Airline seat selection: Do you select your seats?

BabyBlade

Saw this complaint posted on Singapore Airlines Facebook page, posted by someone I know. Although it's a short post but it somehow reeks of entitlement. I stand to be corrected but if you did not select your seats in advance, then the airline will allocate your seats upon check-in. If you want to be seated together with your group, complimentary seat selection is available at the check-in counter, subject to availability. I find it interesting how we stomp our little feet at organisations when we don't have things our way. 

I'm sorry you had a slight hiccup on your honeymoon but perhaps if one had a little more contingency plan to pre-booked one's seat in order to avoid disappointment on one's honeymoon, then we would all be spared from reading my little rant here. 😆

When I travel in a group, I usually pre-select my seats unless it's like a short budget flight and I don't want to add cost to my budget tix just to be seated with my friends for that two hours. What's two hours of separation when you have the entire trip and a lifetime to catch up anyway? 

Untitled-1.jpg.ef035a67fad48190d7fd6c0afc83dcfc.jpg

Another self entitled post. if want sit together just pay even though i find it ridiculous. and i still pay everytime i book. lol.

When you check in and if they cant find a seat together they will let you know. Once i also encounter the same issue, after some begging they managed to help us find seats by each other. Also got one time i was travelling alone and the air stewardess came and ask if i can swap seats so that the couple can sit together. i think the poster did not even open his/her mouth to ask instead go online and whine about it. 

Edited by Stratovarius

Lol....cheapo guy going on lovey dovey honeymoon but obviously doesn't think his bride is worth the $15 for seat selection?.....lol

The bride juz got a early taste of how her married life's gonna be....

• Haha! 14

Personally, yes, when booking in a family type group, I believe airlines should preassign a block of seats in their system when tickets are issued. The passengers may not like the location, but leaving it to an airline runs that risk.

The honeymoon complaint is a red herring along the lines of "Do you know who I AM!!!???!!!" type of thing. Irrelevant and not something an airline will ever know beforehand, or care about, unless the passenger mentions it looking for freebies. P.S. on SQ, there are no such freebies ☺️

43 minutes ago, BabyBlade said:

Saw this complaint posted on Singapore Airlines Facebook page, posted by someone I know. Although it's a short post but it somehow reeks of entitlement. I stand to be corrected but if you did not select your seats in advance, then the airline will allocate your seats upon check-in. If you want to be seated together with your group, complimentary seat selection is available at the check-in counter, subject to availability. I find it interesting how we stomp our little feet at organisations when we don't have things our way. 

I'm sorry you had a slight hiccup on your honeymoon but perhaps if one had a little more contingency plan to pre-booked one's seat in order to avoid disappointment on one's honeymoon, then we would all be spared from reading my little rant here. 😆

When I travel in a group, I usually pre-select my seats in advance unless it's like a short budget flight and I don't want to add cost to my budget tix just to be seated with my friends for that two hours. What's two hours of separation when you have the entire trip and a lifetime to catch up anyway? 

Untitled-1.jpg.ef035a67fad48190d7fd6c0afc83dcfc.jpg

actually they can do their seat selection during check in. 

most likely all the side by side seats are taken and only left single seats.

4 minutes ago, bsswan said:

Personally, yes, when booking in a family type group, I believe airlines should preassign a block of seats in their system when tickets are issued. The passengers may not like the location, but leaving it to an airline runs that risk.

The honeymoon complaint is a red herring along the lines of "Do you know who I AM!!!???!!!" type of thing. Irrelevant and not something an airline will ever know beforehand, or care about, unless the passenger mentions it looking for freebies. P.S. on SQ, there are no such freebies ☺️

This fella obviously not of any KF Elite tier so no complimentary seat selection

Wonder if he oso bang table at the Silverkris lounge entrance demanding to be given access becoz, well, he's on a honeymoon wor.....

Aiyo, want to sit together then need to go website check-in earlier and select the seats lo. If just check-in straight at the airport counter, then if cannot sit together then too bad liao. 🙄

5 minutes ago, 13177 said:

Aiyo, want to sit together then need to go website check-in earlier and select the seats lo. If just check-in straight at the airport counter, then if cannot sit together then too bad liao. 🙄

First time flyer maybe?

Otherwise...... yes, you are right also.

6 minutes ago, Strat said:

actually they can do their seat selection during check in. 

most likely all the side by side seats are taken and only left single seats.

yes, likely they did not do online checkin beforehand, or worse, did not also go to the checkin counter early ..

but for instances where two (or more) people really want to sit together, should really have paid that few dollars more for seat selection at booking ..

i have been allotted last row centre seat (in my mind possibly the worst seat on the plane) when travelling alone on budget flight but thats something that i took a risk for by saving a handful of dollars not to do seat selection on booking .. cannot blame the airline!

So I'm not the only one confused at his complaint right? It's like ok cool your honeymoon. Everyone else flying to Maldives probably also on their honeymoon. 

Self pawn entitled or noob flyer.

Pity the husband or wife.

Facebook these days are like dirty run-down kopitiam toilet cubicle....anyone can scribble any shit on the cubicle wall...

13 minutes ago, Mooose said:

yes, likely they did not do online checkin beforehand, or worse, did not also go to the checkin counter early ..

but for instances where two (or more) people really want to sit together, should really have paid that few dollars more for seat selection at booking ..

i have been allotted last row centre seat (in my mind possibly the worst seat on the plane) when travelling alone on budget flight but thats something that i took a risk for by saving a handful of dollars not to do seat selection on booking .. cannot blame the airline!

Last row seat on the plane indeed worst seat. I remember the first time i travelled, dont know can go online check-in before hand and also did not go to check-in counter early, and i was given the last row and it feel like i was riding on a roller coaster esp take off, landed and turbulent. Whole flight experience not very good.

1 minute ago, 13177 said:

Last row seat on the plane indeed worst seat. I remember the first time i travelled, dont know can go online check-in before hand and also did not go to check-in counter early, and i was given the last row and it feel like i was riding on a roller coaster esp take off, landed and turbulent. Whole flight experience not very good.

mine not just last row - limited seat back adjustment as the back is against a fixed wall - but also in the middle of three seats, so really hemmed in hahahaha!

Always.  I always pay and select my seats.  And I love emergency seats.  The moment the chiobu walk up to me with a smile,  I will say first ,  yes I know this is an emergency seat,  and I have no problem opening the emergency exit door during an emergency.  [:p][laugh][laugh]

Edited by Tianmo

Confession time:

Many years ago, when on my way back from LAX transit Narita to Singapore, I missed the early on-line check in period (that was a period of damn expensive roaming charges and not to talk about roaming data charges). Was also busy making sure all my self-drive itinerary went as planned.

Long story cut short, by the time I return my rental car at the airport (LAX) and got to the check in counter, there were no more couple seating available. End up me and my then GF had to sit a few rows away from each other for the hours long flight. She was not happy about it and especially when she was seated beside a 100+kg ang moh lady.....😅 But to be honest...secretly I kind of enjoyed that few hours of "alone time" with me, my headphone and my inflight movies.😁

Up to now my now wife never fail to poke at me for that incident.😋

Edited by Vratenza
  • Haha! 12