Cheap and Good Eats

Mercs

  On 7/29/2023 at 1:31 AM, 13177 said:

Can already find many hawker stalls charge for taking extra chilli, tomato sauce and even extra plate etc. 😅

Expand  

So far yet to meet any, some just go with the flow play follow the leader plastic bag charge, so they also charge lor! 🤣

Prior to that, last time where got hear of any extra charge besides the takeway container 😉 inflation lah :D

image.thumb.png.dfa826ba8c7b6add8cd71a12f714f992.png

  On 7/29/2023 at 2:36 AM, Mercs said:

So far yet to meet any, some just go with the flow play follow the leader plastic bag charge, so they also charge lor! 🤣

Prior to that, last time where got hear of any extra charge besides the takeway container 😉 inflation lah :D

image.thumb.png.dfa826ba8c7b6add8cd71a12f714f992.png

Expand  

Maybe now can find many cheapo people who is not 'automatic' and take many packets of chili etc, so also cannot blame hawkers being too calculative and charge customers.

  On 7/29/2023 at 3:00 AM, 13177 said:

Maybe now can find many cheapo people who is not 'automatic' and take many packets of chili etc, so also cannot blame hawkers being too calculative and charge customers.

Expand  

Cheapo people been around all along not only now, just that now given 'green light' to charge.

https://mothership.sg/2023/07/choa-chu-kang-bread-shop-plastic-bag-charge/

Bewildered customer asks why Choa Chu Kang bread shop charges 20¢ per extra plastic bag, shop says it's reasonable

"The reader, who wished to remain anonymous, told Mothership that he visits the shop once in a while to grab a quick breakfast on the way to work.

A few weeks after supermarkets started charging for plastic bags, he noticed that the shop had put up a sign."

image.thumb.png.78acfd603ae2d7439ffbbdf76d877f6a.png

  On 7/29/2023 at 3:17 AM, Mercs said:

Cheapo people been around all along not only now, just that now given 'green light' to charge.

https://mothership.sg/2023/07/choa-chu-kang-bread-shop-plastic-bag-charge/

Bewildered customer asks why Choa Chu Kang bread shop charges 20¢ per extra plastic bag, shop says it's reasonable

"The reader, who wished to remain anonymous, told Mothership that he visits the shop once in a while to grab a quick breakfast on the way to work.

A few weeks after supermarkets started charging for plastic bags, he noticed that the shop had put up a sign."

image.thumb.png.78acfd603ae2d7439ffbbdf76d877f6a.png

Expand  

Quite true. Now officially can charge all they want. 😅 They no scare no business, if you don’t want to pay for the extra items, then go elsewhere to buy lo. They don’t care. 😂

  On 7/29/2023 at 3:33 AM, 13177 said:

Quite true. Now officially can charge all they want. 😅 They no scare no business, if you don’t want to pay for the extra items, then go elsewhere to buy lo. They don’t care. 😂

Expand  

That is why as mentioned earlier, hopefully no extra charge for every item, better for hawkers to just work the cost into the menu price, less dispute/ misunderstanding. Those with extra charges consumers may just boycott and say- its not about the money its the principle. 🤣

Really wanna save the environment or just plain profiteering? 😉

image.thumb.png.14386823f970d6bb8ed60f7f5bf91a36.png

https://www.asiaone.com/singapore/8-durians-over-300-jurong-resident-says-she-was-tricked-man-who-turned-her-door

8 durians for over $300: Jurong resident says she was tricked by salesman at her door

https://stomp.straitstimes.com/singapore-seen/diners-brave-hot-sun-to-queue-for-2-chicken-rice-at-newly-opened-yishun-stall

Diners brave hot sun to queue for $2 chicken rice at newly-opened Yishun stall

https://mustsharenews.com/sengkang-fish-soup/

S$9.50 Fish Soup From Sengkang Stall Comes With 4 Fish Slices, Customer Laments Small Portion

https://sethlui.com/cai-fan-stalls-compete-tampines-singapore-jul-2023/

3 cai fan stalls’ crazy price-drop competition, customers win with $2 set meals

(Food) deals in August 2023. Marked out the cheap ones with ######. Removed the non-food deals too. From this list)

1. Daily 50% off deals at Genki Sushi ######

3. Buy 10 Suntory beers, get 10 free at Don Don Donki

5. 1-for-1 buffet dinner at Seasonal Tastes (U.P. $88)  

8. $64 for 2 high-tea sets at The Marmalade Pantry 

9. 2 dishes for $8.90 at Haidilao ######

10. Buy 2 get 1 free at LiHO if you order via their app ######

11. 1-for-1 Mr Bean Soy Granola snacks (U.P. $2.20) ######

https://stomp.straitstimes.com/singapore-seen/diner-feels-the-pinch-of-inflation-after-8-lunch-of-cheap-ingredients-at-toa-payoh

Diner feels the pinch of inflation after $8 lunch of 'cheap ingredients' at Toa Payoh coffee shop

https://singpromos.com/dining-restaurants-food/buy-1-get-1-free-salted-egg-wrap-at-texas-chicken-spore-outlets-till-8-aug-pay-only-s5-each-269274/

Buy-1-Get-1-Free Salted Egg Wrap at Texas Chicken S’pore outlets till 8 Aug, pay only S$5.25 each

https://singpromos.com/dining-restaurants-food/pizza-hut-spore-giving-free-sides-worth-22-30-when-you-place-an-advance-order-for-9-aug-by-8-aug-2023-269269/

Pizza Hut S’pore giving free sides worth $22.30 when you place an advance order for 9 Aug by 8 Aug 2023

https://singpromos.com/dining-restaurants-food/kfc-spore-has-5-80-pancakes-platter-meal-and-5-80-original-recipe-burger-meal-app-deals-till-11-aug-2023-269252/

KFC S’pore has $5.80 Pancakes Platter Meal and $5.80 Original Recipe Burger Meal App deals till 11 Aug 2023

Here we go again 🤣

https://stomp.straitstimes.com/singapore-seen/diner-says-unreasonable-for-vegetarian-food-stall-in-tampines-to-charge-030-for

Diner says 'unreasonable' for vegetarian food stall in Tampines to charge $0.30 for chilli

Stomper Lee said he visited a coffee shop at Block 823A Tampines Street 81 and bought two packets of food from the vegetarian stall on May 20, at around 8am.

He told Stomp on Thursday (July 27): "I have been eating fried mee hoon for so many years and it's my first time seeing a stall charge $0.30 for chilli.

"It's just normal vegetarian chilli sauce and they also have cut green chilli. When customers want the chilli, the seller will scoop it for you.

"This is very unreasonable and makes customers feel like they are being cheated. The stall should be fined and punished so that they do not illegally overcharge consumers.

"Let me give one example: if you eat nasi lemak and are charged for the chilli, how will you feel?

"I have told the nasi lemak seller before that they better not sell food and close their stall. I also reported them to the authorities, but no action was taken.

"Since 2020 till now, the price of food has increased four to five times, with portions also being reduced. If you ask for more food, they will charge you again. They will tell you it's because rental increased and they will tell you to ask the kopitiam boss.

"It's also very ridiculous that we have to return our own trays after eating and drinking while no one is cleaning the dirty tables."

https://www.asiaone.com/singapore/diners-complaint-about-9-chicken-rice-suntec-city-food-court-divides-netizens

Diner's complaint about $9 chicken rice in Suntec City food court divides netizens

https://singpromos.com/dining-restaurants-food/mr-bean-selling-5-80-set-consisting-of-1-classic-soy-milk-1-classic-beancurd-any-2-pancakes-till-11-aug-2023-269365/

Mr Bean selling $5.80 set consisting of 1 Classic Soy Milk + 1 Classic Beancurd + Any 2 Pancakes till 11 Aug 2023

https://singpromos.com/dining-restaurants-food/cold-storage-selling-haagen-dazs-ice-cream-tubs-at-8-33-each-when-you-buy-three-till-9-aug-2023-269354/

Cold Storage selling Haagen-Dazs ice cream tubs at $8.33 each when you buy three till 9 Aug 2023

https://singpromos.com/dining-restaurants-food/fairprice-selling-live-tiger-prawns-at-19-90-kg-at-selected-outlets-from-4-6-aug-2023-269344/

Fairprice selling live tiger prawns at $19.90/kg at selected outlets from 4 – 6 Aug 2023

https://singpromos.com/dining-restaurants-food/breadtalk-flosss-buns-are-going-at-4-for-s8-at-spore-outlets-till-9-aug-2023-269332/

BreadTalk Flosss buns are going at 4-for-S$8 at S’pore outlets till 9 Aug 2023

https://mustsharenews.com/kacang-puteh-toa-payoh/

Peace Centre Kacang Puteh Seller Moves To Toa Payoh Bus Interchange After Rent-Free Offer Ends

https://www.greatdeals.com.sg/2023/08/06/starbucks-1-for-1-blackpink-drinks-aug-2023

Starbucks S’pore to offer 1-FOR-1 BLACKPINK and SHIOK-ah-ccinos Frappuccino Drinks from Aug 7 – 13

https://singpromos.com/dining-restaurants-food/liho-spore-giving-1-for-1-any-drink-when-you-say-majulahhhhh-for-15-seconds-from-7-11-aug-2023-269422/

LiHO S’pore giving 1-for-1 any drink when you say “Majulahhhhh” for 15 seconds from 7 – 11 Aug 2023

https://singpromos.com/dining-restaurants-food/haagen-dazs-spore-shops-will-be-offering-1-for-1-double-scoops-at-all-outlets-from-7-11-august-2023-269311/

Haagen-Dazs S’pore shops will be offering 1-for-1 double scoops at all outlets from 7 – 11 August 2023

Edited by Mercs

https://mustsharenews.com/milo-glass-explodes/

Glass Of Milo Explodes While Family Dines At Tampines Coffeeshop, Staff Allegedly Refuse To Help

https://singpromos.com/dining-restaurants-food/chir-chir-offering-88-off-2nd-main-item-at-313somerset-and-bugis-junction-on-8-aug-2023-269485/

Chir Chir offering 88% off 2nd main item at 313@Somerset and Bugis Junction on 8 Aug 2023

https://singpromos.com/dining-restaurants-food/barcook-bakery-selling-3-selected-buns-at-5-80-usual-8-10-till-9-aug-2023-269479/

Barcook Bakery selling 3 selected buns at $5.80 (usual $8.10) till 9 Aug 2023

https://singpromos.com/dining-restaurants-food/tuk-tuk-cha-offering-58cents-thai-milk-tea-at-most-outlets-from-8-10-aug-2023-269432/

Tuk Tuk Cha offering 58cents Thai Milk Tea at most outlets from 8 – 10 Aug 2023

Edited by Mercs

https://stomp.straitstimes.com/singapore-seen/would-you-pay-850-for-this-breakfast-at-hong-lim-food-centre

Would you pay $8.50 for this breakfast at Hong Lim Food Centre?

image.png.1d388a6db9638a340c11ea0f6b64f172.png

https://singpromos.com/dining-restaurants-food/famous-amos-spore-selling-200g-cookies-in-a-bag-for-only-5-80-at-all-outlets-on-9-aug-2023-269523/

Famous Amos S’pore selling 200g cookies in a bag for only $5.80 at all outlets on 9 Aug 2023

https://singpromos.com/dining-restaurants-food/7-eleven-spore-has-up-to-45-off-ice-cream-deals-till-15-aug-has-haagen-dazs-cornetto-magnumn-and-more-269512/

7-Eleven S’pore has up to 45% off ice cream deals till 15 Aug, has Haagen Dazs, Cornetto, Magnumn and more

https://singpromos.com/dining-restaurants-food/awfully-chocolates-1-for-1-hei-ice-cream-promotion-returns-from-aug-8-2023-for-a-limited-time-269508/

Awfully Chocolate’s 1-for-1 Hei Ice Cream promotion returns from Aug 8 2023 for a limited time

https://singpromos.com/dining-restaurants-food/3-off-hawker-meal-no-min-spend-required-with-dbs-paylah-on-national-day-9-aug-2023-269291/

$3 off hawker meal (No min. spend required) with DBS PayLah! on National Day 9 Aug 2023

https://singpromos.com/dining-restaurants-food/buy-1-get-1-free-popcorn-chicken-at-texas-chicken-spore-outlets-from-9-16-aug-pay-only-s2-50-each-269458/

Buy-1-Get-1-Free Popcorn Chicken at Texas Chicken S’pore outlets from 9 – 16 Aug, pay only S$2.50 each

https://singpromos.com/dining-restaurants-food/j-co-donuts-selling-half-dozen-donuts-at-9-90-usual-12-30-till-9-aug-2023-269497/

J.CO Donuts selling half-dozen donuts at $9.90 (usual $12.30) till 9 Aug 2023

https://singpromos.com/dining-restaurants-food/godiva-offering-50-off-the-second-soft-serve-at-suntec-outlet-from-9-13-aug-2023-269449/

Godiva offering 50% off the second soft serve at Suntec outlet from 9 – 13 Aug 2023