Ingenius Turbocharged July 26, 2022 Share July 26, 2022 (edited) For a big family with three or more kids, loosely speaking, the most important thing is to make sure they all have enough for necessities like education, nutritious food, comfortable home, clothing, entertaining etc. Having a car should not be a priority ahead of those. In fact, having a car may come at the expense of the basic necessities. So Coe subsidy may be counter productive. But there's no doubt ts's intention is good. Edited July 26, 2022 by Ingenius ↡ Advertisement 8 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rickster 5th Gear July 26, 2022 Share July 26, 2022 (edited) 8 minutes ago, Wind30 said: …. Sigh… its wanting the singles, small family to subsidise big families for car ownership. Sometimes I wonder why I even bother when people don’t read. Then the single/small families will cry foul and try to justify their need to own car like having elderly parents/disabled family member. Then after this, larger families will ask HDB to change policy to make smaller families or single buyers subsidise larger families so the larger families can buy HDB cheaper and in more prime areas. Then after HDB, comes healthcare costs.... if u single, small family, u pay more for medical because u need to subsidise big families. No end bro... no end. Edited July 26, 2022 by Rickster 5 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic July 26, 2022 Share July 26, 2022 3 minutes ago, Rickster said: If it's helping birth rate, there are many other things the govt can do to boost it, which is much more effective than priority for a car. For example, if a family with 3 or more kids can have priority in any new HDB prime location launch, or priority to take part in primary school admission phase 2A/2B, it will have much greater impact than having priority to buy cars. Or they can even give crazy idea that they will have priority booking when it comes to taxi/PHV service. "Affordable" childcare/infantcare facility, job security from week 0, etc All these are more important than what was proposed. 6 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vratenza Supersonic July 26, 2022 Share July 26, 2022 8 minutes ago, Wind30 said: …. Sigh… its wanting the singles, small family to subsidise big families for car ownership. Sometimes I wonder why I even bother when people don’t read. Want to improve birth rate, start at the core......the country is getting too expensive for couples to want more children. .....housing, transport, education... I don't see those multi-million salaried ministers having 5 children or more just because they can bloody well afford it better than 99.8% of us. 6 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kopites Supersonic July 26, 2022 Share July 26, 2022 (edited) 13 minutes ago, Wind30 said: …. Sigh… its wanting the singles, small family to subsidise big families for car ownership. Sometimes I wonder why I even bother when people don’t read. So your proposal is to marginalise those single / single child family to help big family with young kids in their daily logistic transportation ? Isn't it self entitlement to begin with. 🤔🤔🤔 Edited July 26, 2022 by Kopites 5 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kopites Supersonic July 26, 2022 Share July 26, 2022 My stand very straight forward. Don't burden unto other for our own personal "pleasure". 7 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Si4dr 6th Gear July 26, 2022 Share July 26, 2022 重要的事说3遍: Don't make car only affordable to the RICH only. Don't make car only affordable to the RICH only. Don't make car only affordable to the RICH only. Unless gov openly say COE is to earn extra money and just "顺便“ to control the number of car. 1 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vratenza Supersonic July 26, 2022 Share July 26, 2022 9 minutes ago, Si4dr said: 重要的事说3遍: Don't make car only affordable to the RICH only. Don't make car only affordable to the RICH only. Don't make car only affordable to the RICH only. Unless gov openly say COE is to earn extra money and just "顺便“ to control the number of car. Nah... here you go... 2 hours ago, RadX said: already said it decades ago... 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mockngbrd Supersonic July 26, 2022 Share July 26, 2022 Go buy used coe car lor 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mockngbrd Supersonic July 26, 2022 Share July 26, 2022 1 hour ago, inlinesix said: There is a lot of cheap ASEAN MPV which Singaporean reject. Like Honda BRV, Toyota Avanza, Mitsubishi Xpander. It shows the car is a want. CNY xia suay 6 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
PSP415 Supersonic July 26, 2022 Share July 26, 2022 (edited) 3 hours ago, Wind30 said: I am wondering, with COE being so high, should gov give COE rebates to households with 3 kids or more? Cars being a limited resource now, doesn't it make sense for a car to transport 5 people around vs 1 person on the road? If that one person cannot drive, all he adds is 1 person to the public transport load. Plus it helps to encourage kids which I feel is one of the biggest problems we have as a nation. Example, if the household rebate is 20%, you pay COE of 80% of prevailing price. If you scrape the car early, you will only get 80% COE rebate from remaining COE. When you sell the car to others, you have to top up the 20% of the remaining COE to prevent the next owner from benefiting from the reduced COE and the car COE gets converted to normal COE. This is to prevent profiteering. Then ppl will kpkb why discriminate against those with no kids/only 1 kid or 2 kids? Kiddos no need money to bring up ah? So to save on COE, ppl forced to bring more kids into the world which will cost many times more. 😂😂😂 Why must be so special? Not seen whole kampong of kids with parents on MRT trains? Perhaps they not the fussy or particular about arriving anywhere on public transport, but the glee and happiness on the faces of kids, anticipation of fun in whatever the trip will bring. Then if u take the later hours train, you see sleepy or tired faces, some abit pesky after a day out. Teenagers are out cos sit train, car, aeroplane, spaceship all will have this perpetual sulky face as if its so uncool to be seen enjoying life or in company of parents. No lah. Enough unbalanced policies. No need to get one more that will create unnecessary expectations like having 3 kids is more deserving than one with 1 or 2. I can tell you a possible scenario. That family of 3 kids who got special COE will RENT out his/her car to the family with no kid or 1 or 2 kids. 😅 Yada-ing Stay safe all Cheers Edited July 26, 2022 by PSP415 4 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wind30 Turbocharged July 26, 2022 Author Share July 26, 2022 42 minutes ago, Kopites said: So your proposal is to marginalise those single / single child family to help big family with young kids in their daily logistic transportation ? Isn't it self entitlement to begin with. 🤔🤔🤔 … it is about allocation of a scarce resource, cars, in a way that benefits the nation the most. It is not self entitlement actually because errr…. I belong to the small family group…. I am not even sure what you mean by self entitlement although I am trying very hard to understand what u write. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mockngbrd Supersonic July 26, 2022 Share July 26, 2022 (edited) 5 minutes ago, Wind30 said: … it is about allocation of a scarce resource, cars, in a way that benefits the nation the most. It is not self entitlement actually because errr…. I belong to the small family group…. I am not even sure what you mean by self entitlement although I am trying very hard to understand what u write. Nah, space for the whole fam: https://www.sgcarmart.com/used_cars/info.php?ID=1102028&DL=3791 Edited July 26, 2022 by Mockngbrd 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Volvobrick Supersonic July 26, 2022 Share July 26, 2022 (edited) Why need to have the rich subsidising the big family? This is solving the wrong problem. Just remove COE scheme. Up the ARF (like 400%/500% for above 50k OMV). Let everyone enjoy driving their family around, or sitting in the jam together. Equal enjoyment/misery whether rich or poor. If the roads are so jammed up, naturally more will switch to MRT or avoid going out. Edited July 26, 2022 by Volvobrick 1 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator July 26, 2022 Share July 26, 2022 6 minutes ago, Volvobrick said: Why need to have the rich subsidising the big family? This is solving the wrong problem. Just remove COE scheme. Up the ARF (like 400%/500% for above 50k OMV). Let everyone enjoy driving their family around, or sitting in the jam together. Equal enjoynent/misery whether rich or poor. If the roads are so jammed up, naturally more will switch to MRT or avoid going out. No la with high jams have picnic IN the car… during the jam 😂 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahwhye 5th Gear July 26, 2022 Share July 26, 2022 1 hour ago, mikk123 said: The only way to convince the public to give up driving is, someone take the lead. Let's all the policy makers experience first hand our world class transport system, then we all follow. reasonable suggestion? mai lah....every time these people go take public transport, sure pattern liao liao, imagine all the entourage lah security officers lah actors and actresses here and there lah etc etc, essentially just reserved whole carriage, end up the regular joe and jane have to take the next or next next service..... 1 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Volvobrick Supersonic July 26, 2022 Share July 26, 2022 4 minutes ago, RadX said: No la with high jams have picnic IN the car… during the jam 😂 Yeah. Rich will install a nice big screen in a MPV and relax at the back with a chauffeur. The rest can enjoy driving. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Freeder Hypersonic July 26, 2022 Share July 26, 2022 At least can give transportation rebates… COE rebates really no meaning… ↡ Advertisement 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...