Stary Turbocharged April 11, 2023 Share April 11, 2023 (edited) After eating for quite awhile at JB restaurants , now I feel extremely imbalance for every dollar of meals I pay in SG. It's not just about price differences, but also the quality of the serving and the food. If it is just prices differences, I think I can certainly live with that. But no, those folks across the causeway serves better food, better quality, better taste, and ridiculous choices of varieties. Add in the much lower price, and I am starting to feel silly. I think I need a transition and re-adaptation time......😅 Edited April 11, 2023 by Starry ↡ Advertisement 2 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mercs Hypersonic April 12, 2023 Author Share April 12, 2023 https://stomp.straitstimes.com/singapore-seen/overpriced-man-pays-680-for-salad-that-looks-nothing-like-photo-on-menu Overpriced? Man pays $6.80 for salad that looks nothing like photo on menu 5 1 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mercs Hypersonic April 13, 2023 Author Share April 13, 2023 https://sethlui.com/special-chilli-yong-tau-foo-singapore/ Special Chilli Yong Tau Foo: Affordable YTF at $0.50 a piece, opens for only 4.5 hours a day https://stomp.straitstimes.com/singapore-seen/customer-screams-at-hotpot-stall-worker-in-jurong-west-coffee-shop-complains-of Customer 'screams' at Jurong West hotpot stall worker over expensive ingredients https://www.asiaone.com/singapore/improperly-handled-chicken-sengkang-hawker-ruffles-diners-feathers Improperly-handled chicken from Sengkang hawker ruffles diner's feathers https://www.greatdeals.com.sg/2023/04/12/tamjai-samgor-1-for-1-mixian-apr-2023 Tamjai Samgor 譚仔三哥 brings back 1-FOR-1 Mixian Promotion every Wed till Apr 26, has more outlets & timings 6 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mercs Hypersonic April 13, 2023 Author Share April 13, 2023 5 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mercs Hypersonic April 13, 2023 Author Share April 13, 2023 On 4/11/2023 at 9:21 AM, SGMCF328 said: Anyone tried this $1 nasi lemak before? Look old school type (yummy) and very similar to those sold across the causeway. If you think the iconic Ananas $2 nasi lemak is a steal, Kedai Makan Muhajirin in Toa Payoh would like to have a word. The stall offers a no-frills nasi lemak set with your choice of ikan kuning AKA fried anchovies, or ikan bilis with peanuts. To get the best of both worlds, just top up $0.50. Fun fact: they’ve been selling $1 nasi lemak for 36 years running. Inflation, who? Address: Block 20 Toa Payoh, Lorong 7 Coffeeshop, Stall 3, Singapore 310020 Opening hours: Tue-Sat 6am-1pm | Sun 6am-12pm (Closed on Mondays) Contact: 8868 4013 (WhatsApp) 5 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kopites Supersonic April 13, 2023 Share April 13, 2023 On 4/13/2023 at 7:54 PM, Mercs said: https://sethlui.com/special-chilli-yong-tau-foo-singapore/ Special Chilli Yong Tau Foo: Affordable YTF at $0.50 a piece, opens for only 4.5 hours a day https://stomp.straitstimes.com/singapore-seen/customer-screams-at-hotpot-stall-worker-in-jurong-west-coffee-shop-complains-of Customer 'screams' at Jurong West hotpot stall worker over expensive ingredients https://www.asiaone.com/singapore/improperly-handled-chicken-sengkang-hawker-ruffles-diners-feathers Improperly-handled chicken from Sengkang hawker ruffles diner's feathers https://www.greatdeals.com.sg/2023/04/12/tamjai-samgor-1-for-1-mixian-apr-2023 Tamjai Samgor 譚仔三哥 brings back 1-FOR-1 Mixian Promotion every Wed till Apr 26, has more outlets & timings I am not sure this restaurant any relation to the Hong Kong's Tam Jai? 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mercs Hypersonic April 13, 2023 Author Share April 13, 2023 On 4/13/2023 at 8:30 PM, Kopites said: I am not sure this restaurant any relation to the Hong Kong's Tam Jai? https://www.tjsamgor.com/sg/about/ About SamGor TamJai SamGor Mixian brand is a fast casual restaurant chain in Hong Kong with operations in Singapore. Our brand has over 12 years of history and the first restaurant under the TamJai SamGor Mixian brand in Hong Kong was opened in 2008. In 2020, we opened our first restaurant under our brand in Singapore. 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kopites Supersonic April 13, 2023 Share April 13, 2023 On 4/13/2023 at 8:38 PM, Mercs said: https://www.tjsamgor.com/sg/about/ About SamGor TamJai SamGor Mixian brand is a fast casual restaurant chain in Hong Kong with operations in Singapore. Our brand has over 12 years of history and the first restaurant under the TamJai SamGor Mixian brand in Hong Kong was opened in 2008. In 2020, we opened our first restaurant under our brand in Singapore. Abby choi in law? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mercs Hypersonic April 17, 2023 Author Share April 17, 2023 https://stomp.straitstimes.com/singapore-seen/man-appalled-by-15-cai-png-from-novena-food-court-says-he-was-scolded-for-wanting Man appalled by $15 cai png from Novena food court, says he was 'scolded' for wanting receipt 5 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mercs Hypersonic April 17, 2023 Author Share April 17, 2023 6 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mercs Hypersonic April 18, 2023 Author Share April 18, 2023 https://www.asiaone.com/singapore/15-cai-fan-miscalculation-koufu-says-after-diner-asked-why-vegetables-cost-more-meat-velocity-novena-square $15 'cai fan' a miscalculation, Koufu says after diner asked why vegetables cost more than meat https://sethlui.com/king-of-chicken-rice-shenton-food-hall-singapore-apr-2023/ KING of Chicken Rice opens in CBD, selling $1.50 chicken rice sets until 20 Apr 2023 https://www.8days.sg/eatanddrink/hawkerfood/nus-uni-grad-opens-traditional-malay-muslim-cuisine-250-shop-772911 NUS Double Degree Grad Serves $2.50 Malay Dishes To “Help Older Folks & Needy Families” Who Frequent Her Hawker Stall 7 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic April 18, 2023 Share April 18, 2023 On 4/18/2023 at 10:41 PM, Mercs said: https://www.asiaone.com/singapore/15-cai-fan-miscalculation-koufu-says-after-diner-asked-why-vegetables-cost-more-meat-velocity-novena-square $15 'cai fan' a miscalculation, Koufu says after diner asked why vegetables cost more than meat Only when customer complain in social media, then Koufu says it was a miscalculation. If the customer is those who is not well verse with social media or 'chin chye' type, dont know how many miscalculations will continue to happen. 🙄 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mercs Hypersonic April 18, 2023 Author Share April 18, 2023 On 4/18/2023 at 10:51 PM, 13177 said: Only when customer complain in social media, then Koufu says it was a miscalculation. If the customer is those who is not well verse with social media or 'chin chye' type, dont know how many miscalculations will continue to happen. 🙄 Haha, nowadays eat cai png must ask price first for each individual dish before confirm order, cannot anyhow just point and point and expect reasonable price. Anyway no matter how to look at it, to eat this common food cai png single pax $15 is ridiculous, unless it's some atas area like MBS or Orchard where they charge tourist pricing. 🤣 5 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic April 18, 2023 Share April 18, 2023 On 4/18/2023 at 11:08 PM, Mercs said: Haha, nowadays eat cai png must ask price first for each individual dish before confirm order, cannot anyhow just point and point and expect reasonable price. Anyway no matter how to look at it, to eat this common food cai png single pax $15 is ridiculous, unless it's some atas area like MBS or Orchard where they charge tourist pricing. 🤣 If must ask price first before confirm order for every dish, then high chance would get scolding from the seller. 😅 You see sometimes when you take a bit long to order the dish, the seller would tsk at you or impatient liao. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mercs Hypersonic April 18, 2023 Author Share April 18, 2023 On 4/18/2023 at 11:38 PM, 13177 said: If must ask price first before confirm order for every dish, then high chance would get scolding from the seller. 😅 You see sometimes when you take a bit long to order the dish, the seller would tsk at you or impatient liao. Some seller nice will tell the price first when you order more expensive dish, while others just keep quiet waiting to carrot you with a shocking total price 🤣🤣🤣 Dun want ask also can, just take yr chance and roll the dice. Lol 🤣🤣🤣 5 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic April 19, 2023 Share April 19, 2023 On 4/18/2023 at 11:54 PM, Mercs said: Some seller nice will tell the price first when you order more expensive dish, while others just keep quiet waiting to carrot you with a shocking total price 🤣🤣🤣 Dun want ask also can, just take yr chance and roll the dice. Lol 🤣🤣🤣 Seller would tell you those expensive dishes. If normal dishes they would not tell and if you ask, seller might black face. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mercs Hypersonic April 19, 2023 Author Share April 19, 2023 (edited) On 4/19/2023 at 8:24 AM, 13177 said: Seller would tell you those expensive dishes. If normal dishes they would not tell and if you ask, seller might black face. Many stalls will have their menu price on the signboard. Example when I go eat scissor cut their menu with price of each dish big big on the wall. 🤣 Edited April 19, 2023 by Mercs 5 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mercs Hypersonic April 19, 2023 Author Share April 19, 2023 (edited) Edited April 19, 2023 by Mercs ↡ Advertisement 7 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...