13177 Hypersonic November 20, 2023 Share November 20, 2023 On 11/19/2023 at 12:56 AM, PSP415 said: https://stomp.straitstimes.com/singapore-seen/acceptable-diner-charged-1010-for-rice-with-2-meat-and-2-vegetables-at-nuh-food-court Wonder what was his expectation, $7-8? Meat $2×2 = $4 Veg $1×2= $2 Rice $0.80 Total = $6.80 Can't tell the portion of the 2 meat dishes. The portion of veg seems acceptable. Always good to ask prices first, especially meat. Broccoli is atas cos some "enlightened" hawkers will categorise as "meat" I would find $8 as the max that I will pay. Thanks bro @Mercsfor sharing. How much u reckon u will pay for this, assuming you did not first ask about the prices. Have a good weekend and stay safe. Take care and keep well. Cheers Cai png price now has gone crazy liao, same like coe and property prices, can be anyhow lo. 😅 ↡ Advertisement 5 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mercs Hypersonic November 20, 2023 Author Share November 20, 2023 https://stomp.straitstimes.com/singapore-seen/woman-shocked-by-ridiculously-pricey-kueh-that-cost-7-at-sembawang-mall Woman shocked by 'ridiculously pricey' kueh that cost $7 at Sembawang mall https://singpromos.com/dining-restaurants-food/gardenia-spore-cream-rolls-and-single-serve-buns-promotion-till-up-to-19-dec-2023-272723/ Gardenia S’pore Cream Rolls and Single-Serve Buns promotion till up to 19 Dec 2023 5 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic November 21, 2023 Share November 21, 2023 On 11/20/2023 at 11:42 PM, Mercs said: https://stomp.straitstimes.com/singapore-seen/woman-shocked-by-ridiculously-pricey-kueh-that-cost-7-at-sembawang-mall Woman shocked by 'ridiculously pricey' kueh that cost $7 at Sembawang mall https://singpromos.com/dining-restaurants-food/gardenia-spore-cream-rolls-and-single-serve-buns-promotion-till-up-to-19-dec-2023-272723/ Gardenia S’pore Cream Rolls and Single-Serve Buns promotion till up to 19 Dec 2023 This one is premium Ang Ku Kueh lo, that's why need to pay premium price la. Anyway, i also wonder what is so special for these rainbow ang ku kueh, need to sell $3.50 per piece. 😅 This Gardenia Cream Rolls i always buy, good that now have promotion. But i no see this Single-Serve Buns selling le?! 2 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mercs Hypersonic November 21, 2023 Author Share November 21, 2023 On 11/21/2023 at 9:19 AM, 13177 said: This one is premium Ang Ku Kueh lo, that's why need to pay premium price la. Anyway, i also wonder what is so special for these rainbow ang ku kueh, need to sell $3.50 per piece. 😅 This Gardenia Cream Rolls i always buy, good that now have promotion. But i no see this Single-Serve Buns selling le?! Price and flavors on the website- https://jixiangconfectionery.com.sg/product/set-of-2-premium-ang-ku-kueh/ No idea seldom buy, maybe try 7-11 or gas stations- "While stocks last. Available at FairPrice, Cheers, Shell, Caltex, SPC, Sinopec and 7-Eleven" 5 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic November 21, 2023 Share November 21, 2023 On 11/21/2023 at 12:18 PM, Mercs said: Price and flavors on the website- https://jixiangconfectionery.com.sg/product/set-of-2-premium-ang-ku-kueh/ No idea seldom buy, maybe try 7-11 or gas stations- "While stocks last. Available at FairPrice, Cheers, Shell, Caltex, SPC, Sinopec and 7-Eleven" If the AKK is MSW flavour, maybe still $3.50 still ok. But if flavour is peanut and sweet bean, a bit like not 'worth' le. 3 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beregond Supersonic November 21, 2023 Share November 21, 2023 On 11/21/2023 at 9:19 AM, 13177 said: This one is premium Ang Ku Kueh lo, that's why need to pay premium price la. Anyway, i also wonder what is so special for these rainbow ang ku kueh, need to sell $3.50 per piece. 😅 Eat liao give us review😂 1 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mercs Hypersonic November 21, 2023 Author Share November 21, 2023 On 11/21/2023 at 12:47 PM, 13177 said: If the AKK is MSW flavour, maybe still $3.50 still ok. But if flavour is peanut and sweet bean, a bit like not 'worth' le. Same same but diff, just like some would happily pay 7 bucks for a coffee, while others (like me) just as contented with the $1.30 kopitam brew 2 5 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mercs Hypersonic November 21, 2023 Author Share November 21, 2023 https://stomp.straitstimes.com/singapore-seen/stomper-asks-stall-worker-to-break-down-price-of-7-meal-he-just-smiled-and-shook-his Stomper asks stall worker to break down price of $7 meal: 'He just smiled and shook his head' With prices increasing, people want to know they are being charged fairly for their purchases. Stomper Simon was taken aback when he was charged $7 for a meal he ordered from an Indian food stall at Block 447 Bukit Batok West Avenue 9 on Nov 20. He ordered sweet potato, potato, egg and special rice and noted that he did not order any meat. "When I asked the stall worker to break down the price, he just smiled and shook his head," said the Stomper. "I'm not even sure if he is charging correctly." According to Simon, the egg should have cost at most $1, as well as the sweet potato and potato. For the rice, he would have paid $1.50. "The most I would pay is $4.50 which I also think is expensive but I can accept it," he said. "The difference is too large." He told Stomp he would not think of going back to the stall. 5 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic November 21, 2023 Share November 21, 2023 On 11/21/2023 at 2:20 PM, Mercs said: https://stomp.straitstimes.com/singapore-seen/stomper-asks-stall-worker-to-break-down-price-of-7-meal-he-just-smiled-and-shook-his Stomper asks stall worker to break down price of $7 meal: 'He just smiled and shook his head' With prices increasing, people want to know they are being charged fairly for their purchases. Stomper Simon was taken aback when he was charged $7 for a meal he ordered from an Indian food stall at Block 447 Bukit Batok West Avenue 9 on Nov 20. He ordered sweet potato, potato, egg and special rice and noted that he did not order any meat. "When I asked the stall worker to break down the price, he just smiled and shook his head," said the Stomper. "I'm not even sure if he is charging correctly." According to Simon, the egg should have cost at most $1, as well as the sweet potato and potato. For the rice, he would have paid $1.50. "The most I would pay is $4.50 which I also think is expensive but I can accept it," he said. "The difference is too large." He told Stomp he would not think of going back to the stall. Stomper eat lunch at Block 447 Bukit Batok West Avenue 9? This place is new BTO area le, such place usually cannot find cheap and nice food la. Only can eat at such coffeeshop when there is really no choice, like cannot go further place to eat or wanted to faint liao. 😅 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mercs Hypersonic November 22, 2023 Author Share November 22, 2023 On 11/21/2023 at 2:35 PM, 13177 said: Stomper eat lunch at Block 447 Bukit Batok West Avenue 9? This place is new BTO area le, such place usually cannot find cheap and nice food la. Only can eat at such coffeeshop when there is really no choice, like cannot go further place to eat or wanted to faint liao. 😅 Probably a demand supply thing, new BTO estate tend to have less coffeeshop so less competition also have to sell higher price to cover shortage of footfall, whereas matured estate makan place plenty also more older folks if price too high cannot afford no business. $2 curry mee kosong, should be cheapest whole of SG - https://www.8days.sg/eatanddrink/hawkerfood/2-dollar-kosong-ipoh-malaysia-curry-mee-toa-payoh-hawker-822406 6 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mercs Hypersonic November 22, 2023 Author Share November 22, 2023 5 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic November 22, 2023 Share November 22, 2023 On 11/22/2023 at 11:21 PM, Mercs said: Probably a demand supply thing, new BTO estate tend to have less coffeeshop so less competition also have to sell higher price to cover shortage of footfall, whereas matured estate makan place plenty also more older folks if price too high cannot afford no business. $2 curry mee kosong, should be cheapest whole of SG - https://www.8days.sg/eatanddrink/hawkerfood/2-dollar-kosong-ipoh-malaysia-curry-mee-toa-payoh-hawker-822406 If sell at higher price and the food is nice, still can consider accepting. But too bad most of the foods in new BTO estates hardly is nice. 😅 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ct3833 Supersonic November 23, 2023 Share November 23, 2023 (edited) Bump into this shop, consider cheap . $2.50 for this dish. Kopi $1.20. Blk 6 Hougang Ave 3. A very very small kopi shop Edited November 23, 2023 by Ct3833 9 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beregond Supersonic November 23, 2023 Share November 23, 2023 On 11/22/2023 at 11:21 PM, Mercs said: Probably a demand supply thing, new BTO estate tend to have less coffeeshop so less competition also have to sell higher price to cover shortage of footfall, whereas matured estate makan place plenty also more older folks if price too high cannot afford no business. $2 curry mee kosong, should be cheapest whole of SG - https://www.8days.sg/eatanddrink/hawkerfood/2-dollar-kosong-ipoh-malaysia-curry-mee-toa-payoh-hawker-822406 That photo look like a lot of stuff for 2 buks. I never buy before. But I think in actual case I believe curry mee kosong. Is just mee with curry sauce, which is not cheap at all . ( I not sure if got other ingredients) 1 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kranjipioneer 3rd Gear November 23, 2023 Share November 23, 2023 @Beregond Cook myself at home 1 5 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mercs Hypersonic November 23, 2023 Author Share November 23, 2023 On 11/23/2023 at 12:06 AM, 13177 said: If sell at higher price and the food is nice, still can consider accepting. But too bad most of the foods in new BTO estates hardly is nice. 😅 Probably new BTO estates have more younger gen hawkers, whereas matured estates tend to be more elderly hawkers with decades of selling cooking the same dish. Anyway taste is subjective, i definitely belong to the old school nostalgic taste preference 5 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mercs Hypersonic November 23, 2023 Author Share November 23, 2023 On 11/23/2023 at 9:14 AM, Beregond said: That photo look like a lot of stuff for 2 buks. I never buy before. But I think in actual case I believe curry mee kosong. Is just mee with curry sauce, which is not cheap at all . ( I not sure if got other ingredients) As per article - "In these inflationary times, $2 sometimes can’t even get us a decent snack, let alone a hearty hawker meal. Like its name suggests, the no-frills dish comes without fancy toppings, just noodles and beansprouts in curry gravy." 'Cheapest' as in entry price point, nowadays can hardly find anything $2 for a piping hot meal, VFM probably not so much. If I'll to eat this also have to add on some YTF for a more hearty meal to around 5 bucks 6 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mercs Hypersonic November 23, 2023 Author Share November 23, 2023 ↡ Advertisement 5 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...