Mercs Hypersonic September 2, 2022 Author Share September 2, 2022 On 8/24/2022 at 10:18 PM, Mercs said: Same here, but I'm a picky eater, any random cai png won't cut it for me, my all time fave - http://thefoodchapter.blogspot.com/2016/04/jing-shu-shi-curry-rice-tanglin-halt.html Or these - https://danielfooddiary.com/2022/03/20/looshainanese/ https://www.timeout.com/singapore/news/beo-crescent-curry-rice-close-081222 @Starry https://eatbook.sg/tian-tian-curry-rice/ Tian Tian Hainanese Curry Rice Review: Famous Redhill Hawker Stall That Has Been Around Since 1973 ↡ Advertisement 7 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Brass 6th Gear September 5, 2022 Share September 5, 2022 (edited) On 9/1/2022 at 9:10 PM, Mercs said: Thanks for sharing 👍🏻maybe can add on details like stall name address or a pic for those keen 🙂 I dont know the stall name, but here are some pics of the place and the bananas. Edited September 5, 2022 by Brass Photos are quite potato, please don't mind them. 5 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mercs Hypersonic September 5, 2022 Author Share September 5, 2022 7 hours ago, Brass said: I dont know the stall name, but here are some pics of the place and the bananas. Nice pics, should be easy to find with the stall pic, thanks for posting 👍🏻 5 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mercs Hypersonic September 5, 2022 Author Share September 5, 2022 https://www.burpple.com/f/foW7Wwgj The nasi lemak special has everything on one plate. It comes with chicken wing 🍗, selar fish 🐟, egg 🥚, ikan bilis with peanuts 🥜, cucumber 🥒 and sambal chilli 🌶️. The rice 🍚 is infused with coconut 🥥 fragrance and aroma. Chicken wings 🍗 are well marinated and deep-fried till crispy on the outside and juicy inside. The selar fish 🐟 was well seasoned and bigger than the usuals we get elsewhere. Last but not least, the sambal 🌶️ was good, not too spicy and leans more to the sweet side. This really gives you the bang for your buck 💰 with a generous portion of ingredients for just $3.50! I even topped an extra begedil 🥔 to make it a whole hearty brunch on a weekend 😍 Azme Corner Nasi Lemak (122 Bedok North Street 2) 5 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mercs Hypersonic September 5, 2022 Author Share September 5, 2022 (edited) https://eatbook.sg/nian-nian-fa-dim-sum/ Nian Nian Fa Dim Sum Review: $1.10 Dim Sum From Hong Kong Chef With Over 40 Years Of Experience Opening hours: Daily 6am to 4pm Address: 527 Ang Mo Kio Avenue 10, #01-121, Cheng San Market and Cooked Food Centre https://m.facebook.com/eatbooksg/videos/cheap-dim-sum-in-ang-mo-kio/717910759633446/ Edited September 5, 2022 by Mercs 7 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mercs Hypersonic September 5, 2022 Author Share September 5, 2022 https://www.misstamchiak.com/chang-ji-gourmet/ Chang Ji Gourmet Address: 335 Smith Street, #02-110 Chinatown Complex Market & Food Centre Opening Hours: 6am to 1pm daily, Closed on Mon and Tues Google review (2 months ago) - Expect a long queue as this hawker stall is very popular. On the menu are only fried bee hoon, fried noodles (yellow noodles) and fish & peanuts porridge. The majority of the customers order a plate of fried bee hoon or noodles with bowl of Porridge as the portions are not big. However at $1.20 each, the cost of for both is only $2.40, which is very reasonable. It is the delicious "old school" flavor that keeps people coming back for more. Two thumbs 👍 👍 up. 6 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mercs Hypersonic September 5, 2022 Author Share September 5, 2022 Hong Kong Mongkok Tim Sum (香港旺角点心) Blk 335 Smith Street, Chinatown Complex Market #02-097 Opening Hours: (Wed – Sun) 11 am – Sold Out, Closed on Mon & Tues 5 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mercs Hypersonic September 5, 2022 Author Share September 5, 2022 https://www.misstamchiak.com/xiao-chen-homemade-bao-dian/ Xiao Chen Homemade Bao Dian – $1.90 Dim Sum in Kopitiam Address: Blk 68 Kallang Bahru, Singapore 330068 Opening Hours: 7am to 8pm, closed on alternate Wednesdays Google review (6 months ago) - 6dishes for about $12. Affordable. Must try the Cheecheongfun, Siew Mai and Har Gaw. The rest not so worth to try. We ordered pork rib/chicken feet/Liu sa Bao is below average. 5 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mercs Hypersonic September 5, 2022 Author Share September 5, 2022 https://theindependent.sg/even-a-primary-2-student-will-find-this-portion-tiny-its-not-about-inflation-such-practice-has-been-around-for-years/ Woman shared photo of $6.90 fishball noodles, says, ‘Even a Primary 2 student will find this portion tiny’ 2 2 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mercs Hypersonic September 5, 2022 Author Share September 5, 2022 https://theindependent.sg/s5-80-malay-chicken-curry-rice-veggies-happy-customer-says-its-possible-to-keep-prices-low-stop-using-inflation-excuse-to-increase-food-price/ S$5.80 Malay chicken curry rice + veggies’ — happy customer says it’s possible to keep prices low & stop using inflation excuse to increase food price As a food & beverage owner himself, he urged others in the business to “stop the bull**** using inflation and increased cost of food from suppliers as your excuses to make profits.” 5 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mercs Hypersonic September 7, 2022 Author Share September 7, 2022 https://www.asiaone.com/singapore/chicken-rice-soul-jalan-besar-hawker-gives-generous-portions-cleaner Chicken rice for the soul? Jalan Besar hawker gives generous portions to cleaner #01-06 166 Jln Besar 10:30am–8pm Google review (a month ago) - Food 5/5 Service 5/5 Price 5/5 Overall 5/5 The steamed pandan rice here is very flavorful and soft. Chicken is also tender and not overcooked. However there may be some spots that appear bloody at times, which do not bother me. Store owner is very friendly. At times offers to send the meal to your table if you are sitting nearby and if he is not busy. Cost $3 per plate. Used to be $2.50, but given the inflation of ingredients, it is understandable for $3 per plate now. Overall a pleasant meal here, will definitely return again. 6 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mercs Hypersonic September 7, 2022 Author Share September 7, 2022 https://www.asiaone.com/singapore/chicken-rice-stall-owner-toa-payoh-bemoans-2000-rent-hike-still-offers-help-those-need Chicken rice stall owner in Toa Payoh bemoans $2,000 rent hike, but still offers help to those in need 206 Toa Payoh N, #01-1197 Opening Hours : Monday to Saturday: open from 8.30am (time may vary) and till 8pm (time may vary) or till SOLD OUT. Every Sunday and public holiday off. https://www.facebook.com/pohkeechickenrice This is not a promotion. As I do not like any students who have to starve during breaks cos they do not have enough pocket money to buy food as all prices everywhere has increased, we will sell our food at special student pricing of $3 (or lower, case by case) for students. Pls bring along your student passes, and I hope the rest of the ppl do not abuse our movement. Thos who have difficulties paying full price for their food may approach us also. We promise to be discreet. Pls dun abuse this, I need to make a living too...many thanks! Michael Poh Poh Kee Chicken Rice 8 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mercs Hypersonic September 7, 2022 Author Share September 7, 2022 https://www.asiaone.com/singapore/my-mother-not-colour-blind-woman-complains-dishonest-hawker-cursed-and-did-not-return My mother is not colour blind': Woman complains 'dishonest' hawker cursed at and did not return change to mum 3 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mercs Hypersonic September 7, 2022 Author Share September 7, 2022 Day Night Fried Kway Teow 日夜炒粿条 163 Bukit Merah Central, #02-41 9:30am–5:30pm Thursday Closed 6 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mercs Hypersonic September 7, 2022 Author Share September 7, 2022 (edited) Edited September 7, 2022 by Mercs 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic September 8, 2022 Share September 8, 2022 9 hours ago, Mercs said: https://www.asiaone.com/singapore/my-mother-not-colour-blind-woman-complains-dishonest-hawker-cursed-and-did-not-return My mother is not colour blind': Woman complains 'dishonest' hawker cursed at and did not return change to mum Such thing difficult to argue unless got CCTV to show what has happened actually. The hawker might really did not return change, or the ah ma really forgotten she really give the correct amount but insisted that she gave other amount? 😅 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mercs Hypersonic September 8, 2022 Author Share September 8, 2022 11 hours ago, 13177 said: Such thing difficult to argue unless got CCTV to show what has happened actually. The hawker might really did not return change, or the ah ma really forgotten she really give the correct amount but insisted that she gave other amount? 😅 Haha, could be simply case of forgetfulness or tiredness, hawkers work long hours daily sure bound to make mistake at times when too busy or tired. Also happened to me too few times, one time paid early but when my food ready hawker say never pay yet insist I pay again, another time paid with 10 note hawker say only paid with 5, other times return me with less change etc. Vice versa, at times also receive extra more change when hawker calculate wrongly, I will inform and return the extra back to them, also encounter before some nice hawkers for no reason give me free kopi or extra portion extra ingredients no extra cost etc 😄 As you said no CCTV only can I say they say, few dollars more less small money no need stress over, just give and take, whether intentional or otherwise only those involved will know, if preceived to be so just avoid no more return they lose your business forever 😉 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mercs Hypersonic September 9, 2022 Author Share September 9, 2022 One of the best soup version BCM, enjoy while still lasts. https://sethlui.com/58-minced-meat-mee-closure-bedok-singapore-sep-2022/ Bedok’s 58 Minced Meat Mee will be serving its last bowl of bak chor mee on 30 Sep 2022 Google (3 weeks ago) - Dropped by The marketplace@58 to taste the soup version of this well-loved minced pork noodle. This stall, many have since declared this is possibly the best Bak Chor Mee soupy version in Singapore. With just one item in the menu Soupy Minced Pork Noodles, your choices are Mee Kia, Mee Pok and Kway Teow. I read somewhere that their signature Mee Kia is having a vendor specifically made for them, so the OG here is get the Mee Kia. Your other choice is the size. Kudos for keeping food cheap and affordable for the senior folks here, and prices start from $3 (a rarity these days), $3.50 and the largest $4. They cook their specialty noodles one bowl at a time. That means, be ready for a long wait. I arrived for late lunch at 12.40, behind a queue of 13, and took me 40 minutes to get my bowl of noodles. Not too bad. Sat down and tucked in. Firstly, the soup. It's a mixed symphony of flavours. The base is pork bone soup, then they added a lot of fried garlic, and fried pork lard bits, lastly cook and blanch fatty mince pork bits and serve that on your noodles. So the soups hits you like a garlicky, fatty pork broth with chewy and crispy floating bits of porky goodness. If you're watching your calorie count this is not for you. I only slurped and counted fatty minced pork, no lean chewy bits here. Also, $4 is quite a hearty bowl and it gets you five plump porky Wantons that's steeped with fried Solefish or Teepo. Flavourful between your chewy QQ Mee Kia bites. Do add in some fresh red cut chillies with Teochew fish sauce to spite the flavours so it does not get too jerlat. Come try this, you need this. ↡ Advertisement 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...