Cheap and Good Eats

Mercs

https://stomp.straitstimes.com/singapore-seen/womans-hairs-stand-on-end-after-seeing-dirty-brushes-with-insects-at-wok-hey-sfa

Woman's hairs stand on end after seeing dirty brushes with insects at Wok Hey, SFA investigating

https://singpromos.com/dining-restaurants-food/umisushi-spore-brings-back-1-sushi-deal-on-thursdays-at-most-outlets-till-4-may-2023-266734/

Umisushi S’pore brings back $1 sushi deal on Thursdays at most outlets till 4 May 2023

image.thumb.png.8f0f61c6d7ce18c3720bb5ca14a93ede.png

https://www.greatdeals.com.sg/2023/04/20/fairprice-1-for-1-cornetto-offer-apr-2023

FairPrice 1-FOR-1 on Cornetto Cones including Hershey’s Flavour till Apr 26 means you pay only $1.20 each

image.thumb.png.ebde6b322d04ad27fcb56c6f32ddb8e4.png

Edited by Mercs

On 4/18/2023 at 2:41 PM, Mercs said:

https://sethlui.com/king-of-chicken-rice-shenton-food-hall-singapore-apr-2023/

KING of Chicken Rice opens in CBD, selling $1.50 chicken rice sets until 20 Apr 2023

Expand  

https://theindependent.sg/man-queues-for-45-minutes-to-buy-24-boxes-of-chicken-rice-during-special-1-50-offer/

Man queues for 45 minutes to buy 24 boxes of chicken rice during special $1.50 offer

image.thumb.png.4f4dff3ba2e017bcea9a6ff3ffd99bd5.png

https://theindependent.sg/toast-box-gonna-bankrupt-us-peasants-high-prices-of-laksa-curry-shock-netizens/

‘Toast Box gonna bankrupt us peasants…’ — High prices of laksa, curry, shock netizens

image.thumb.png.9c62aa1f438b71c3c2f76fb7f282e1ff.png

https://theindependent.sg/netizen-shares-tip-on-how-not-to-pay-too-much-at-cai-png-stalls/

Netizen shares tip on how not to pay too much at cai png stalls

@Mercs 

https://stomp.straitstimes.com/singapore-seen/womans-hairs-stand-on-end-after-seeing-dirty-brushes-with-insects-at-wok-hey-sfa

Woman's hairs stand on end after seeing dirty brushes with insects at Wok Hey, SFA investigating

I believe those F&B stalls when they are closed for business, sure to have some insects etc appear at the stall which we dont know. This is why the stall operator must wash all the things before they open for business.

Even at home when we keep all those plates, bowls and pot inside the cabinet, you never know if any lizard or even cockroach crawl on them. So better to rinse them before using.

On 4/20/2023 at 2:47 PM, 13177 said:

@Mercs 

I believe those F&B stalls when they are closed for business, sure to have some insects etc appear at the stall which we dont know. This is why the stall operator must wash all the things before they open for business.

Even at home when we keep all those plates, bowls and pot inside the cabinet, you never know if any lizard or even cockroach crawl on them. So better to rinse them before using.

Expand  

Agreed, cookware after use if left unattended sure to attract insects etc, as long as b4 use again must ensure wash clean should be fine.

Can't be avoided in our tropical climate, sure to have roaches lizards rats roaming around and under f&b premises, just that we dun see, no mean no have. 

As the saying goes ... dirty eat dirty big :D so no worries we all NS trained, drink river water eat with mess tin with dirt sand also still survive! 🤣🤣🤣

On 4/20/2023 at 3:37 PM, Mercs said:

Agreed, cookware after use if left unattended sure to attract insects etc, as long as b4 use again must ensure wash clean should be fine.

Can't be avoided in our tropical climate, sure to have roaches lizards rats roaming around and under f&b premises, just that we dun see, no mean no have. 

As the saying goes ... dirty eat dirty big :D so no worries we all NS trained, drink river water eat with mess tin with dirt sand also still survive! 🤣🤣🤣

Expand  

Even though many say dirty eat dirty big, a person still can survive. But as saying goes also, disease enters by the mouth and trouble comes out of the mouth. Esp when we are aging, better to be more careful what we eat and personal hygiene is very important when comes to food lo.

  On 4/21/2023 at 1:10 AM, 13177 said:

Even though many say dirty eat dirty big, a person still can survive. But as saying goes also, disease enters by the mouth and trouble comes out of the mouth. Esp when we are aging, better to be more careful what we eat and personal hygiene is very important when comes to food lo.

Expand  

Definitely, all f&b should maintain a certain hygiene standard, we living in 1st not 3rd world country. If eat dirty food fall sick have to suffer few days recovery no fun. But when food got insect they say is veggie then how? 🤣🤣🤣

https://mustsharenews.com/caterpillar-cai-png-bedok/

Woman Finds Caterpillar In Cai Png From Bedok Kopitiam, Says She Lost Her Appetite

https://www.asiaone.com/singapore/fly-eggs-kimchi-its-part-cabbage-root-says-yishun-restaurant-after-diners-complaint

Fly eggs on kimchi? It's part of cabbage root, says Yishun restaurant after diner's complaint

https://mustsharenews.com/wearing-masks-food-handlers/

Workers At 43 Eateries Found Not Wearing Masks Or Spit Guards, SFA Issues Written Warnings

Edited by Mercs
Add

https://www.asiaone.com/singapore/no-wonder-no-one-queue-diner-bemoans-paying-1150-economy-rice-says-he-missed-red-flag

'No wonder no one queue': Diner bemoans paying $11.50 for economy rice, says he missed that red flag

https://www.greatdeals.com.sg/2023/04/25/eighteen-chefs-1-for-1-set-meal-promotion-apr-2023

Eighteen Chefs has 1-FOR-1 Mains with Drinks for $16.80 nett during weekdays at most outlets, even has a steak dish

image.thumb.png.1feb950e8f053ea4a7f967d23bbcb56f.png

https://www.greatdeals.com.sg/2023/04/24/crystal-jade-reopening-promotion-takashimaya

Crystal Jade Hong Kong Kitchen reopening Takashimaya outlet with 50% OFF Food Bill from Apr 26 – 28

image.thumb.png.e6bed8b12810d5eb94047061f4ab7582.png

https://www.greatdeals.com.sg/2023/04/25/fairprice-shaw-plaza-haagen-dazs-2-for-2-scoops

FairPrice Shaw Plaza has Buy 2 Get 2 FREE Haagen-Dazs Scoops Promotion during weekdays till 5pm

image.thumb.png.56adba41c284c6e79eff44d34fa1e77f.png

On 4/26/2023 at 11:50 AM, mersaylee said:

I miss that 2.50 BCM...prefer the man (presumably the woman's husband) who is less zealous on salt than her...

Expand  

2.50 BCM where to find ... some more cook in claypot hot hot eat very shiok ... enjoy! :D

No more Chicken bag ... 😞

https://mustsharenews.com/texas-chicken-staff-cries/

Texas Chicken Staff Allegedly Cries From Stress Due To Customers’ Exclusive Chicken Bag Queries

Duck bag can? :D LOL

https://mustsharenews.com/ah-xiao-braised-duck-bags/

Beach Road Braised Duck Stall Giving Away Duck Bags With Minimum Spend, Inspired By Texas Chicken

image.thumb.png.181ab468f913583263724b1f85e86b80.png

  On 4/26/2023 at 12:04 PM, Mercs said:

No more Chicken bag ... 😞

https://mustsharenews.com/texas-chicken-staff-cries/

Texas Chicken Staff Allegedly Cries From Stress Due To Customers’ Exclusive Chicken Bag Queries

Expand  

"Usman also clarified that none of the customers was rude or scolding the staff member. He shared that it may have been due to a lack of experience that caused her to feel stressed out."

Sometimes I wonder is it because the Gen-Zs grew up with mobile where their mode of communication is mostly texting, and hence now find it hard to handle face to face queries/communication from customers.

Edited by Starry

On 4/26/2023 at 12:18 PM, Starry said:

"Usman also clarified that none of the customers was rude or scolding the staff member. He shared that it may have been due to a lack of experience that caused her to feel stressed out."

Sometimes I wonder is it because the Gen-Zs grew up with mobile where their mode of communication is mostly texting, and hence now find it hard to handle face to face queries/communication from customers.

Expand  

Probably due to stress with the overwhelming demand and crowd, with some Q-ing for hours to only be informed no more stock.

"Gen-Zs mode of communication is mostly texting", i also wonder if they do this for happy time? 🤣🤣🤣

On 4/26/2023 at 12:18 PM, Starry said:

Expand  

I think F&B staff must be train to how to handle customers, maybe nowadays F&B staff are not being trained on this area. 

https://www.asiaone.com/singapore/its-really-disgusting-netizen-finds-mould-and-hairy-inner-layer-82-box-awfully-chocolate

'It's really disgusting': Netizen finds mould and hairy inner layer in $82 box of Awfully Chocolate product

https://www.asiaone.com/singapore/someone-deliberately-played-tricks-hawkers-refute-diners-accusations-cockroaches

'Someone deliberately played tricks': Hawkers refute diners' accusations of cockroaches infesting Beauty World Food Centre

https://mustsharenews.com/wingstop-free-chicken-hack/

S’pore TikTokers Allegedly Find Free Chicken Hack At Wingstop, Restaurant Chain Denies Promo