Govt considers pulling back on incentives for electric commercial vehicles

Fitmugen

17 minutes ago, Singa said:

is this going to be like CNG initiative in the past?

there are news of Tesla catching fire recently, for e.g. Jimmy Lin. 

lack of charging points is an issue, are the batteries a fire hazard, is there a need to lug around so much battery weight etc

Another EV random fire case:

https://insideevs.com/news/601147/bmw-i3-sedan-catches-fire-china/

BMW i3 Sedan Test Drive In China Goes Badly, Car Catches Fire

The new i3 is a China-only long-wheelbase electric version of the latest 3 Series.

Jul 29, 2022 at 3:05am ET

By: Andrei Nedelea

China got an electric BMW 3 Series before the rest of the world with the new i3 sedan, as the Bavarian automaker is trying to steal some sales away from the extremely popular Tesla Model 3. But during a recent test drive in Zhengzhou, China, the i3 caught fire forcing its occupants to quickly exit the vehicle.

Small flames could be seen under the car, and even though at one point in the video posted by CnEVPost they do seem to get bigger, they never engulf the vehicle and the fire looks like it stays contained to the same area. We’re pretty sure that is not a battery pack fire, especially given that it’s located towards the rear of the vehicle where the traction motor is.

Perhaps this is why it didn’t suddenly burst into flames surrounding the entire vehicle from underneath, like we’ve seen in so many EV battery pack fires. These usually result in the complete destruction of the vehicle, but in this case the i3 sedan probably lived to drive another day with some repairs, although the incident will surely be investigated by both BMW and authorities.

According to the source article, the China-only i3 began reaching customers last month when 1,613 units were reportedly delivered. Apparently, the vehicle isn’t as appealing to customers as BMW had thought, and it’s nowhere near as popular as the Model 3 which is still seen as the best deal in the segment.

The BMW i3 sedan is only sold with a single-motor eDrive35L model that makes 282 horsepower and 400 Nm (295 pound-feet) of torque. It draws from a 70.3 kWh battery pack with a net capacity of 66.1 kWh and in China it has a claimed range 526 km (327 miles), although the figure would be closer to 400 km (250 miles) if calculated on the European WLTP test cycle, and even less as per the EPA.

What EV rebate? It is your own money that you have been rebated when you buy EV. 

By the time the EV is driven out of the AD, the AD already "shared in" on the EV rebate ie. Sell price included the marked up margin. 

By the time you sell your car to the 2nd hand dealer, you see how much of the paper value he quote you. 

So I say, good riddance to the EV rebate. 

6 minutes ago, Vratenza said:

What EV rebate? It is your own money that you have been rebated when you buy EV. 

By the time the EV is driven out of the AD, the AD already "shared in" on the EV rebate ie. Sell price included the marked up margin. 

By the time you sell your car to the 2nd hand dealer, you see how much of the paper value he quote you. 

So I say, good riddance to the EV rebate. 

Only buy Tesla get back the rebate.

14 hours ago, Kennethoka said:

Gov is going to level up the VES and CVES. actually i think it is not a bad thing. because what every the VES rebate the car get, dealer does not gave back the 100% to the buyer. From the article, only the dealer kpkb because this will eat into their profit margin

Am surprised that the gov is willing to take a risk in hitting their belts as reduced cevs means reduced margins for dealers and hence could lower COE, as seen in previous instances.

Instead of giving subsidy for EVs which raid the reserves

why not just increase the tax on petrol?

That will increase the reserves.

I also am ministar material.

Even the USA government is now creating artificial barriers towards EV adoption.

https://www.reuters.com/business/autos-transportation/automakers-say-us-senate-bill-will-jeopardize-2030-ev-targets-2022-08-07/?utm_campaign=trueAnthem%3A Trending Content&utm_medium=trueAnthem&utm_source=facebook&fbclid=IwAR3sL_fuJK33AyKJD2JfaSyaVymTCTUAK07qmL0WjspMZSTE31jz9_R9cVE

Automakers say U.S. Senate bill will jeopardize 2030 EV targets.

August 8, 20226:22 AM GMT+8

image.thumb.png.8db37f7e0463909edcde923397a71937.png

FILE PHOTO - Volkswagen employees stand next to Volkswagen electric cars during a ceremony at German carmaker Volkswagen's first battery cell production plant 'SalzGiga' in Salzgitter, Germany, July 7, 2022. REUTERS/Fabrizio Bensch

WASHINGTON, Aug 7 (Reuters) - A group representing General Motors (GM.N), Toyota Motor (7203.T), Volkswagen (VOWG_p.DE) and other major automakers said a $430 billion bill approved Sunday by the U.S. Senate will put achieving U.S. electric-vehicle adoption targets for 2030 in jeopardy.

"Unfortunately, the EV tax credit requirements will make most vehicles immediately ineligible for the incentive," said the Alliance for Automotive Innovation's chief executive, John Bozzella, adding the bill "will also jeopardize our collective target of 40-50% electric vehicle sales by 2030."

The group had warned Friday that most EV models would not qualify for a $7,500 tax credit for U.S. buyers under the bill.

To be eligible for the credit, vehicles must be assembled in North America, which would make some current EVs ineligible as soon as the bill takes effect.

The Senate bill imposes other restrictions to deter automakers from using Chinese-made materials by phasing in required percentages of North American-sourced battery components. After 2023, vehicles with batteries that have Chinese components could not receive the credit, while critical minerals also face limitations on sourcing.

Senator Joe Manchin, who pushed for the restrictions, said EVs should not depend on foreign supply chains while Senator Debbie Stabenow of Michigan said the credit is "unworkable."

The bill creates a $4,000 tax credit for used EVs. The package provides billions in new funding for EV production as well as $3 billion for the U.S. Postal Service to buy EVs and battery-charging equipment.

The new EV tax credits, which would expire in 2032, would be limited to trucks, vans and SUVs priced no more than $80,000 and cars up to $55,000. Families with adjusted gross incomes of up to $300,000 would be eligible.

The U.S. House aims to vote on the bill on Friday.

President Joe Biden in 2021 set a target for electric and plug-in electric vehicles to comprise half of new vehicle sales in 2030.

Yawn, its ICE for me still…. Until there is something really meaningful.  
no point saving through life of vehicle only to pay upfront. 

for many B&B cars the price difference of petrol vs say hybrid is easily $30k. 
say petrol average out $3 per liter.  Thats 10,000 liters of petrol.  If 1 liter gives 12km , than 10,000 is 120,000km.  
$30k can buy you 120,000km in mileage

so is it really saving when the price of an alternative car already includes the petrol over the next 7-8yrs?

LPPL lah.  Chey!

Unlikely G will keep rebates as the carrot to change to EV.

Will likely stick carrot in I.C.E owner's beh..d at some point.

On 8/2/2022 at 3:37 PM, Soya said:

U buy into their 'green' thingy when it comes to cars & $$$?

VES B for me. Nuff said

Wholeheartedly agree with you.

The ruling govt always has other agendas behind their push for going "green"

CNG is a distinct memory that taught me not to fall for their tricks.

Just go for a normal car in VES neutral category.

Edited by Beehive3783

4 hours ago, Heartbreakid said:

This era is all about $$$. What "go green", what "save the climate" are all pile of B.S. . Just look at how our 4G is directing. Action speaks louder than words. 

Money talk and bulls**t walk. 

Going green? Nah…

12 hours ago, Beehive3783 said:

Wholeheartedly agree with you.

The ruling govt always has other agendas behind their push for going "green"

CNG is a distinct memory that taught me not to fall for their tricks.

Just go for a normal car in VES neutral category.

Pretty much the same for me. The CNG thing convinced me this gahmen was not to be trusted when it came to filling their own coffers.