Greening Bus Stop Roofs To Cool The City

Fitvip

From TST.

Wow, what a great idea. 

LTA, NParks plant a cool idea at bus stops islandwide

image.png.bd6d12c037be7fd6aac5fa94a09e9fca.png

As part of a plan to cool the city, the NParks and LTA have started rolling out green-roofed bus stops across the island. ST PHOTO: ARIFFIN JAMAR

Christopher Tan

Senior Transport Correspondent

PUBLISHED

8 HOURS AGO

FacebookTwitter

SINGAPORE - Money does not grow on trees, but shrubs will on roofs.

As part of a plan to cool the city, the National Parks Board (NParks) and Land Transport Authority (LTA) have started rolling out green-roofed bus stops across the island.

So next time we will see bangala climb up there to trim the bushes? 😂

& in heavy rain, hope no muddy water flowing down...... 😂

I hope someone really know what they are doing.... 😂

24 minutes ago, Ahwhye said:

I'm thinking of doing this though.

893783521_Screenshot(133)a.png.d61faed63619e84a58809b71be463033.png

25 minutes ago, Ahwhye said:

Ya, next time you will see bus-stop tio cordon off and plant pruning at work signage put up, and you need to stand outside the bus-stop to wait for your bus?! Lol.

In some parts of Singapore, they have replanted the road side kerbs and dividers, with flowering plants.  then remove them when the plants grow into wild grass. Wonder which landscape expert they engage /consult. So, let's wait for a few months and count how much $ they spend. 

spend money on planting more shrubs on bus stops for a greener and cooler env.......and on the other hand chopping down all the trees and forest to make way for development of roads/hdb......

just heard the dover forest will be cleared for development....clearing of forest will not be compensated with a plan to plat shrubs on bus stops!! 

what a load of BS hypocrites.....very angry coz my area, they chop down a lot of old huge trees to widen the road....and now i see these type of news...:omg:

The sun shining is not the cause of global warming.

The sun shining is very normal.

The reason we have global warming is because the bus is belching out pollution from burning diesel.

Like this we are cooked.

No chance we will avert climate change.

Welcome to 50 degrees C every day.

I stopped eating healthy no point living a long life just to be roasted alive.

Let the fats from Korean bbq, pizza and burgers chock my arteries so I go before it gets too hot.

27 minutes ago, Spidey10 said:

spend money on planting more shrubs on bus stops for a greener and cooler env.......and on the other hand chopping down all the trees and forest to make way for development of roads/hdb......

just heard the dover forest will be cleared for development....clearing of forest will not be compensated with a plan to plat shrubs on bus stops!! 

what a load of BS hypocrites.....very angry coz my area, they chop down a lot of old huge trees to widen the road....and now i see these type of news...:omg:

Dover forest sure must clear for development, since the BTO for this site already launched liao.

17 minutes ago, Ingenius said:

Imagine someone throws some fruit seeds onto the roof top grass .. 

The birds will naturally poo some tree seeds onto them.  Maybe a big rain tree will grow on them.

5 minutes ago, Volvobrick said:

The birds will naturally poo some tree seeds onto them.  Maybe a big rain tree will grow on them.

Next time if Npark did not schedule regular maintenance and pruning.... :D

istockphoto-925268310-1024x1024.thumb.jpg.6ce27093fce249c39500d2ad997f871b.jpg