Opting For Landline For Phone Calls

Didu

Saw below article and got me thinking....Would I opt for a landline if I were to move house? Possible reasons for doing so would be :

1. To stay in touch with relatives & friends, especially with those who are used to communicate via the vintage desk phone.  😁📞
  2. It's a backup channel for anyone in my family who missed the call on their mobile.

Following is from Singtel's FAQ:

Can I retain my existing telephone number when I relocate?

You can retain your existing telephone number only if any of the following applies :

• You are using Singtel Home Digital Line
  • You are subscribed to Number Retention Service

If neither of the above applies, submit your request and our Customer Care Officer will get in touch with you.

How about you? Would you go for a landline if you were to relocate?

Commentary: Please don't get rid of the landline

Last week I tried ringing my parents. “You have dialed an incorrect number,” the robot-voiced woman said. It was definitely not incorrect, not something I could ever get wrong. It’s not even on speed dial: I enjoy pressing the familiar, familial numbers. How weird, I thought, there must be a glitch. A few days later I asked mum about it. “Oh yes, we got rid of the landline,” she replied with detached casualness. “We were paying a lot for it and just getting spam calls.”

That’s it? A randomly ordered numerical sequence, recitable at speed and etched into my memory, gone just like that?

My parents have had the same house and phone number since I was born. Dialing that number was a portal to the fixed physical place of home. I felt a strange sense of loss. I was mourning digits. Not everyone feels the same, evidently. In the UK, landline use has fallen by two-thirds since 2010, according to Enders Analysis/Ofcom. And given that only 17 per cent of 16- to 24-year-olds ever use a landline, the future of the home phone number is hanging by a thread.

https://www.channelnewsasia.com/commentary/landline-home-phone-mobile-chat-technology-2861511

15 minutes ago, Ender said:

The one attached to my M1 modem, considered a land line?   

Dun think it is consider a land line.

Nowadays, with free digital line that comes free with most fibre subscription, is there a need for a physical land line? 

If you move house, you will need to transfer your fibre over to the new place anyway. That digital line will move along with you. 

My fibre comes with a free digital line too, but I did not even plug in a phone to make use of it. 

I still keep my same land line number since 1994, paying singtel few dollars a month so that we can play with a nostalgic phone  [laugh]

20220209_170243_compress56.thumb.jpg.4c643265b921bbb87e799d9d82a18046.jpg

yes, many people dun answer their mobile phone at home cos they on silent mode and they busy doing other things. Only a land line with loud ring tone can wake them up [laugh]

I am old school. 

• Haha! 16

I have a cordless phone attached to the set up retaining my landline number. 

I receive occasional calls from family members and relatives, frequent calls from scammer health ministry and cpf and repeated wrong number calls.

I asked a friend why they keep a landline ….. he said in case of a country wide internet outage of sorts …..then the land line will hold true …… this was a conversation I had more than 10 years back ….. dunno if he still kept the land line in US 

10 minutes ago, Jman888 said:

I still keep my same land line number since 1994, paying singtel few dollars a month so that we can play with a nostalgic phone  [laugh]

yes, many people dun answer their mobile phone at home cos they on silent mode and they busy doing other things. Only a land line with loud ring tone can wake them up [laugh]

I am old school. 

I also have the old copper wire line. It will still work in times of blackout. 

Edited by Volvobrick

8 minutes ago, Jman888 said:

I am old school. 

This type Rotary phone can still work ?? Something to do with dial tone/ pulse tone …... can still work ?? 

15 minutes ago, Fitvip said:

I have a cordless phone attached to the set up retaining my landline number. 

I receive occasional calls from family members and relatives, frequent calls from scammer health ministry and cpf and repeated wrong number calls.

copper wire landline is the best 👍 

digital voice not stable 

7 minutes ago, BanCoe said:

This type Rotary phone can still work ?? Something to do with dial tone/ pulse tone …... can still work ?? 

still the same dial clicking tone, i like the old phone ring tone, but this is the retro old phone model as it has * and #.

https://s.lazada.sg/s.0P4KU

Below Straits Times article dated APR 19, 2013

Services delivered over traditional phone lines to cease for new buildings

Owners whose homes obtain temporary occupation permit (TOP) status from December 1 this year will no longer be able to sign up for any SingTel services delivered over traditional copper-based telephone lines.

These services include ADSL broadband, voice and mioTV. Instead, the services will be carried over Singapore's fibre broadband network, which will come pre-stalled in these new residential developments.

The cessation of services delivered over copper-based telephone lines is part of the Government's plans to drive adoption for fibre services.

To facilitate the transition, SingTel will offer exclusive plans at preferential rates to existing customers who are moving into new fibre-only residential buildings.

For instance, telephony customers will be offered SingTel's digital home line service at the same monthly subscription. But they get unlimited free local calls.

Existing mioTV customers will also enjoy promotional rates for mio TV on fibre.

Singtel did not provide pricing details.

https://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/services-delivered-over-traditional-phone-lines-to-cease-for-new-buildings

So I'll treat any non-smart desk phone reachable via # 6xxx-xxxx hooked up to my telco as a landline regardless of it being on copper, fibre, microwave,...etc.  😁

I still have land line because number ends with 666, not willing to give up. 

8162271E-BA4E-4252-812D-0679EA77DDA3.jpeg

Edited by Fcw75
  • Haha! 7

2 hours ago, inlinesix said:

I don't think usual analog can be plugged into fibre modem

Can lah, years ago when i was on starhub fibre, also used a normal phone (Dect) to plug into the starhub modem. Can count with 1 hand how many times I use the line... Got many real estate agent or scam callers though... In the end when I change fibre provider, decided not to plug in the digital line.