13177 Hypersonic July 22, 2023 Share July 22, 2023 On 7/22/2023 at 11:30 PM, Mercs said: Didn't know this hawker centre which is not far from old airport road hawker centre is open for breakfast and so many stalls are selling nice foods. Whenever i walked past this hawker centre in the evening, only 2-3 stalls are open and wonder why there is a need to have this hawker centre since old airport rd hawker centre is just nearby. ↡ Advertisement 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mercs Hypersonic July 22, 2023 Author Share July 22, 2023 (edited) On 7/22/2023 at 11:54 PM, 13177 said: Didn't know this hawker centre which is not far from old airport road hawker centre is open for breakfast and so many stalls are selling nice foods. Whenever i walked past this hawker centre in the evening, only 2-3 stalls are open and wonder why there is a need to have this hawker centre since old airport rd hawker centre is just nearby. Me too never heard or been to this HC, just like the rest most would just zoom in straight to the bigger more popular old airport HC. As mentioned in the video it serves the purpose of a morning market for residents nearby. So now we know and food there reasonably priced as well befitting of this thread 'cheap n good eats' next time morning around can go check it out. 😉 Edited July 22, 2023 by Mercs 5 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic July 22, 2023 Share July 22, 2023 On 7/23/2023 at 12:48 AM, Mercs said: Me too never heard or been to this HC, just like the rest most would just zoom in straight to the bigger more popular old airport HC. As mentioned in the video it serves the purpose of a morning market for residents nearby. So now we know and food there reasonably priced as well befitting of this thread 'cheap n good eats' next time morning around can go check it out. 😉 Indeed, can check it out if go there in the morning. I saw this hawker centre whenever i go to this area but don't know the business so good in the morning. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mercs Hypersonic July 23, 2023 Author Share July 23, 2023 (edited) Edited July 23, 2023 by Mercs 5 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mercs Hypersonic July 24, 2023 Author Share July 24, 2023 https://stomp.straitstimes.com/singapore-seen/diner-accepts-pretty-pricey-7-nasi-padang-at-far-east-plaza-until-hearing-what-others Diner accepts 'pretty pricey' $7 nasi padang at Far East Plaza -- until hearing what others paid https://www.asiaone.com/singapore/dont-waste-my-bag-jurong-west-hawker-takes-plastic-bag-back-woman-says-its-very-expensive 'Don't waste my bag': Jurong West hawker takes plastic bag back from woman, says it's very expensive https://singpromos.com/dining-restaurants-food/breadtalk-flosss-buns-are-going-at-6-for-s10-in-celebration-of-23-years-at-spore-outlets-from-25-to-31-july-2023-269047/ BreadTalk Flosss buns are going at 6-for-S$10 in celebration of 23 years at S’pore outlets from 25 to 31 July 2023 https://singpromos.com/dining-restaurants-food/chir-chir-offering-1-for-1-whole-fried-chicken-at-313somerset-and-bugis-junction-till-31-july-2023-269032/ Chir Chir offering 1-for-1 whole fried chicken at 313@Somerset and Bugis Junction till 31 July 2023 https://singpromos.com/dining-restaurants-food/buy-1-get-1-free-texas-chicken-cheese-fries-at-spore-outlets-till-31-july-2023-269037/ Buy-1-Get-1-Free Texas Chicken Cheese Fries at S’pore outlets till 31 July 2023 5 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
PSP415 Supersonic July 24, 2023 Share July 24, 2023 https://www.asiaone.com/singapore/dont-waste-my-bag-jurong-west-hawker-takes-plastic-bag-back-woman-says-its-very-expensive Actually, I do the reverse. If I am planning to drink on the spot, will not ask for plastic bag unless I can't finish and wish to take it home. Then will ask stall holder for a small plastic bag. Thus far, no issue. They happy to oblige. I have seen a clean plastic bag holding a finished drink in the trash bin or on the table, in the days before "Return Own Tray" initiative started. It is a waste. Thanks bro @Mercsfor sharing. Been meaning to ask you, where is your regular or favourite food haunt? Any particular nice makan worth trying? Stay safe and take care. Cheers 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mercs Hypersonic July 24, 2023 Author Share July 24, 2023 On 7/25/2023 at 12:24 AM, PSP415 said: https://www.asiaone.com/singapore/dont-waste-my-bag-jurong-west-hawker-takes-plastic-bag-back-woman-says-its-very-expensive Actually, I do the reverse. If I am planning to drink on the spot, will not ask for plastic bag unless I can't finish and wish to take it home. Then will ask stall holder for a small plastic bag. Thus far, no issue. They happy to oblige. I have seen a clean plastic bag holding a finished drink in the trash bin or on the table, in the days before "Return Own Tray" initiative started. It is a waste. Thanks bro @Mercsfor sharing. Been meaning to ask you, where is your regular or favourite food haunt? Any particular nice makan worth trying? Stay safe and take care. Cheers I do agree with you not to waste, but then again how much is the cost of the 'very expensive' plastic bag as claim by the hawker? 5 or 10cents? Just like the previous episode discussed 10cts per extra chili pack western food stall, hawkers already charging for takeaway container, do we want them to start charging extra for every single item- plastic bag, plastic cutlery, extra chili etc, just work in into menu price. Me the type when I do grocery shopping supermarket or buy anything Guardians Watsons etc, if need plastic bag just pay for it how much more only? 5 10 20 cents extra ... will not purposely bring recycle bag. It's more of convenience on the way by the way thing, use less plastic bag save the environment? Need to use means have to use just not be wasteful about it would suffice, those plastic bags will also recycle to become trash bags = not wasted. Thanks bro @PSP415 for reading, dun really have any regular go to, me go everywhere eat anywhere type, but did mention here before one of my fave is express teppanyaki, so will purposely make a trip there when in the mood. Wisma, Somerset313 - https://www.facebook.com/HeNiu313/ Nex, Jurong Point - https://www.yakiyakibo.com.sg/en/ Take care stay safe have a good week Cheers 🙂 6 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic July 25, 2023 Share July 25, 2023 On 7/25/2023 at 12:24 AM, PSP415 said: https://www.asiaone.com/singapore/dont-waste-my-bag-jurong-west-hawker-takes-plastic-bag-back-woman-says-its-very-expensive Actually, I do the reverse. If I am planning to drink on the spot, will not ask for plastic bag unless I can't finish and wish to take it home. Then will ask stall holder for a small plastic bag. Thus far, no issue. They happy to oblige. I have seen a clean plastic bag holding a finished drink in the trash bin or on the table, in the days before "Return Own Tray" initiative started. It is a waste. Thanks bro @Mercsfor sharing. Been meaning to ask you, where is your regular or favourite food haunt? Any particular nice makan worth trying? Stay safe and take care. Cheers On 7/25/2023 at 1:31 AM, Mercs said: I do agree with you not to waste, but then again how much is the cost of the 'very expensive' plastic bag as claim by the hawker? 5 or 10cents? Just like the previous episode discussed 10cts per extra chili pack western food stall, hawkers already charging for takeaway container, do we want them to start charging extra for every single item- plastic bag, plastic cutlery, extra chili etc, just work in into menu price. Me the type when I do grocery shopping supermarket or buy anything Guardians Watsons etc, if need plastic bag just pay for it how much more only? 5 10 20 cents extra ... will not purposely bring recycle bag. It's more of convenience on the way by the way thing, use less plastic bag save the environment? Need to use means have to use just not be wasteful about it would suffice, those plastic bags will also recycle to become trash bags = not wasted. Thanks bro @PSP415 for reading, dun really have any regular go to, me go everywhere eat anywhere type, but did mention here before one of my fave is express teppanyaki, so will purposely make a trip there when in the mood. Wisma, Somerset313 - https://www.facebook.com/HeNiu313/ Nex, Jurong Point - https://www.yakiyakibo.com.sg/en/ Take care stay safe have a good week Cheers 🙂 Ya lo, how much can one plastic bag cost, those hawkers should already factor in the cost of plastic bags that need to give to every customer when they buy food stuff from them, i don't understand why they even bother if the customer is genuinely taking away the food or not. I don't see the need for the hawkers to get overreacted over one plastic bag. And such practice has been the same for over so many decades, only recently when gahment implemented the charging of plastic bags at supermarkets, then created this anxiety over the use of plastic bag from hawkers/shops operator. 😅 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mercs Hypersonic July 25, 2023 Author Share July 25, 2023 On 7/25/2023 at 8:57 AM, 13177 said: Ya lo, how much can one plastic bag cost, those hawkers should already factor in the cost of plastic bags that need to give to every customer when they buy food stuff from them, i don't understand why they even bother if the customer is genuinely taking away the food or not. I don't see the need for the hawkers to get overreacted over one plastic bag. And such practice has been the same for over so many decades, only recently when gahment implemented the charging of plastic bags at supermarkets, then created this anxiety over the use of plastic bag from hawkers/shops operator. 😅 Simply put ... 7 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mercs Hypersonic July 25, 2023 Author Share July 25, 2023 https://www.greatdeals.com.sg/2023/07/25/fairprice-3-dollar-bento-value-meals FairPrice selling $3 Bento Sets at 28 outlets in S’pore, some comes with Bacon-wrapped Sausage & Corn 6 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mercs Hypersonic July 26, 2023 Author Share July 26, 2023 https://singpromos.com/dining-restaurants-food/58-off-two-pizza-hut-cheesy-7-pizzas-reg-for-takeaway-delivery-orders-till-7-aug-2023-269075/ 58% off Two Pizza Hut Cheesy 7 Pizzas (Reg) for takeaway/delivery orders till 7 Aug 2023 5 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
plumeria_22 1st Gear July 27, 2023 Share July 27, 2023 Wifey and I tried Red Ginger at Causeway Point recently. Not bad and under $20 total. 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mercs Hypersonic July 27, 2023 Author Share July 27, 2023 On 7/25/2023 at 1:31 AM, Mercs said: Just like the previous episode discussed 10cts per extra chili pack western food stall, hawkers already charging for takeaway container, do we want them to start charging extra for every single item- plastic bag, plastic cutlery, extra chili etc, just work it into menu price. @PSP415 bro, yea or nay? 🤣 https://www.asiaone.com/singapore/unreasonable-diner-told-pay-10-cents-extra-chilli-sauce-tampines-hawker-stall 'Unreasonable': Diner told to pay 10 cents for extra chilli sauce at Tampines hawker stall It's all about the money, money, money. Or at least that's how it feels like these days, from hawkers taking back their plastic bags from diners to inflated food prices. A customer was surprised when he wanted more chilli sauce for the French fries he had ordered from a coffee stall in Tampines and was asked to pay $0.10 more per satchet. Stomp contributor Anonymous said the incident happened at the Western food stall at Block 824 Tampines Street 81 on Wednesday (July 26), at around 7.45pm. Anonymous recounted: "I bought a packet of French fries which cost $5 and the stall gave me two small packets of chilli sauce. It was insufficient for my consumption, so I went to the stall to take three more packets of chilli sauce. "However, I was stopped from taking more chilli sauce and was told that they had to charge me for every extra packet of chilli I took." The extra $0.10 fee applies to tomato sauce too. Anonymous, who said it was his first time patronising the stall, added: "It's not really about the amount they charge since it's just ten cents. "But since I have bought already something from them, it's not like I am gonna take the sauce and waste it. It's really for consumption. "I find this unreasonable, plus the food quality was also subpar." The Stomp contributor did not get the extra chilli sauce in the end. https://stomp.straitstimes.com/singapore-seen/is-this-reasonable-tampines-stall-wants-to-charge-customer-for-extra-chilli-sauce 4 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mercs Hypersonic July 27, 2023 Author Share July 27, 2023 https://singpromos.com/dining-restaurants-food/50-off-emerald-hokkaido-scallops-at-ntuc-fairprice-till-30-july-2023-269113/ 50% OFF Emerald Hokkaido Scallops at NTUC FairPrice till 30 July 2023 https://singpromos.com/dining-restaurants-food/long-john-silvers-spore-latest-coupons-lets-you-save-up-to-5-10-valid-till-30-sep-2023-268532/ Long John Silver’s S’pore latest coupons lets you save up to $5.10 valid till 30 Sep 2023 5 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
PSP415 Supersonic July 27, 2023 Share July 27, 2023 On 7/27/2023 at 11:41 PM, Mercs said: @PSP415 bro, yea or nay? 🤣 https://www.asiaone.com/singapore/unreasonable-diner-told-pay-10-cents-extra-chilli-sauce-tampines-hawker-stall 'Unreasonable': Diner told to pay 10 cents for extra chilli sauce at Tampines hawker stall It's all about the money, money, money. Or at least that's how it feels like these days, from hawkers taking back their plastic bags from diners to inflated food prices. A customer was surprised when he wanted more chilli sauce for the French fries he had ordered from a coffee stall in Tampines and was asked to pay $0.10 more per satchet. Stomp contributor Anonymous said the incident happened at the Western food stall at Block 824 Tampines Street 81 on Wednesday (July 26), at around 7.45pm. Anonymous recounted: "I bought a packet of French fries which cost $5 and the stall gave me two small packets of chilli sauce. It was insufficient for my consumption, so I went to the stall to take three more packets of chilli sauce. "However, I was stopped from taking more chilli sauce and was told that they had to charge me for every extra packet of chilli I took." The extra $0.10 fee applies to tomato sauce too. Anonymous, who said it was his first time patronising the stall, added: "It's not really about the amount they charge since it's just ten cents. "But since I have bought already something from them, it's not like I am gonna take the sauce and waste it. It's really for consumption. "I find this unreasonable, plus the food quality was also subpar." The Stomp contributor did not get the extra chilli sauce in the end. https://stomp.straitstimes.com/singapore-seen/is-this-reasonable-tampines-stall-wants-to-charge-customer-for-extra-chilli-sauce Ate at that stall before. They gave me a few packets of chilli sauce which I declined cos I usually have my meals sans sauce, especially for western food. They could have given mine to this guy who needs 5 packets of chilli sauce for his French fries. 😅 Its the standard chilli packets like those from most stalls, similar to MacDonalds so I dun understand his emphasis on 2 small packets of chilli sauce. Reading the article again, it appears that he DID NOT first ask but went ahead to take more packets of chilli sauce. That I feel, is a mistake. The guys manning the stall may have felt that he was rude and being greedy, so purposedly stopped him and told him its 10¢ for each packet. What's his purpose in sharing this? I would politely ask for extra packets of chilli sauce at point of ordering. If I am told its going to cost 10¢ extra apart from standard 2 small packets, I have a choice to cancel order, proceed with order but tell the guy, alamak, please add 2 more packets free lah, cos there are ppl who dun need. Besides, boss where got count packets of chilli sauce. Or pay lor. Then complain on stomp. 😂😂😂😂Nope. I will not cos its my choice to accept the extra charge. On hindsight, maybe next time I will show the guys this article and ask for discount of 20¢ cos I no take the chilli sauce. I have a strange feeling that they were annoyed that that guy simply took the extra chilli sauce without asking and was stopped. I know, you will pay hor? 😂😂😂 Or maybe not cos you brought along a bottle of chilli sauce liao. I jest. Share your thoughts too. Stay safe, keep well and have 2 chilli packets in pocket, I mean, eat well. Yada-ing happily with you. 👍 Cheers 2 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mercs Hypersonic July 27, 2023 Author Share July 27, 2023 On 7/28/2023 at 12:26 AM, PSP415 said: Ate at that stall before. They gave me a few packets of chilli sauce which I declined cos I usually have my meals sans sauce, especially for western food. They could have given mine to this guy who needs 5 packets of chilli sauce for his French fries. 😅 Its the standard chilli packets like those from most stalls, similar to MacDonalds so I dun understand his emphasis on 2 small packets of chilli sauce. Reading the article again, it appears that he DID NOT first ask but went ahead to take more packets of chilli sauce. That I feel, is a mistake. The guys manning the stall may have felt that he was rude and being greedy, so purposedly stopped him and told him its 10¢ for each packet. What's his purpose in sharing this? I would politely ask for extra packets of chilli sauce at point of ordering. If I am told its going to cost 10¢ extra apart from standard 2 small packets, I have a choice to cancel order, proceed with order but tell the guy, alamak, please add 2 more packets free lah, cos there are ppl who dun need. Besides, boss where got count packets of chilli sauce. Or pay lor. Then complain on stomp. 😂😂😂😂Nope. I will not cos its my choice to accept the extra charge. On hindsight, maybe next time I will show the guys this article and ask for discount of 20¢ cos I no take the chilli sauce. I have a strange feeling that they were annoyed that that guy simply took the extra chilli sauce without asking and was stopped. I know, you will pay hor? 😂😂😂 Or maybe not cos you brought along a bottle of chilli sauce liao. I jest. Share your thoughts too. Stay safe, keep well and have 2 chilli packets in pocket, I mean, eat well. Yada-ing happily with you. 👍 Cheers For me so far no issue when I do western takeaway and ask for more chili, i always ask politely never rejected. That guy paid $5 if it's just the normal type fries must be a bigger packet to share with family so maybe 2 packs chili really no enough? So understandable, to put in context normal size pack fries for one me also at least 2 pack chili, 3 would be better. Concur with you probably the approach of just take without asking first deem rude so was told about the extra charge. My thoughts simple, if really yummy food got extra charge chili packs i would pay if i need just 20 or 30cts more no biggie, If just average food i also no return no need talk about any extra chili pack cost. Take care stay safe 👍🏻 always happy to yada with you too. 🤣 Cheers 5 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mercs Hypersonic July 28, 2023 Author Share July 28, 2023 https://www.asiaone.com/singapore/daylight-robbery-man-gets-only-4-slices-fish-10-soup-king-grouper-fish-soup 'Daylight robbery': Man gets only 4 slices of fish in $10 soup from King Grouper Fish Soup https://www.asiaone.com/singapore/he-moderates-me-diner-bowled-over-when-amoy-street-food-centre-hawker-stops-him-ordering-every-side-dish 'He moderates for me': Diner bowled over when Amoy Street hawker stops him from ordering every side dish https://singpromos.com/dining-restaurants-food/godiva-spore-selling-soft-serves-at-2-for-s16-at-all-spore-outlets-till-31-july-2023-269144/ Godiva selling soft serves at 2-for-S$16 at all S’pore outlets till 31 July 2023 https://singpromos.com/dining-restaurants-food/kfc-spore-offering-3-6pcs-nuggets-10-50-value-breakfast-and-more-weekend-deals-till-30-jul-2023-267831/ KFC S’pore offering $3 6pcs Nuggets, $10.50 value breakfast and more weekend deals till 30 Jul 2023 https://singpromos.com/dining-restaurants-food/save-up-to-53-with-burger-king-spore-latest-16-new-ecoupon-deals-valid-till-1-oct-2023-268514/ Save up to 53% with Burger King S’pore latest 16 new ecoupon deals valid till 1 Oct 2023 https://singpromos.com/dining-restaurants-food/ippudo-offering-1-for-1-all-ramen-at-mohamed-sultan-outlet-on-saturday-29-july-2023-269166/ IPPUDO offering 1-for-1 all ramen at Mohamed Sultan outlet on Saturday, 29 July 2023 https://singpromos.com/dining-restaurants-food/wingstop-spore-selling-8pc-louisiana-rub-boneless-wings-for-s7-20-on-29-july-2023-269080/ Wingstop S’pore selling 8pc Louisiana Rub Boneless Wings for S$7.20 on 29 July 2023 5 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic July 29, 2023 Share July 29, 2023 On 7/27/2023 at 11:41 PM, Mercs said: @PSP415 bro, yea or nay? 🤣 https://www.asiaone.com/singapore/unreasonable-diner-told-pay-10-cents-extra-chilli-sauce-tampines-hawker-stall 'Unreasonable': Diner told to pay 10 cents for extra chilli sauce at Tampines hawker stall It's all about the money, money, money. Or at least that's how it feels like these days, from hawkers taking back their plastic bags from diners to inflated food prices. A customer was surprised when he wanted more chilli sauce for the French fries he had ordered from a coffee stall in Tampines and was asked to pay $0.10 more per satchet. Stomp contributor Anonymous said the incident happened at the Western food stall at Block 824 Tampines Street 81 on Wednesday (July 26), at around 7.45pm. Anonymous recounted: "I bought a packet of French fries which cost $5 and the stall gave me two small packets of chilli sauce. It was insufficient for my consumption, so I went to the stall to take three more packets of chilli sauce. "However, I was stopped from taking more chilli sauce and was told that they had to charge me for every extra packet of chilli I took." The extra $0.10 fee applies to tomato sauce too. Anonymous, who said it was his first time patronising the stall, added: "It's not really about the amount they charge since it's just ten cents. "But since I have bought already something from them, it's not like I am gonna take the sauce and waste it. It's really for consumption. "I find this unreasonable, plus the food quality was also subpar." The Stomp contributor did not get the extra chilli sauce in the end. https://stomp.straitstimes.com/singapore-seen/is-this-reasonable-tampines-stall-wants-to-charge-customer-for-extra-chilli-sauce Can already find many hawker stalls charge for taking extra chilli, tomato sauce and even extra plate etc. 😅 ↡ Advertisement 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...