'Town council rejected compensating me': Driver at loss after Volkswagen damaged by spalling concrete at Tekka Centre carpark

zipping

8 minutes ago, Stratovarius said:

next time tree fall down also wear and tear. 

first time i hear wear and tear on building concrete. 

Tree fall down is act of god. But so far think those trees fell and hit cars, Nparks got make any compensation? 

24 minutes ago, 13177 said:

Tree fall down is act of god. But so far think those trees fell and hit cars, Nparks got make any compensation? 

i thought act of god is flooding? lol. 

I think they will evaluate if the fallen tree is due to misjudgment during inspection.  

57 minutes ago, Dp26 said:

Cant get more stupid when a supposing govt body rejects any responsibilities in this kind of accident.

If its a private car park i can understand a little bit more but my opinion wont change. 

This kind surely the car park owner has to be responsible.

It’s an accident, we all don’t foresee it yes.

“We could be more diligent but the last check was ok. We did not expect it. We will be more careful with checks next time.”

But dont come out and say not my Taiji la.

aiyoh 我 please 你 la!!

apparently they claim it was "wear and tear"

means they neglected to carry out preventive maintenance

1 hour ago, 13177 said:

i think the last one in Botanic Gardens incident .... there was a payout to the deceased family ..... but its all under wraps ...(must be some court gag order of acceptance of payment/liability)....etc 

2 hours ago, 13177 said:

Your WS must be sibei Tok Kong.

The liability lies with Npark contractors.

You must be able to identify which tree.

From thereon, need to find out which contractors maintain it.

Seek compensation from the contractor.

2 hours ago, Shibadog said:

apparently they claim it was "wear and tear"

means they neglected to carry out preventive maintenance

Anything only brand new once. After that all become “wear and tear” what. 

their logic is flawless ! Bao Jiak! 

maybe they too comfy and long in their chairs there also “worn and torn” in their thinking 

1 minute ago, Dp26 said:

Anything only brand new once. After that all become “wear and tear” what. 

their logic is flawless ! Bao Jiak! 

maybe they too comfy and long in their chairs there also “worn and torn” in their thinking 

Loss adjuster said so.

TPTC will be liable if car owner win lawsuit

7 minutes ago, inlinesix said:

Loss adjuster said so.

TPTC will be liable if car owner win lawsuit

Idiot like me also will know if loss adjuster appointed by defendant themselves how to convince ppl? 

isn’t it open to “conflict of interest” 

even not their mistakes but they can definitely use better language to diffuse the situation.  
Town council leh. Serving the people leh. Not like it’s at CapitaLand building or Guccoland tower. 

or am I wrong and the town council is already going that direction ?? For profits and answerable to their “shareholders” only? 

没眼看

Just now, Dp26 said:

Idiot like me also will know if loss adjuster appointed by defendant themselves how to convince ppl? 

isn’t it open to “conflict of interest” 

even not their mistakes but they can definitely use better language to diffuse the situation.  
Town council leh. Serving the people leh. Not like it’s at CapitaLand building or Guccoland tower. 

or am I wrong and the town council is already going that direction ?? For profits and answerable to their “shareholders” only? 

没眼看

Loss adjuster appointed by Insurer.

Now, car owner has to sue TPTC.

Since Gen1, all Govt dept are trained to have reserves (aka Profit).

It is less apparent.

冰涑三尺,非一日之寒

9 hours ago, Vid said:

All car parks should have this sign

image.png.56f0f1025b96a715814b09e578e6b846.png

Their job is only to collect parking fees.

have seen this sign in quite a few car parks.

On 7/26/2022 at 9:51 PM, zipping said:

https://www.asiaone.com/singapore/town-council-rejected-compensating-me-driver-loss-after-volkswagen-damaged-spalling

'Town council rejected compensating me': Driver at loss after Volkswagen damaged by spalling concrete at Tekka Centre carpark

July 26, 2022

published at 1:48 PMByOng Su Mann

image.png.44730dee6536acc0e12819e12ff1981e.png

A Volkswagen Golf was damaged by spalling concrete from the ceiling in the basement carpark of Tekka Centre.

Stomp

The owner of a Volkswagen Golf damaged by spalling concrete from the ceiling in the basement carpark of Tekka Centre wants to be compensated by the town council.

But the loss adjusters appointed by the liability insurer of Tanjong Pagar Town Council (TPTC) have found that the spalling concrete is due to natural wear and tear, and the town council is not liable for the incident.

More from AsiaOneRead the condensed version of this story, and other top stories with NewsLite.

Tekka Centre is at 665 Buffalo Road, which is part of Tanjong Pagar GRC.

According to the Ministry of National Development, spalling concrete is the flaking of concrete from the ceiling due to the corrosion of steel reinforcement bars in the concrete floor slab. The corrosion is caused by the ingress of moisture and acidic elements and can lead to cracking and bulging of the concrete cover over time. This is a natural wear and tear process and is generally a surface maintenance issue which can be mitigated through a regular painting of the ceiling.

All that is little comfort to Stomp contributor Omar, whose car was damaged in the Tekka Centre carpark on April 22.

Sharing photos of the incident with Stomp, he said: "Upon months of fighting with the town council, their loss adjusters had said this was caused by wear and tear.

"The town council has rejected compensating me or even giving me an apology.

"The cost of repairs quoted by my insurance was nearly up to $8,000. I have not repaired it as I seek justice.

"Many of my friends have asked me to take it to social media. but due to my work, I can't.

"They have simply told me to claim insurance, which I don't want to do because I have to face the 30 per cent no-claim discount deduction and premium rise. Why must I face the music due to their contractor's negligence? What if someone had walked there that day, would they also categorise it as wear and tear?

image.png.e6f1b31213ad66e84774d2c89e339f08.png

PHOTO: Stomp

"My MP, Mr Murali Pillai, had even talked to TPTC’s chairman Mr Melvin Yong on this matter, but still after months, the consultant replied back stating it's wear and tear, and TPTC is not to be blamed."

In the letter from FormTeam Consultancy dated June 15 shared with Stomp by Omar, the loss adjusters said: "As estate manager, TPTC has fulfilled its duty with due diligence on rectification upon activation while it is not reasonable to expect TPTC to arrest all wear and tear issues which developed over time.

"Therefore, while we empathise with your predicament, we must state that TPTC has not been negligent in any way under the circumstances, and hence are not legally liable for this incident.

Read Also

30 minutes to extricate trapped man: Motorcyclist crashes into rear windshield of taxi in Bukit Batok

"We, therefore, have our Principal’s instructions to repudiate all liability whatsoever and on behalf of whomsoever is concerned for this incident."

The Stomp contributor said that the carpark is currently under maintenance.

In response to a Stomp query, TPTC said: "Mr Omar contacted the town council in May regarding this matter.

"The town council then referred the case to our insurers and our insurers investigated and found that the town council was not legally liable for the damage and loss. 

"Mr Omar then requested for us to appeal to our insurers on his behalf. We appealed to our insurers and the insurers came back with the same finding that the town council is not liable.

"Mr Omar has since informed us that he will be seeking mediation with the public liability insurer under FIDReC (Financial Industry Disputes Resolution Centre) and has requested for the name of our insurer, which we have provided to him."

This article was first published in Stomp. Permission required for reproduction.

Natural wear and tear is BS

It's total neglect.

So it's negligence.

If this happen at hawker centre level and the spalling concrete fell on to the head of an elderly patron and died?

Then say what?

Oh it's natural wear and tear...and the elderly going to die soon anyway?

This is under Jalan Bersah TC?

Ok lah...Nevermind lah...

I know someone from the TC.

just hope it can settle down and hope my friend not implicated lah....

bloody lousy reinforcement bars that cause the concrete soffit to fall.

Edited by Atonchia

23 hours ago, inlinesix said:

Loss adjuster appointed by Insurer.

Now, car owner has to sue TPTC.

Since Gen1, all Govt dept are trained to have reserves (aka Profit).

It is less apparent.

冰涑三尺,非一日之寒

Appointed by the defendant’s insurer. 

why make it so troublesome/difficult for the residents/citizens that you are supposed to serve? Wear and tear till it became dangerous definitely someone has to be responsible right??

like u said, water also need time to get frozen. Doesn’t happen instantaneously. 

aiyah dunno la. 
not elite don’t think same way as them. 

Most cars usage is caused by " Wear and Tear " like tyres, brakes, brake pad, battery.

All properties and in particular heavily used basement car park and MSCP are dilapidated (, deteriorated and fallen into neglect condition or beyond repair.🤨

Don't ever get smoked by TC, this bunch of crap peoples get kenna from me a lot.

2 hours ago, Meanmachine said:

Most cars usage is caused by " Wear and Tear " like tyres, brakes, brake pad, battery.

All properties and in particular heavily used basement car park and MSCP are dilapidated (, deteriorated and fallen into neglect condition or beyond repair.🤨

Don't ever get smoked by TC, this bunch of crap peoples get kenna from me a lot.

I still cannot think of how Ceiling can have wear and tear🤣🤣🤣.

Must be the cleaners fault to use high pressure jets on the ceiling instead of washing the floor.

This Town Council must be the cleanest.

On 7/27/2022 at 3:25 PM, 13177 said:

Tree fall down kill people NParks also bo hiu lan.

• Sad 1