Heartbreakid 6th Gear September 12, 2022 Share September 12, 2022 Got to give a hand to this young man for pursuing his passion. He is brave to do that. But young as he is, "young" is the advantage. When it is time for relationship, marriage, building family, buying material needs, correct me if I am wrong, that is when passion has to give way to practicality. When it is down to relationship, if the girlfriend doesn't mind him being a bus-driver, that is true love and an advantage. For Asian culture, it is always difficult for people to pursue passion, but I see the trend of younger generations picking that up. Anyways, I wish this young man happiness in enjoying his passion and living the life! ↡ Advertisement 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic September 12, 2022 Share September 12, 2022 (edited) 3 minutes ago, Macrosszero said: One of my friends joined fairprice as a store manager in his 30s. We joked how his colleagues were all aunties, but he rose pretty quickly to management. Someone who can make it will make it no matter the industry. Pluck your nose out of the air please. Not too long ago we were singing praises of supermarket staff being essential during the peak of COVID panic. But you should not make yourself be at the mercy of the bottom line. Unfortunately it's super obvious that driving jobs are going to be ones that get the axe over the next decade. You should invest in yourself and your skills. Hard truth lah. Your skills either need to be transferable or need to be specialised enough to command some degree of moat protection for your career. Edited September 12, 2022 by Lala81 6 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator September 12, 2022 Share September 12, 2022 4 minutes ago, Heartbreakid said: Got to give a hand to this young man for pursuing his passion. He is brave to do that. But young as he is, "young" is the advantage. When it is time for relationship, marriage, building family, buying material needs, correct me if I am wrong, that is when passion has to give way to practicality. When it is down to relationship, if the girlfriend doesn't mind him being a bus-driver, that is true love and an advantage. For Asian culture, it is always difficult for people to pursue passion, but I see the trend of younger generations picking that up. Anyways, I wish this young man happiness in enjoying his passion and living the life! sad to say age also 1 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ender Hypersonic September 12, 2022 Share September 12, 2022 20 minutes ago, Lala81 said: hmmm bit different leh. While culinary world has infinite competition, at least the apprenticeship leads to further opportunities and responsibilities. As a bus driver, the upwards progression is very limited. It's not like you can keep scaling the skill up to achieve more complex aims. At least in culinary arts, u can definitely skill up into all kinds of levels, even management, menu design and food concepts etc. Of course u can quit it all and be a hawker or a tiny restaurant owner chef in the future. But at least the avenue is there. And you shouldn't waste the years when your brain is most plastic. It's like u can like trains, but I would rather be a train engineer than a train driver. Cos at least then your specialisation means something. I don't even want to mention Autonomous driving which is surely on the horizon in at least a limited form or other within the next 10-15 years. 17 minutes ago, 13177 said: Ok la, at least he has a poly diploma, no need must study uni since he found something that he loves to do. Is being a private bus driver, salary higher than driving a public bus? I am a typical chinese parent, who hopes to see his children go uni mah.. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic September 12, 2022 Share September 12, 2022 (edited) 11 minutes ago, Lala81 said: But you should not make yourself be at the mercy of the bottom line. Unfortunately it's super obvious that driving jobs are going to be ones that get the axe over the next decade. You should invest in yourself and your skills. Hard truth lah. Your skills either need to be transferable or need to be specialised enough to command some degree of moat protection for your career. We are at least 30 years away from self driving bus. Edited September 12, 2022 by inlinesix Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sosaria Twincharged September 12, 2022 Share September 12, 2022 (edited) 2 hours ago, Wind30 said: https://www.todayonline.com/singapore/stories-behind-23-year-old-inspired-godmother-bus-driver-1988991 Nothing against bus driver but what would u think if that is your son. It's just a real godmom or is it more like stifler's godmom kind of relationship? Edited September 12, 2022 by Sosaria Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic September 12, 2022 Share September 12, 2022 (edited) 6 minutes ago, inlinesix said: We are at least 30 years away from self driving bus. If u accept a bus that will stop at all stops. And just generally behave more like a tram, i don't think it's that far away. U only need to stop along major stops, avoid problems with small roads and loss of 5G signals etc. The complexity comes with predicting traffic situations. But if u have a bus lane, think of it more like how electric trams work, i think part of the network will be definitely autonomous. In fact the govts have the deepest pockets and the most incentive to make it autonomous. Edited September 12, 2022 by Lala81 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Thaiyotakamli Supersonic September 12, 2022 Share September 12, 2022 (edited) 44 minutes ago, Lala81 said: you pay bus drivers 5-6k per month. I guarantee you, got many many people will apply. Come on, u can train any kid into a driver lah. The army literally trains teenage si ginah 18-19 year old drivers every single year for decades. And they can drive 5 tonners on off-road tracks. What's a bus... I'm not even talking about the tank and armored vehicle drivers... I do know truck drivers earn over 5k bus driver also got earn $4k although its pte bus not sbs. i think even 5-6k people will still shun the job because bus driver isnt an ideal job to begin with also last time i know a friend’s friend who drive bus and years later he managed to own few bus and become own a small bus operator company Edited September 12, 2022 by Thaiyotakamli 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic September 12, 2022 Share September 12, 2022 Just now, Thaiyotakamli said: I do know truck drivers earn over 5k bus driver also got earn $4k although its pte bus not sbs. i think even 5-6k people will still shun the job because bus driver isnt an ideal job to begin with Companies will only pay the bare minimum. U want to be a bus driver, then best is to do it overseas where they treat it with respect and not be easily autonomised. Best would be Japanese. Cos they treat their bus drivers differently, as also as community service personnel. And if there's area with heavy snow, then the bus drivers need to pull over at certain spots to allow traffic to pass. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Thaiyotakamli Supersonic September 12, 2022 Share September 12, 2022 4 minutes ago, Lala81 said: Companies will only pay the bare minimum. U want to be a bus driver, then best is to do it overseas where they treat it with respect and not be easily autonomised. Best would be Japanese. Cos they treat their bus drivers differently, as also as community service personnel. And if there's area with heavy snow, then the bus drivers need to pull over at certain spots to allow traffic to pass. Definitely need more government subsidies for bus/public transport so the bus drivers get high pay and commuter still pay affordable fare Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
macrosszero Turbocharged September 12, 2022 Share September 12, 2022 (edited) 1 hour ago, Lala81 said: But you should not make yourself be at the mercy of the bottom line. Unfortunately it's super obvious that driving jobs are going to be ones that get the axe over the next decade. You should invest in yourself and your skills. Hard truth lah. Your skills either need to be transferable or need to be specialised enough to command some degree of moat protection for your career. He has earned that visibility that the bus companies may offer him a bonded scholarship Win-win for all parties, I feel. The bus company gets someone with passion and potential. The fellow gets to be around the buses he loves. Edited September 12, 2022 by Macrosszero Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic September 12, 2022 Share September 12, 2022 18 minutes ago, yishunite said: You are very wrong https://www.todayonline.com/singapore/worlds-first-full-sized-driverless-electric-bus-launched-ntu-and-volvo Its already here... need enough testing to clear LTA then goodbye bus drivers 5 years already. What’s the results? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahwhye 5th Gear September 12, 2022 Share September 12, 2022 Give him a few years or months to go thru' the life he so "wanted", then see whether he will jump ship lor.. 😄 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Victor68 Turbocharged September 12, 2022 Share September 12, 2022 2 hours ago, Tianmo said: Well, he gets paid doing what he loves. Does your passion for travelling and holidaying pay you? Can write a book to sell your story one day? Nothing wrong driving a bus but surely in our Singapore context, getting a better paid career if you can if a better choice. Singapore HDB also need money. Hobby and passion can come after you have saved enough. retire early. That would be my advice. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic September 12, 2022 Share September 12, 2022 1 hour ago, Lala81 said: you pay bus drivers 5-6k per month. I guarantee you, got many many people will apply. Come on, u can train any kid into a driver lah. The army literally trains teenage si ginah 18-19 year old drivers every single year for decades. And they can drive 5 tonners on off-road tracks. What's a bus... I'm not even talking about the tank and armored vehicle drivers... Bus drivers with basic pay, plus allowances and OTs, cannot reach $5-6k per month? Or at least $4-5k? Thats why those 18-19 year old army drivers who drive those big SAF vehicles quite dangerous lo, lucky they have speed limit set at 50km/h. Now thinking back also feel scared sitting inside those army vehicles driven by those si ginah. Luckily no accident happened. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic September 12, 2022 Share September 12, 2022 1 hour ago, Macrosszero said: One of my friends joined fairprice as a store manager in his 30s. We joked how his colleagues were all aunties, but he rose pretty quickly to management. Someone who can make it will make it no matter the industry. Pluck your nose out of the air please. Not too long ago we were singing praises of supermarket staff being essential during the peak of COVID panic. Some people might ask, even the person work as a store manager or even rose to management working in fairprice, how much is the salary if compared to a manager or management level in a non-service industry, example engineering sector or finance sector? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic September 12, 2022 Share September 12, 2022 9 minutes ago, yishunite said: Testing testing testing lor... https://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/over-50-driverless-vehicles-approved-for-trials-on-spores-roads-and-public-paths-in-last-5-years Once all the testing complete there will be a flood... main thing is that they actually have fully working versions of them only now is regulation issue not technology issue. Many EV overseas already got fully self-drive mode liao since 5 yrs ago That was my point all along. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic September 12, 2022 Share September 12, 2022 1 hour ago, Heartbreakid said: Got to give a hand to this young man for pursuing his passion. He is brave to do that. But young as he is, "young" is the advantage. When it is time for relationship, marriage, building family, buying material needs, correct me if I am wrong, that is when passion has to give way to practicality. When it is down to relationship, if the girlfriend doesn't mind him being a bus-driver, that is true love and an advantage. For Asian culture, it is always difficult for people to pursue passion, but I see the trend of younger generations picking that up. Anyways, I wish this young man happiness in enjoying his passion and living the life! Think it is more common to see youngsters go into F&B industry, like working as hawkers nowadays? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...