfway doing job can find any parking easily

but bus hard to park

This could be 1 of the reason that push ppl away from being bus captain

rather than the pay ALONE

14 hours ago, Thaiyotakamli said:

I do know truck drivers earn over 5k

bus driver also got earn $4k although its pte bus not sbs. 

i think even 5-6k people will still shun the job because bus driver isnt an ideal job to begin with

also last time i know a friend’s friend who drive bus and years later he managed to own few bus and become own a small bus operator company

Pre covid days were fine. A few of these operators shut down because of covid. 

21 minutes ago, inlinesix said:

PHV and Bus Driver pay is about the same.

But, ppl are willing to be PHV driver more than bus driver.

Why?

Bro, My friend give up his company after his son goes to US university with a scholarship. He now drive PHV early morning till evening fixed time to give himself time to play basketball. He says the income is about 6k/month. He also admitted no CPF but he does not need to own a car anymore. how to be the same??

14 minutes ago, ToyotaShuttle said:

Other people's son then will say it's great that young people can explore their passion and do what they like.

My son? bloody char siew.

Cannot like that lah, I was never given a chance to do what I love. Now I promise my daughter I give her the best. Do what she has passion in

3 minutes ago, Arogab said:

Bro, My friend give up his company after his son goes to US university with a scholarship. He now drive PHV early morning till evening fixed time to give himself time to play basketball. He says the income is about 6k/month. He also admitted no CPF but he does not need to own a car anymore. how to be the same??

6K is gross or net?

Net likely to be the same as bus captain.  Bus captain has CPF.

Bus Captain has split shift.

59 minutes ago, Watwheels said:

I think the title in the news media and this thread title isnt giving ppl the correct impression.

He is a bus otaku who fulfilled his dream as a part time bus driver. He is enjoying it. I dont understand why ppl want to pass judgement. He is an adult, if he wants to put aside his studies to do what he enjoys, why not? He is doing good cos bus companies have difficulty finding committed drivers. 

Bus companies should also invest some time on bus otaku or bus siao. They can be potential bus drivers. 😆

Hear there are many bus otaku in sg but seldom hear bus otaku become a bus driver le?! Lol. So this guy is really power la, can enjoy doing what he likes.

14 minutes ago, inlinesix said:

6K is gross or net?

Net likely to be the same as bus captain.  Bus captain has CPF.

Bus Captain has split shift.

Gross or net is vague. To be more specific, it is Net after deducting all the rental and petrol. Meaning no CPF. But flexible time and no such restrictions like the bus drivers. I don't think bus company pays 6k to the bus drivers over all in package.

21 minutes ago, Arogab said:

also no income tax? 😁

57 minutes ago, Lala81 said:

Still doesn't mean he can't complete his studies and join the work force in few years time. 

Is there opportunity cost for him? 

I appreciate blue collar work too. But this is more of a job, not a trade as I mentioned earlier. 

He might just be taking a gap year to check out his love for buses. Given the number of Uni awarding him a place, his result must be good, and there should be not much of an issue for him to apply for a place in a year or 2 later. Some ppl take a gap year to tour the world before starting school again, some take a year off to work, while some just lazy at home because they dont know what to read in Uni. 

we are all drill to take every step similarly, after this must do that, after that must do this, and everyone seem to be rushing to finish school and start work. And I notice many students select their studies base on result and not base on interest, and then start working on a career base on what they studied and not base on what they love to do, which lead to all the kpkb about how their work sucks. 

Personally I think its ok to take a side step, spend a year or 2 away from main steam studies to check out if your hobby and loves for a certain subject can become your career, and then make a decision again for your future studies base on this experience. After all, not everyone can afford to take gap years. [laugh][laugh][laugh]

2 minutes ago, Vratenza said:

also no income tax? 😁

I think they will have to declare. But at their age and with family. I think income tax very little one

17 minutes ago, Jman888 said:

got $4K lah [laugh]

buscaptain-ad-1.jpg

Bus captain gross salary up to $4k which includes allowances, incentives and OT? No wonder no locals want to be bus driver?! Long working hours and expose to stressful road condition, and can only earn up to $4k?