Switzerland 2022

Wildfaye29

Sorry MIL of @Jamesc cannot visit u this year. Maybe next time.

So its been decided, we are going to Switzerland for 3 weeks! Nov-Dec.

We are flying in/out of Munich and will drive into Zurich and the rest of Switzerland. 

Planning to follow this 3 weekk itinerary:

https://theplanetd.com/switzerland-road-trip-itineray/

Slight adjustments to spend abt 2-3 nights in Germany due to the flight.

Any must see, must do, please share.

Thank you very much!

16 minutes ago, Wildfaye29 said:

We are flying in/out of Munich and will drive into Zurich and the rest of Switzerland. 

Thank you very much!

That's so sad you can't visit @Jamesc MIL. Actually, I think you can accommodate her in your itinerary. I don't think @Jamesc minds whether you throw her down the Swiss Alps, Mt Fuji or Mt Everest. He's a very understanding and accommodating friend and SIL. 😁

30 minutes ago, Wildfaye29 said:

Thank you very much!

The standard Lucerne and mt pilatus. Go to jungfraujoch and pop by interlaken. 
for food try kirschtortle from zug. Cake with cherry brandy. A unique Swiss cake. 
if you don’t mind cheese, then the typical fondue or raclatte. 
I would say skip bern. Nothing much. 
should add geneve. Quite interesting and different to the Swiss german parts. 

will think of more later on

Edited by Mkl22

In Geneva if you want a rolex from the factory but don't want to pay full price.

Look for my fren Fritz. He will be standing by the lake with the water sprout.

This is his picture.

Tell him jamesc sent you. I get commission.

th-2.jpg.ebdc7710ee6fa5b78f04ee1a2981a86b.jpg

1 hour ago, Wildfaye29 said:

Thank you very much!

On 6/24/2022 at 9:14 PM, Mkl22 said:

The standard Lucerne and mt pilatus. Go to jungfraujoch and pop by interlaken. 
for food try kirschtortle from zug. Cake with cherry brandy. A unique Swiss cake. 
if you don’t mind cheese, then the typical fondue or raclatte. 
I would say skip bern. Nothing much. 
should add geneve. Quite interesting and different to the Swiss german parts. 

will think of more later on

Yeap, Interlaken is nice.  There is a watch shop there and I am always amused when a tour bus arrive with PRCs. They rushed in, whack the watches and then  rush back into the bus all within 15 minutes. Very efficient and no need to think much...lol

Bern ok la....funny to see a Bata shop there.....lol

On 6/24/2022 at 8:44 PM, Wildfaye29 said:

Thank you very much!

I think that 3-week itinerary covers almost all liow there is to see...

Just be prepared for very expensive food and drinks even for simple food.

I went there like a decade ago and after 2 weeks I was bored with Swiss and pretty much most of Europe....lol. 

When on top of the snow mountain, must try to go sledding ya. It is fun and memorable experience.

Enjoy your trip. Will be awesome!

Edited by Starry

Any suggestions for data usage in Switzerland for a family of 4? 16 days in Swiss, 4 days in Germany.

Mainly for whatsapp and maps while on the road.

Will keep the entertain usage to a minimum - try to use wifi at hotels.

Cheap, good, and many GB as possible please.

TIA!

On 8/21/2022 at 10:32 AM, Wildfaye29 said:

Any suggestions for data usage in Switzerland for a family of 4? 16 days in Swiss, 4 days in Germany.

Mainly for whatsapp and maps while on the road.

Will keep the entertain usage to a minimum - try to use wifi at hotels.

Cheap, good, and many GB as possible please.

TIA!

Wow! Congratulations on your Switzerland trip... actually spending so long in one country, buay sian meh?

When I went to UK + Europe in 2018, I bought 20GB from EE for my 32 day trip - UK + France + Switzerland, and cos UK was still in EU then, roaming was free... so look online for data plans from the big telcos in Switzerland and look for free roaming throughout Europe... each person 20 GB probably more than enough since you'll be using hotel wifi at the start and end of the day...

I will suggest that you half drive and half train... unless you've done trains in Switzerland before... like that you, the driver, get to enjoy the fantastic scenery also... and the routes are different... so you might want to plan for that... and remember if you drive you need to buy the highway pass and it's not sold at the rental car company, I can't remember now how to get it but you can apply beforehand... for extended trips, the Swiss Half Pass is cheapest but you still have to get tickets (which I dislike cos waste time even though it's very efficient in Switzerland)... I just decided to pay more for the Swiss Travel Pass and just get on the train without thinking too much about trying to get the best deal... ha ha...

For food hor... don't think lar... just pay... can't be helped one... a steak can cost 85 Swiss Francs... my wife had one in Wengen... everywhere also got cows but the steak still so expensive... a tip is to tabao... cos services are expensive... in that same Wengen village (foothill of Jungfrau), dine roast chicken was charged at 42 Swiss Francs, the waiter said why don't takeaway, only 21 Swiss Francs, so we did and saved half the cost... which ironically went to paying for vegetables like cucumbers and tomatoes for our same meal...

Do try to stay in small villages... the feel is quite different from the large cities... there are many off-the-beaten track villages which are nearby the big cities... since you drive, then moving about isn't much of a problem... but for places like Murren or Wengen, they're car free... so you have to dump your car somewhere... which is why I decided to do trains... plus driving in the cities was quite painful....

Thank you very much!

Dun worry if you cannot I can take her along to almost Arctic..... near Lapland and Tromsoe which is the furthest I am going and dump her there in the Arctic Sea :grin: 

I will be at Santa's village then on X'mas so she can be a child herself and U send Santa your wishes ok @Jamesc........... so be a good boy till then :grin: 

I agree with all.

16 days in swiss is really long unless you have specific things to do.

But the good thing is if bored of Sw can cross into Italy, France, Germany, Austria and Liechtenstein.

Will be cheaper on the wallet and better food.

I am not ignorant so I know got different types of Swiss people.

German speaking, French speaking and Italian speaking but the whole country is the same, the food is the same the people are the same.

Scenery is also the same.

Everything is the same and after a week it might get a bit sian.

If that's the case drive over the border and suddenly it's so different in France or Italy or Austria.

Because SW was so peaceful and boring a lot of people fell asleep during the day.

So the clever Swiss people invented a device to wake anyone sleeping during the day and a bird will fly out of his little bird house and go cuckoo every 15 mins.

19 hours ago, Jamesc said:

I agree with all.

16 days in swiss is really long unless you have specific things to do.

But the good thing is if bored of Sw can cross into Italy, France, Germany, Austria and Liechtenstein.

Will be cheaper on the wallet and better food.

Been to a few European countries...refreshing at first...started to feel sian on day 4...all breakies and scenes sama sama...especially those cathedrals...I couldn't tell which is which from where by looking at the photos...

Also been to that ang moh kio sized Liechtenstein...less than half a day to cover the entire country...nice folks though. 

The most memorable moment was in Paris...wife and I ordered a steak set but waited long before the steak was served because their culture was they won't serve the mains until we finish the soup...the "best" part of that meal was we ordered a 'well done''...i tink their chef had never cook well done before...sibeh hard to bite and chew...😅

Then went to a cafe after our failed attempt to look for the 'delifrance'...only to find out later that it's not a French brand at all 😂

...wanted to try local French coffee and spent like 15 mins to go through the entire menu only in French without any picture...came a pot of tea becos the word fusion was literally teabag fused with hot water in French...and at first we thought it's a mixture of different coffee beans...🤣

The tale of 2 mountain turtles from Sillypore in Europe 😁