If my car seldom use coz I retired....

Axela525

1 minute ago, Axela525 said:

@Volvobrick ok thks boss ...anyway mine 3 more years die liao ..will stretch till year end...I service on 15 th march at 109k....now only 111k....lol

My old car last serviced in June 21 at 91k. Now 100k. Will service when I replace some bushings together. 

55 minutes ago, kobayashiGT said:

Erm... More than 6 month is how long first?

If you one year change one time, which you cover less than 10,000km. Then it is not wise. The engine oil will be heavily oxidated, won't have the detergent power to clean your engine. you tao gai (steal chicken) one or two months, i think is fine. 

You don't sound old sir, I think you will find something to do in your retirement, be it a more relaxing job or volunteering. . . Enjoy your retirement! 

Btw, now is a good time to sell car. hehehe. @Jamesc correct? 

dont scare TS la. oil dont oxidize so easily.

@Axela525 you can just change it every year with a good synthetic and it is fine.

I used to svc my dad old manual Lancer every 10k once a year.

Now covid my Fit only clock 10k per year. l also do the same.

As long good quality oil used to me not an issue.

We drive the old lancer and the Fit regularly. They don't just sit there for long periods not driven.

1 hour ago, Axela525 said:

Can I service at 10,000km interval but at more than 6 months interval? Coz I sign the servicing bundle with Transeurokars mazda...coming is 120k servicing.

Will the car perform ok? 7 years old Mazda 3 with 3 years more to go....can save better, coz retired no income...thanks! Input and feedback, thanks!

Congratulations on your new milestone in life! Will join you soon.

My car is 15k km servicing interval,  but because i don't drive that much, i will service it once a year. 

Edited by Ct3833

Nonsense lah , what six months or 10 k km.

You can stretch to 15 k km or more than 1 year easily. There will not be any damage. Don't be silly.

By right it is recommended to change the oil filter every 2 oil changes.  I replace it every oil change.

Edited by Fitvip

55 minutes ago, Axela525 said:

@Volvobrick ok thks boss ...anyway mine 3 more years die liao ..will stretch till year end...I service on 15 th march at 109k....now only 111k....lol

8 minutes ago, Axela525 said:

@Ct3833 volkswagon?Join me once retire..go drink kopi....😁

Friend, COE E200.😅 sure to. Plan to hang up my desktop by mid to 3rd Q next year. 

Your car is so under utilised and condition is still so good, 3 year later can consider renwing COE if COE will to be cheaper, which is likely the case. 

57 minutes ago, Vratenza said:

My friend ask if your car is still under extended warranty? 

If not, you can drag your service interval and Transeurokars have nothing to say since it does not affect warranty anyway.

Only thing to be careful is to read your service bundle contract carefully for the terms and condition eg. must be within a certain mileage or the credits expire or not valid.

My friend ask this thread also must start with my friend ask ? 

Edited by Ct3833

Yes work out the usage.

If hardly use then calculate depreciation vs the cost of calling PHV or taxi and being chauffeured around.

If holding the car cost more then sell.

1 hour ago, kobayashiGT said:

Erm... More than 6 month is how long first?

If you one year change one time, which you cover less than 10,000km. Then it is not wise. The engine oil will be heavily oxidated, won't have the detergent power to clean your engine. you tao gai (steal chicken) one or two months, i think is fine. 

You don't sound old sir, I think you will find something to do in your retirement, be it a more relaxing job or volunteering. . . Enjoy your retirement! 

Btw, now is a good time to sell car. hehehe. @Jamesc correct? 

My friend once told me a story. His ex gf family car scrapped with the original engine oil since purchase... 

Toyota vios. 

I'm not sure if that included the 1k oil change that I knew Toyota still used to have at that period. 

• Shocked 2

4 minutes ago, Lala81 said:

My friend once told me a story. His ex gf family car scrapped with the original engine oil since purchase... 

Toyota vios. 

But the mileage 1,234km?