DOBIEMKZ Turbocharged August 23, 2022 Share August 23, 2022 On 8/23/2022 at 2:41 PM, Ct3833 said: Sell your Accord and buy a new 5 series or E class, it will be a journey of no return😄😄 Expand You mean no money to return?? ↡ Advertisement 6 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
DOBIEMKZ Turbocharged August 23, 2022 Share August 23, 2022 On 8/23/2022 at 1:04 PM, Jamesc said: Mistress are more expensive to maintain than wives but why do men have them? They are more fun. But then we are not talking about a GTI but a Volkswagen Golf 1.4A TSI. Is it going to be a lot more fun? 120 bhp, its not even the twin charge 170 bhp. Expand @Jamesc Errrh... regarding your first statement. Is that so!?😲...😁 Didn't try so I don't know, maybe I go try liao then can know. I'm half a century old is it too late to try....?🤔...😅...😁 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mkl22 Supersonic August 23, 2022 Share August 23, 2022 On 8/23/2022 at 1:04 PM, Jamesc said: Mistress are more expensive to maintain than wives but why do men have them? They are more fun. But then we are not talking about a GTI but a Volkswagen Golf 1.4A TSI. Is it going to be a lot more fun? 120 bhp, its not even the twin charge 170 bhp. Expand Best is the Volvo T8, twin change plus PHEV. Lots and lots of things to spoil. oh what fun to keep going back to workshop. 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jamesc Hypersonic August 23, 2022 Share August 23, 2022 On 8/23/2022 at 2:48 PM, DOBIEMKZ said: I'm half a century old is it too late to try....?🤔...😅...😁 Expand Got money no problem. The mistress only see your wallet not your age. 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
ER-3682 Twincharged August 23, 2022 Share August 23, 2022 On 8/23/2022 at 3:20 PM, Mkl22 said: Best is the Volvo T8, twin change plus PHEV. Lots and lots of things to spoil. oh what fun to keep going back to workshop. Expand Volvo now so Unreliable.? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
DOBIEMKZ Turbocharged August 23, 2022 Share August 23, 2022 On 8/23/2022 at 4:57 PM, Jamesc said: Got money no problem. The mistress only see your wallet not your age. Expand No money.😏 But I have a heart of gold.😁 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sdf4786k Twincharged August 23, 2022 Share August 23, 2022 On 8/22/2022 at 7:29 AM, Sissypoo said: I appreciate the feedback from everyone that had commented. I honestly value your opinion. Firstly, the reason of this thread was to gather different opinion as well as current owners of golf mk7 on whether it is viable to renew a 2yo car down the road. Like I said in the earlier post, I'm fully aware of the common issue but of course I don't deny that there might be underlying problems that might happen in years to come. So instead of bashing the golf based on hearsay, why not contribute like @Vulkan where i can learn more about the car and make better decision. I'm here to learn, understand more about the car and make better decision in my life. I hope others that are eyeing the car in the future could also find some usefulness in this thread rather than condemning it. Expand Just stretched the budget n get a mk7 golf GTi I stead.. stable platform for MQB. Problems? Yes .. but it’s wear n tear like wheel bearing and perhaps the water pump . But mostly uneventful if you do the usual 10000km oil change. But the moment I decide to screwed it n push it to 20000 to 30000km before the next oil change no jazz or for that matter jap or conti will continue to serve you well. of course driving a VW has its perks. The vast array of mods. But that’s a slippery slope Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic August 23, 2022 Share August 23, 2022 On 8/23/2022 at 2:41 PM, Ct3833 said: Sell your Accord and buy a new 5 series or E class, it will be a journey of no return😄😄 Expand 钱不够用 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Old-driver 5th Gear August 24, 2022 Share August 24, 2022 On 8/23/2022 at 11:36 PM, DOBIEMKZ said: No money.😏 But I have a heart of gold.😁 Expand You'll need a pot of gold instead. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soya Supersonic August 24, 2022 Share August 24, 2022 On 8/23/2022 at 12:52 PM, Lala81 said: 6.5 years altis from new. 120+k km. Aircon compressor and one set of shock absorbers. I shouldn't even have done the shocks cos I sold the car like less than 4 months later. 7.5 years Honda. 105k km. 1 set of spark plugs and one pair of front brake pads recently (other than tyres and batteries). I'm going to drive to scrap, so basically my aim is to see whether I even need anything other than oil change until scrap. But I also may consider conti for the next one haha, but depends on the resale market what's available then. Expand Ahemmm.....from jap to used conti? U gonna kena the same dressing down next time.....lol 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soya Supersonic August 24, 2022 Share August 24, 2022 On 8/23/2022 at 3:20 PM, Mkl22 said: Best is the Volvo T8, twin change plus PHEV. Lots and lots of things to spoil. oh what fun to keep going back to workshop. Expand Can put 249 Alexandra Rd as address in ur IC liao..... 5 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic August 24, 2022 Share August 24, 2022 On 8/24/2022 at 6:43 AM, Soya said: Ahemmm.....from jap to used conti? U gonna kena the same dressing down next time.....lol Expand YOLO! But won't touch the 1.4L ones bah. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
ER-3682 Twincharged August 24, 2022 Share August 24, 2022 On 8/23/2022 at 11:36 PM, DOBIEMKZ said: No money.😏 But I have a heart of gold.😁 Expand Later you get Kidnap & kill for the Golden Heart. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blueray Hypersonic August 24, 2022 Share August 24, 2022 no experience with VW cars. all I can say is my sexperience with 2 Honda cars has been quite problem free. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ct3833 Supersonic August 24, 2022 Share August 24, 2022 On 8/24/2022 at 6:43 AM, Soya said: Ahemmm.....from jap to used conti? U gonna kena the same dressing down next time.....lol Expand Presicely my worries, so end up i have a japanese and a conti, either way i am correct. 😅😅 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tohto Hypersonic August 24, 2022 Share August 24, 2022 On 8/22/2022 at 2:44 AM, 13177 said: People who have been driving jap or korean cars, must eventually change to a conti car la. Maybe it is for the drive and face value? Same like people who stay in HDB all their life, also must upgrade to a private ultimately. 😂 Expand For some people, a car is purely pt A to pt B purpose. Driving any car is similar to them. A super light steering their feel shiok. But for those enjoy driving, a super light steering is No No. How the steering feel is important, how a car go through a corner, how a car ride on bumpy road etc... 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Spurman Supercharged August 25, 2022 Share August 25, 2022 Hmm. I rather propose u choose https://m.sgcarmart.com/used_cars/info.php?ID=1113397 Still got many yrs b4 scrap. No need fret simi pqp renewal thingy. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
serenade 6th Gear August 25, 2022 Share August 25, 2022 On 8/24/2022 at 7:03 AM, Lala81 said: YOLO! But won't touch the 1.4L ones bah. Expand I am just ahead of you on the curve. Went from Japanese to Merc W212. It has been utterly reliable compared with the Japs for the last 7+ years. Only changed wear and tear parts which costs no more than average Jap equivalent. Great fuel consumption for the size using RON95. The insurance is so reasonable compared to what I was paying for Subaru LGT. The drive is as good or better than the 5-speed Accord 2.4 full-spec (the model with twin screens at the centre console and anti-noise) ↡ Advertisement 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...