Stary Supercharged August 18, 2022 Share August 18, 2022 (edited) 26 minutes ago, Rickster said: If it includes a person's primary place of residence and cpf, then yes, many Singaporean will hit it exceed 1m. This report is just another piece of sensational journalism trash when they don't even define the term millionaire. No idea how they calculate that millionaire thing, but if net worth, then in Spore context, Moneysense has a good net worth calculator here : https://www.moneysense.gov.sg/financial-tools/net-worth-calculator Edited August 18, 2022 by Starry ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rickster 5th Gear August 18, 2022 Share August 18, 2022 2 minutes ago, Starry said: No idea how they calculate that millionaire thing, but if net worth, then in Spore context, usually it means: [Cpf (OA+SA+MA) + cash + investments (stocks/bonds/etc) + property value + insurance (cash value, if any) + businesses (if any) ] - all debts (property loan, car loan, CC loans, business loans, etc) Moneysense has a good net worth calculator here : https://www.moneysense.gov.sg/financial-tools/net-worth-calculator Yap, if they mean net worth... Then i think most HDB owners who have paid up their flats in mature estates such as TPY/AMK are mostly millionaires liao. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Throttle2 Supersonic August 18, 2022 Share August 18, 2022 1 hour ago, Sosaria said: frightening isn't it? when a large part of our working population is not even touching 10k pm When a large part of our working population hits $10k, you can be sure tehbing is $5 a cup at kopitiam muayhahahahaha. stuck between a rock and a hard place 1 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
ER-3682 Twincharged August 18, 2022 Share August 18, 2022 5 hours ago, Mooose said: They use USD 1 million, counting cash, stocks, bonds plus the house but minus mortgage owing .. Not so straight forward for HDB owners even if they have SGD 1 million flats .. need to have fully paid the mortgage, and have another SGD 400,000 or so in cash, stocks or bonds .. I think in MyCarForum,already over 95% of the Active Members is like this. 1 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
mersaylee Hypersonic August 18, 2022 Share August 18, 2022 1 hour ago, Throttle2 said: When a large part of our working population hits $10k, you can be sure tehbing is $5 a cup at kopitiam muayhahahahaha. stuck between a rock and a hard place When that time cums...any MCF meet up at kopitiam gonna be a luxurious affair for me liao 😅 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wt_know Supersonic August 18, 2022 Share August 18, 2022 i think there is typo in the report la my guts feel and coconut projector tells me is 31% … Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jellandross Supersonic August 18, 2022 Share August 18, 2022 (edited) To me, a true millionaire means the person can any day walk into a bank and withdraw $1M to pay a ransom or whatever. Else paper millionaires are everywhere including ppl who pay home loans until they draw their last breathe. Edited August 18, 2022 by Jellandross 6 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wt_know Supersonic August 18, 2022 Share August 18, 2022 (edited) 10 minutes ago, Jellandross said: To me, a true millionaire means the person can any day walk into a bank and withdraw $1M to pay a ransom or whatever. Else paper millionaires are everywhere including ppl who pay home loans until they draw their last breathe. yalor ... else every hdb owner in AMK, TPY, CLEMENTI, BISHAN, TIONG BHARU, REDHILL, COMMONWEALTH even some areas in PUNGGOL, SENGKANG, YISHUN .... are millionaire liao !!! dont even need to talk about condooooo .... Edited August 18, 2022 by Wt_know Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Estrangable 5th Gear August 18, 2022 Share August 18, 2022 these are all paper profits leh... u sell your 1M HDB then u stay at roadside? Or you move to bolehland? these numbers are like masturbation.... self song already. Not the real thing. 1 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dp26 5th Gear August 18, 2022 Share August 18, 2022 35 minutes ago, Jellandross said: To me, a true millionaire means the person can any day walk into a bank and withdraw $1M to pay a ransom or whatever. Else paper millionaires are everywhere including ppl who pay home loans until they draw their last breathe. A millionaire in the past and now is the same la. Just that a millionaire today is not as rich as a millionaire 20 years ago. Inflation is real what. only multi multi millionaire then got 1m sitting in cash and waiting for ransom. Most will deploy their monies to work harder. you hear before a friend’s friend’s uncle’s grand aunt having 8 properties worth 20m, shares worth 10m or so? If she only got 900k in cash now she’s not considered millionaire? millionaire just not as “rich” as before. Don’t have the same purchasing power. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Throttle2 Supersonic August 18, 2022 Share August 18, 2022 (edited) True multi millionaire today to me is simple, must have at least $10mil networth. I dont care in what. As long as it is assets that can be liquidated, cash, marketeable securities, properties, watches, jewelry, cars, paintings, whatever…. otherwise, dont sia suay……many rich people in Singapore lah……muayhahahhahahahha hdb millionaire, condo millionaire, lokkok landed millionaire, shophouse millionaire , plenty lah Edited August 18, 2022 by Throttle2 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wt_know Supersonic August 18, 2022 Share August 18, 2022 (edited) 27 minutes ago, Throttle2 said: hdb millionaire, condo millionaire, lokkok landed millionaire, shophouse millionaire , plenty lah true, true, true, true, true .... based on simi sai IQuadrant "strategy" ... buy a lokkok leasehold industrial unit also overnight become landlord millionaires liao with 90% LOAN ... Edited August 18, 2022 by Wt_know 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ginyu 4th Gear August 18, 2022 Share August 18, 2022 5 hours ago, Starry said: No idea how they calculate that millionaire thing, but if net worth, then in Spore context, Moneysense has a good net worth calculator here : https://www.moneysense.gov.sg/financial-tools/net-worth-calculator The asset part of the net-worth calculator is only valid provided that the property is fully paid off if not falls under liabilities 😂 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Atonchia Supersonic August 18, 2022 Share August 18, 2022 (edited) RLDR It's really long..... More than too long didn't read🤦 So it cash-on-hand or totally on named assets? If it's total assets.....you throw a stone and it hit someone......That person probably can be considered a millionaire. What's the point? We have seen people dying alone at one room HDB with unit million $$$ cash....Are they helping the whole society? Being rich is not just on monetary terms..... When we say the soup is rich.... Does it mean it has to be expensive? The book is rich in knowledge ..... Must be a bloody expensive book? Edited August 18, 2022 by Atonchia 1 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
mersaylee Hypersonic August 18, 2022 Share August 18, 2022 4 hours ago, Atonchia said: RLDR It's really long..... More than too long didn't read🤦 So it cash-on-hand or totally on named assets? If it's total assets.....you throw a stone and it hit someone......That person probably can be considered a millionaire. What's the point? We have seen people dying alone at one room HDB with unit million $$$ cash....Are they helping the whole society? Being rich is not just on monetary terms..... When we say the soup is rich.... Does it mean it has to be expensive? The book is rich in knowledge ..... Must be a bloody expensive book? Oh please pardon me...as this is so sad to me that i donch understand the chim analogy...the expensively rich soupy book and all...i tink I need the sad guru...i mean Sadhguru to deliver the enlightenment 🙏😁 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator August 19, 2022 Share August 19, 2022 15 hours ago, Rickster said: If it includes a person's primary place of residence and cpf, then yes, many Singaporean will hit it exceed 1m. This report is just another piece of sensational journalism trash when they don't even define the term millionaire. It’s a bait to bring in the real millionaires to setup here a real MasterBait @Jamesc say one 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wt_know Supersonic August 19, 2022 Share August 19, 2022 (edited) 1 minute ago, RadX said: It’s a bait to bring in the real millionaires to setup here a real MasterBait @Jamesc say one real master so the article is not meant for mickey mouse readers … lol Edited August 19, 2022 by Wt_know 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Throttle2 Supersonic August 19, 2022 Share August 19, 2022 Note the key words. Millionaire Multi-millionaire Different big big…..muayhahaha ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...