'Town council rejected compensating me': Driver at loss after Volkswagen damaged by spalling concrete at Tekka Centre carpark

zipping

They did not cordone off the whole carpark likely in the interest of residents/shop owners whom will have no place to park at all

This carpark is very heavily used (especially on weekends)  and also has surge peak hour pricing if I am not wrong 

Very old car park indeed too and limited lots (my son got fined for parking in season lot when he went for a funeral wake.... Appealed and got off with a very stern warning though he parked for only hardly 15 minutes) of course had to attached the funeral wake cert stuff with the appeal letter ... was about 5 years back then)

When I go to my car AD to claim warranty their standard answer is oh this part is wear and tear that part also wear and tear so not covered.

One time for fun I ask them can you point to me which part of a car that doesn't wear and tear? 

The service staff looked quite shocked maybe nobody ask such a stupid question before.

• Haha! 13

17 minutes ago, Jellandross said:

When I go to my car AD to claim warranty their standard answer is oh this part is wear and tear that part also wear and tear so not covered.

One time for fun I ask them can you point to me which part of a car that doesn't wear and tear? 

The service staff looked quite shocked maybe nobody ask such a stupid question before.

It is a good way to taichi away if they tell you it is due to wear and tear. 🙄

@zipping TC should use their own sinking fund to compensate even though their insurer rejected the claim. Spalling concrete inside house is owner's responsibilities. Spalling concrete in HDB MSCP then is not HDB/TC responsibilities? Like this, HDB/TC sure win

59 minutes ago, inlinesix said:

With this sign, car park operators still have a duty of care towards the users.

Yup. Often it is hard to prove there is gross negligence.

It is like NPark, you can inspect the trees diligently but shit is still going to happen once in a while.

Just don't understand why public liability policy doesn't cover structural wear and tear.

Or like cars, wear and tear parts are not insurable? 😅

1 hour ago, Jellandross said:

For some cars, there are zero wear & tear on signal stalks.........

2 hours ago, EasyGoing said:

@zipping if town council can use wear and tear as an excuse for not compensating the vw owner then how come we HDBians are responsible when our windows fall down and hurt someone as we HDBians are responsible for the maintenance of our windows leh ?????????????

we can always use same reasoning...."when I check once every half yearly as highlighted by HDB, I did not see any problem...so it is wear and tear"

1 hour ago, Voodooman said:

Yup. Often it is hard to prove there is gross negligence.

It is like NPark, you can inspect the trees diligently but shit is still going to happen once in a while.

Just don't understand why public liability policy doesn't cover structural wear and tear.

Or like cars, wear and tear parts are not insurable? 😅

when my company wanted to install exterior building signage, the BM required our contractor to have $2Mil public liability insurance....

42 minutes ago, Soya said:

For some cars, there are zero wear & tear on signal stalks.........

Some cars probably don't have signal stalks. 

Off topic but i am wondering.  If buildings are not maintained and concrete can fall, could a building theoretically collapse if there is not maintenance?

10 minutes ago, Philipkee said:

Off topic but i am wondering.  If buildings are not maintained and concrete can fall, could a building theoretically collapse if there is not maintenance?

i think that's what happened to Hotel New World in the 80s

no inspection, little maintenance

the building owner suka suka install heavy aircon equipment on the roof, and when cracks appeared at the structural pillars, nobody cared

Edited by Scion

18 minutes ago, Scion said:

i think that's what happened to Hotel New World in the 80s

no inspection, little maintenance

the building owner suka suka install heavy aircon equipment on the roof, and when cracks appeared at the structural pillars, nobody cared

" the original structural engineer had made an error in calculating the building's structural load. The structural engineer had calculated the building's live load (the weight of the building's potential inhabitants, furniture, fixtures, and fittings) but the building's dead load (the weight of the building itself) was completely omitted from the calculation."

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Collapse_of_Hotel_New_World

29 minutes ago, Philipkee said:

How does concrete fall relates to building theoretical collapse?

I encounter fall of marble from Building facade.  The building is still standing tall now. 

Cant get more stupid when a supposing govt body rejects any responsibilities in this kind of accident.

If its a private car park i can understand a little bit more but my opinion wont change. 

This kind surely the car park owner has to be responsible.

It’s an accident, we all don’t foresee it yes.

“We could be more diligent but the last check was ok. We did not expect it. We will be more careful with checks next time.”

But dont come out and say not my Taiji la.

aiyoh 我 please 你 la!!

4 hours ago, Vratenza said:

I was sitting on MC of a 20+yr old private appt with underground carpark. Due to years of nonchalant attitude towards property maintenance, the paint of the carpark ceiling was flaking and peeling which dropped onto parked cars but easily wiped off. Seen some hairline cracks and wet patch in those affected areas. Reminded my chairman about it but it was not given immediate attention. Sure enough, one day, a small sizeable chunk of concrete fell off but fortunately it did not hit anyone or any cars.

We had to engage a PE to assess the structural integrity of the whole building and engage a contractor to do rectification works on the affected areas. 

Yes, this is very common.

unless it happen to his own car... then KPKB and wanna claim MCST funds. 😆

Edited by Mkl22

6 hours ago, Watwheels said:

If ppl look at the stomp pictures it is not only paint flakes, look at the floor, those are concrete slabs.

whatsapp_image_2022-07-22_at_10.29.05_am

The carpark should have been closed entirely.

Seriously la, that kind of damage repair can come up to 8k meh? Did the engine block crack after the concrete blocks dropped on the bonnet?