Upsize battery better?

Mkl22

20 hours ago, Arogab said:

Mine is low mileage and I was asked if I wanted to change after 4 years. I just change lor. 

When to change battery should be better rated by the number of cranks.

But since it's hard to count, it's easier to go by time period, assuming everyone start car average 2 to 4 times a day.

19 hours ago, Sdf4786k said:

U need a reliable workshop or battery supplier to run a diagnostic or in some case, your car infor system will ping you on SOC state of charge .

doing a estimate is a waste of money. Trying to help everyone save money at this time of inflation worry 

my servicing with C&C will have the state of charge report every servicing. 2 years to 2.5 years is standard for me. Have failed once in 2 years before even with good battery state. 

My car battery have the SOC indicator itself and it shown still ok(engine idling) after 2yrs & 3mths.

Cranking with push start button hard to distinguish battery good/bad

Will monitor closely thou....

(I miss the old tech key start & wet battery.......dinosaur uncle here😂)

I once parked the car outside mscp overnight. Couldn't start after a few cranks...finally managed to start then drove for 20mins but the battery level still low at around 12v...

Drove to a nearby workshop to check and was told to change either the main or auxiliary battery...it's a 400 or 300 dollah option...i didn't take the bait and drove off...

...still on the same batteries after 6 months...i tink my car caught a cold parking outside...😁

21 hours ago, Kb27 said:

When to change battery should be better rated by the number of cranks.

But since it's hard to count, it's easier to go by time period, assuming everyone start car average 2 to 4 times a day.

Aiyah, got equipment to measure the battery health mah. When I took over Thailand's car, 2 months only I told my HR got problem and the battery guys came, show me the test result and say still can use few months, I told the guy just change it to avoid headache cos the crank is lousy as I can feel. 

As for my ride at home, also they tell you during the service period, advisable to change. Of cos they will tell you a bit earlier. But should be ok and at least I know what I want

Driving in SG is already so stressed. Still cracking our heads and going into nitty gritty details on the battery. Just drive and embrace the car's tech including Auto Start/Stop. 

I once posted a long post with guidance on how to take care of a battery (with guidance from a reputable battery specialist and also my own experience - I'm engineering trained). 

You can wire you car camera to battery, to ignition, to external battery pack. There is no one solution that fits all. Which option to do it depends on your driving pattern and how you maintain it. Not much of the battery size, alternator size and all that. There's a reason why car designers spec them as such and it's already with buffer. No need to put so many snake oil into your car for a minor difference in cost. (I'll tell you why later.)

To keep things simple:

1. Change your car battery once every 2 to 2.5 years be it is AGM, EFB or normal battery. You can kiasu - change it earlier or stretch it. It's all up to you. 

2. Have a portable battery jump starter in your car. In case you stretch it and the battery dies, you can still use the portable battery to jump start the car and drive to a workshop and get it replace. Btw, there are many on-site battery recovery/replacement services so no need think so much. 

3. Battery checker is optional la. Workshops usually will check your battery health status. Just monitor any abnormalities and change it when you find it abnormal or when 2-2.5 years is up. But if you do want one, get one that gives you the voltage, cold cranking amp, state-of-charge, etc. A multi-meter can only tell you voltage (when engine off) and whether your alternator is working (i.e. charging) when engine is running. 

Let's assume a typical battery cost $280 and you use it for 2 years. It works out to be $280/12/30 = 70 cents per day. I'm sure if we drive a tens or hundreds of thousand value car, no need create a headache for yourself with an operating cost of 70 cents per day for a battery. Our yearly depre for the car is much more higher than these kind of consumables. Petrol cost is increasing every week yet we still need to pump and drive ma. 

Cheers!

Edited by Wormee

Some cars is like a zero or one situation.. one moment you driving and just an hour ago n the next moment you try to start, cannot crank

My car using the old skool wet battery which I heard can last a long time.

Will test the limit. 😁

On 6/16/2022 at 12:21 PM, Columbian78 said:

Previously I will change around 2 years which is usually when I start to feel regular cranking weakness.

Nowadays with a backup starter like lipo starter, just change when the batt really start failing. Its so easy to get it started again, no need waste a good batt.

Yep save the environment save money. Lithium jump starter only costs about 100 bucks. 

I replace the batteries only when really cannot start the car after parking overnight. No need to be so kiasu as long as have own jump starter. 

2 hours ago, Fcw75 said:

Will test the limit. 😁

Now all same same. Cut cost. Lead plates are thin my friend. 

• Sad 2

Since i start having a lipo backup jumpstart battery bank in 2014, i dun really care when my car battery will die cos i can jumpstart it anytime shld it give up, this is esp important when going on road trip to msia/thailand, so my focus now is ensuring my lipo battery is well maintained n working good, can use it as power bank or torchlight some more in emergency, very good ah.... haha!

1 hour ago, Cheesey74 said:

Since i start having a lipo backup jumpstart battery bank in 2014, i dun really care when my car battery will die cos i can jumpstart it anytime shld it give up, this is esp important when going on road trip to msia/thailand, so my focus now is ensuring my lipo battery is well maintained n working good, can use it as power bank or torchlight some more in emergency, very good ah.... haha!

There are lipo batt that is 1kg .. massive weight savings instead of usual AGM batt at 4.6kg

but don’t expect to start after one week vacation 

Edited by Sdf4786k

11 hours ago, Fcw75 said:

Will test the limit. 😁

Get a battery tester. It does work rather well. 

17 minutes ago, Mkl22 said:

Get a battery tester. It does work rather well. 

Yep bro, I got one liao. 😁

3 hours ago, Cheesey74 said:

The problem with lipo jumpstarter is it’s not good to leave it in the car due to the heat, which is quite duhhhhhh actually. 🤣

36 minutes ago, Fcw75 said:

The problem with lipo jumpstarter is it’s not good to leave it in the car due to the heat, which is quite duhhhhhh actually. 🤣

Exactly. Yet another item to remember to check and charge. 

4 minutes ago, Mkl22 said:

Exactly. Yet another item to remember to check and charge. 

I had 2 which became bloated, got brand also no use.

But my car is always parked outdoors so maybe that’s why.

If yours always parked indoors be it at home or at work, then it’s fine I guess.

@Fcw75 Yup - I use a wet battery till 3.5 years then it says goodbye to me.

Of course, need to top up the battery water as and when especially u pack outdoor.