Too nosy? Driver permanently banned from Grab after asking passenger inappropriate questions

DOBIEMKZ

Basically, nod (no need to smile in a way that may be considered tiko), STFU, drive, stop, nod, drive off.

Why try to play conversationalist with hires?

I know some ppl who don't know when to shut up. They mistake lewd comments in front of ladies as being charming. They mistake indiscriminate racial slurs as normal as that's how they grew up. Maybe they've been behaving this way their whole life but friends and family didn't call them out due to "traditional asian values" of being nice to one another.

My friend ranted to me that he was called out by his teenage son for repeating racial slurs in their family. I told him you deserve it. Social norms have evolved whether we like it or not. And I'd like to believe that it's for the better.

58 minutes ago, Jellandross said:

I know some ppl who don't know when to shut up. They mistake lewd comments in front of ladies as being charming. They mistake indiscriminate racial slurs as normal as that's how they grew up. Maybe they've been behaving this way their whole life but friends and family didn't call them out due to "traditional asian values" of being nice to one another.

My friend ranted to me that he was called out by his teenage son for repeating racial slurs in their family. I told him you deserve it. Social norms have evolved whether we like it or not. And I'd like to believe that it's for the better.

Very true. I also see these kinds of "offensive talks" frequently esp among the elders. That's the way they have been brought up and that's their normal way of speaking.

At times they tend to offend the younger ones without even knowing it. I guess that might be what happened to the driver... he don't even know what he said to offend the passenger. But at least Grab should let him know what happened. Even when a company fires an employee, they don't keep mum about the reason.

Edited by Rickster

14 hours ago, Macrosszero said:

If the behaviour that got him in trouble is his normal small talk then of course he won’t remember exactly who/when/where it happened. Just like I recall one male colleague who kena from HR when chatting with a female colleague who was referring to her own all-black outfit and he responded,

”Really everything black meh?”

Like that tio complain, nearly tio pok. But rightly so. Best not to even say things that could have misinterpreted double meanings.

Anyway current COVID policy also encourages less speaking in confined spaces such as MRT.

0C6DC3C6-72D2-478E-BA74-D7BC7D6660DF.jpeg

9F860A0C-B74F-40E6-BE39-23F57AFE3FA8.jpeg

Edited by Mustank
  • Haha! 10

1 hour ago, Jellandross said:

I mean it's not even a generational thing. Look at the retards on EDMW, totally in denial about their racism. SBF are even worse (or more overt as they feel secure in being based overseas), but at least they own their disgusting attitudes, they don't deny and deflect. Unlike the wusses at EDMW. 

All Drivers only need to confirm the actual address with passenger. the rest is not important, and passenger need to respect driver and do not give instruction to Grab/GoGo driver where to go, since they are paying the charges, just be nice, some passengers can give hell to driver like : " I'd make sure you lose this job. " if this is a conflict . . .🤨

I was in Sydney and went to a warehouse where the lady working there was a very pretty slim lady from Cambodia.

And one of the staff remark how good looking she was to her.

Another staff said that sexual harassment.

I said its only harassment if you don't like it.

So only talk tiko to a young lady if she likes it then no complaints. 

Edited by Jamesc

I wish the uncle 

would just say

what question he asked.

Was it she big sized or not pretty

or too pretty and got bf or not and

if don't have she want old uncle or not

Or was it a man and he said he don't like

those homo sensual types?

If uncle don't tell us then we cannot explain to him why it was not appropriate

and uncle don't have to feel like a victim that has been unfairly removed.

Lets give the uncle some closure and not leave him hanging.

15 hours ago, Macrosszero said:

If the behaviour that got him in trouble is his normal small talk then of course he won’t remember exactly who/when/where it happened. Just like I recall one male colleague who kena from HR when chatting with a female colleague who was referring to her own all-black outfit and he responded,

”Really everything black meh?”

Like that tio complain, nearly tio pok. But rightly so. Best not to even say things that could have misinterpreted double meanings.

Anyway current COVID policy also encourages less speaking in confined spaces such as MRT.

That's exactly why I prefer to eat alone and not engage in small talks in office which is waste of time anyway.

5837ce1cd355429dbb2244e2780b808b.gif

As a Grab driver, I have plenty to say, but here's what regarding this case:

1. PHV/taxi driving school teach you not to engage in controversial conversation with passengers like sex, religion, politics.
  2. My POV, just STFU and drive. The only thing you open your mouth for is regarding payment (cash) and destination. Anything else you say may be misconstrued, however innocent you may think you are.
  3. Nobody wants to know what an entertaining comedian you are. Nobody wants to know your brilliant idea for eradicating world hunger or achieving world peace or what a bad day you have.
  4. Drivers should treat all riders as potential enemies. When they sit in your car, they are the traffic police, judge, jury and executioner. When they don't like what they see, they complain.
  5. When you're driving to pick them up, and they call you, they expect you to answer the phone, while driving, no matter how dangerous it is.
  6. When they are inside your car and you answer the phone, you're screwed.
  7. Grab sees money first, rider is what brings in money. They are always right, when they complain. Drivers are always wrong.

So yeah, just STFU and drive. The less you open your mouth, the less problem you'll have.

Be a taxi driver and you can talk about anything.

One driver told me he just got married and I said Congrats

and then we spoke about in laws

and he said to me - his FIL had a word in his ear

"We are all men so I understand. So if he eats outside is fine by his new FIL"

I said where to get FIL like that, its like strike lottery!

• Shocked 2

As a top service provider in the healthcare industry I have to be very very careful with what I say.  

I never say to a customer wah so tua lup one huh?

I need bigger hands to massage those things!

Edited by Jamesc