13177 Hypersonic July 12, 2022 Share July 12, 2022 39 minutes ago, kobayashiGT said: As an industry person and a used car buyer myself, "I never bought a new car before". Ubi should stay. The ecosystem for dealers is there. A stone throws away at Ubi road 4, there is tons of workshops for the dealer to get their car spruce up. Ubi is like Sim Lim to the PC world leng kee is like Funan to the PC world. They cater to a different group of market. It will spoil the experience if all the clientele goes to the same place and buy cars. The road will get congested. "Until we have an online shopping mode that guarantees our purchases, brick and mortar shop must be here for the consumers." - KobayashiGT. 😂 Maybe when next time no more ICE car and only have EV car, then maybe no need Ubi liao? Lol. ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
shrjun 5th Gear July 12, 2022 Share July 12, 2022 17 hours ago, ER-3682 said: Nobody ask you test drive so fast,i test drive my 2009 370z & 2018 M240i only at 60Km/h. Did the 240i shift into 2nd gear ? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic July 12, 2022 Share July 12, 2022 2 minutes ago, shrjun said: Did the 240i shift into 2nd gear ? Unless he slam, he is likely travelling on 6th gear on expressway 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
shrjun 5th Gear July 12, 2022 Share July 12, 2022 1 minute ago, inlinesix said: Unless he slam, he is likely travelling on 6th gear on expressway Unlikely that a PML test drive ended up on the expressway. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
kobayashiGT Internal Moderator July 12, 2022 Share July 12, 2022 39 minutes ago, 13177 said: Maybe when next time no more ICE car and only have EV car, then maybe no need Ubi liao? Lol. Vision for 2045. Give Ubi at least a 10-year lease. Our power grid now is not made for EV charging. will chick-ba-boom one. hahahah. When all car become EV, the market will change again. You will see website like Reebelo, you just click click click, drive there and drop your car and you can go purchase your next car. Same as what we do for our mobile phone now. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic July 12, 2022 Share July 12, 2022 4 minutes ago, kobayashiGT said: Vision for 2045. Give Ubi at least a 10-year lease. Our power grid now is not made for EV charging. will chick-ba-boom one. hahahah. When all car become EV, the market will change again. You will see website like Reebelo, you just click click click, drive there and drop your car and you can go purchase your next car. Same as what we do for our mobile phone now. Current Reebelo only sell electronic stuff, maybe next time can find EV car there liao. Lol. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
ER-3682 Twincharged July 12, 2022 Share July 12, 2022 29 minutes ago, shrjun said: Did the 240i shift into 2nd gear ? 7th Gear. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
kobayashiGT Internal Moderator July 12, 2022 Share July 12, 2022 36 minutes ago, 13177 said: Current Reebelo only sell electronic stuff, maybe next time can find EV car there liao. Lol. I won't be surprised. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tarzan666 2nd Gear July 12, 2022 Share July 12, 2022 2 hours ago, kobayashiGT said: As an industry person and a used car buyer myself, "I never bought a new car before". Ubi should stay. The ecosystem for dealers is there. A stone throws away at Ubi road 4, there is tons of workshops for the dealer to get their car spruce up. Ubi is like Sim Lim to the PC world leng kee is like Funan to the PC world. They cater to a different group of market. It will spoil the experience if all the clientele goes to the same place and buy cars. The road will get congested. "Until we have an online shopping mode that guarantees our purchases, brick and mortar shop must be here for the consumers." - KobayashiGT. 😂 To add on, car accessories shops and even ubi driving centre is nearby. Its like car haven there.. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic July 12, 2022 Share July 12, 2022 38 minutes ago, Tarzan666 said: To add on, car accessories shops and even ubi driving centre is nearby. Its like car haven there.. The ubi driving centre there got any plans to relocate? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Atonchia Supersonic July 12, 2022 Share July 12, 2022 21 hours ago, t0y0ta said: Govt should renew, at least 10 years more. So wasteful of materials and money to keep on tearing down and rebuilding. Yes it's really wasteful. But it helps construction industry. Actually demolished building materials (hardcore) can be recycled. Like materials use for road base or for filling up land reclamation projects. Most industrial buildings mainly made up of have concrete and reinforced steel bars. Then the utilities piping/trunking, sewerage and waste water system, air ventilation ducts, fire safety systems, lift systems. There rest are fixture and fittings. Copper probably the 1st material those in the demolition industry will strip out and sell. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Atonchia Supersonic July 12, 2022 Share July 12, 2022 20 hours ago, SGCM928 said: I personally find having the Leng Lee automotive belt is good enough for the entire Singapore population. It is located quite in the central (OK, leaning more towards the west) and even potential buyer from say Tampines and Pasir Ris would not have to drive anything more than 25km to reach the various showrooms situated at Leng Kee. There is one thing I seriously hope the relevant authorities would consider when designating the next automotive belt in the East (after taking back all the lands at Ubi for residential development, which should be part of the major revamp after relocation of Paya Lebar airbase), is to have a a suitable infrastructure / road for customers to do a proper test drive. I always find test driving a car at relatively high speed of over 80Kmh at a densely populated housing estate posing a certain degree of hazard to the other road users and pedestrian around the vicinity. And for buyer of fast car, by the time they change to 3rd gear, speed is likely to exceed 100kmh, and that is not a proper test drive in anyway. Anyone remember Dr. M jonce joked that before changing to 5th gear, car in Singapore would already ended up in the sea? Usually used car showrooms nearby will have the supporting service industries like car workshops, tyres and rims shops, licence plate makers, car care / grooming services, car interior / upholstery service provider. Because they are near, its easier for used car dealers to turnaround the car in reselling condition. If new car showrooms then it can be anywhere. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic July 12, 2022 Share July 12, 2022 52 minutes ago, Atonchia said: Yes it's really wasteful. But it helps construction industry. Actually demolished building materials (hardcore) can be recycled. Like materials use for road base or for filling up land reclamation projects. Most industrial buildings mainly made up of have concrete and reinforced steel bars. Then the utilities piping/trunking, sewerage and waste water system, air ventilation ducts, fire safety systems, lift systems. There rest are fixture and fittings. Copper probably the 1st material those in the demolition industry will strip out and sell. This one no need to help construction industry also ok la, since there are so many BTOs going now?! Lol. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Spurman Supercharged July 12, 2022 Share July 12, 2022 This Ubi mart looks still fresh.... Modern design I guess a bit sayang to dui lum the building leh. Extend lease bah. 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
macrosszero Turbocharged July 12, 2022 Share July 12, 2022 1 hour ago, Atonchia said: Yes it's really wasteful. But it helps construction industry. Actually demolished building materials (hardcore) can be recycled. Like materials use for road base or for filling up land reclamation projects. Most industrial buildings mainly made up of have concrete and reinforced steel bars. Then the utilities piping/trunking, sewerage and waste water system, air ventilation ducts, fire safety systems, lift systems. There rest are fixture and fittings. Copper probably the 1st material those in the demolition industry will strip out and sell. In general better to repurpose than recycle from redevelopment. It is the least wasteful in terms of resources. But big infra developments is the engine of Singapore’s economy and so tear down to rebuild, we must. Moreover as I said earlier, there is an opportunity cost to leaving them there past 2030. They can still remain in the district sure, but it should be a case like the Sin Ming single storey workshops being moved to a high rise complex to be more space efficient. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ho2786 4th Gear July 12, 2022 Share July 12, 2022 demolish and sell to condo developers for one billion. government not stupid 2 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
shrjun 5th Gear July 12, 2022 Share July 12, 2022 (edited) 5 hours ago, ER-3682 said: 7th Gear. that's not a test drive . that's going to the market . never test whether car got 335 bhp or not. Edited July 12, 2022 by shrjun Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rickster 5th Gear July 12, 2022 Share July 12, 2022 (edited) 4 hours ago, 13177 said: The ubi driving centre there got any plans to relocate? I suspect alot of them relocated to Carro center, Jalan lam huat. Recently took a walk there and was surprised there are now so many PIs and used car dealers there. It's becoming like a bigger version of AML. Edited July 12, 2022 by Rickster ↡ Advertisement 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...