Soho 4th Gear March 14, 2010 Share March 14, 2010 come on... put urself into the private owner's shoe... wat if u come home and no place to park? and ppl who have no business or wat so ever just come and park infront of ur hse? yes its public place.. so may i know if i just place some pot of flower outside ur hse the common corridor u happy? its the same thing u see...i happy happy park my bicycle infront of ur hse and tell u its public area see wat u think.. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Shull Turbocharged March 14, 2010 Share March 14, 2010 come on... put urself into the private owner's shoe... wat if u come home and no place to park? and ppl who have no business or wat so ever just come and park infront of ur hse? yes its public place.. so may i know if i just place some pot of flower outside ur hse the common corridor u happy? its the same thing u see...i happy happy park my bicycle infront of ur hse and tell u its public area see wat u think.. i guess the main argument here is whether there is any obstruction or not..if the bicycle is not obstructing my path, then i'll just live and let live..as easy as that.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Philipkee Twincharged March 14, 2010 Share March 14, 2010 Think that in this scenario, the point is legal vs ethcal right. Legally, the roaitd outside private houses are public so can park legally but when it causes inconvenience to the house house owners, another issue. I feel that if cars wanna park there, other than house owners, be a bit auto and think for the house owner. He needs a place to park his car too and he has no choice where to park. Visitors have a choice. At most, like in geylang, dun go there la. If i put a bicycle outside your house and sayit is common corridor, will u be happy? Maybe if no inconvenience but what if u want to buy a bicycle for yourself? And the whole corridor is full of neighbour's things and visitors' bicycles? And the only place to put your bicycle is the bicycle lot under your block (where it could be easily stolen). Would you be happy? After all, I parked my bicycle is a public area and you can walk and out of your home and hey, you you can still park you can still park your bicycle downstairs.................. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Extramint Clutched March 14, 2010 Share March 14, 2010 for my situation, i have cars parking near my place, but never infront of my place. if that happens, obviously the car and its driver asking for real trouble lah. usually they just park along the roads, no obstructions done or any harm done. i will take it easy because outside my gate, the road doesnt belong to me. just a note, there's no lines at all on the side of the road, only dotted divider in the centre. between our neighbours, we have come to a good mutual understanding that we will not park at the lot directly infront beside of our unit. most of the units in my estate have more than 1 cars, more than half of them have more than 2 and sadly, our unit's garage space only fits 2 cars. those who have more than 2, no choice have to park outside. those who have S-class, park inside means only can fit 1 car.. thats why half of our roads is congested by parked cars at night. our so-called "peace" is only disturbed when theres a festive occassion where people come and visit and they anyhow park. only during such occassions then i think my neighbours and myself will feel frustrated because our cars wouldnt have enough space for parking. but what to do, we don't own the roads. if LTA comes up with a scheme, like every private property owner entitled to the lot (lines drawn) directly infront beside his unit, and have to pay, i think alot of owners will gladly pay... to minimise inconvenience. luckily, for my estate, the nearest HDB is very far away so no idiots come and take advantage of the free parking. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cleefho 1st Gear March 15, 2010 Share March 15, 2010 Lol..... Too bad for those property owners lor..... They don't own the road. So.... too bad for them. Not happy? Call police then. sometimes we do call the police but as access road are classified as private in fact, TP does not interfere. they will sent the police car instead. for those who do not know, call URA to check Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cleefho 1st Gear March 15, 2010 Share March 15, 2010 (edited) it is very sad that most just want to take sides and not view matter from dif angles. we really need to be more tolerant when we are in public and not always toking about right or wrong. worst treating police as our servant to settle all disbutes..........this is unique only in singapore. Edited March 15, 2010 by Cleefho Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kklim Supercharged March 15, 2010 Share March 15, 2010 .. a house owner after moving away his vehicle from the spot outside his house, will actually place the bin in the same spot then drive off... This chow-kuan behaviour is very common in Soo Chow Way and Jasmine Road. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jl255 Clutched March 15, 2010 Share March 15, 2010 agreed, just remove their bins. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Extramint Clutched March 15, 2010 Share March 15, 2010 agreed, just remove their bins. most people would do that, if really in need of a lot. but if the owner comes back faster than you return to your car, the car might be subjected to nasty stuffs. and you won't have evidence to show its from him later most probably. some people would risk it... some would avoid this. just to share, in a private estate, there are different kind of lots.. those that are used by the unit / house directly infront or beside it.. and those that are randomly used by any of the neighbours because the lots are located in a less common area. park those lots, walk further, minus the trouble, reduce inconveniences for yourself and the people living there. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tom-Mouse Neutral Newbie March 15, 2010 Share March 15, 2010 it is very sad that most just want to take sides and not view matter from dif angles. we really need to be more tolerant when we are in public and not always toking about right or wrong. worst treating police as our servant to settle all disbutes..........this is unique only in singapore. if the parking problem is front of your gate day in day out you will be cursing and swearing and singing a different tune Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
1l0v3you Clutched March 15, 2010 Share March 15, 2010 (edited) those who lived in landed will have the common understanding that the space infront of your house is your parking space till your wall boundary with your side neighbours. people live landed come to hdb also have to pay coupons what. you go landed places also 'auto' abit lah. hahaha. makes so much sense. fair and square! lucky my here have ample free parking spaces for the resident and their guests so no such troubles even if not enough space, usually the people here will be considerate and not park right outside the house. and even if they did, we dont mind as long as they park properly Edited March 15, 2010 by 1l0v3you Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chrispie 5th Gear March 15, 2010 Author Share March 15, 2010 (edited) i guess most house owners here are looking at cases where the driver parked in a way such that the entrance is more of less obstructed.. well, if its my house, and a car parked such that it infringed into the gate area, i will be super pissed too. But i guess i will be leaving a note to inform the driver of his inconsideration. That aside, having discussed to a great length here, my key question is what is the house owner's attitude towards a driver if he is to park outside your compound but did not cause any obstruction. Refer to attached picture for reference. And is it correct for the owner of the house to place object on that space to either: 1. reserve the space for personal use. 2. Prevent others from obstructing the entrance? Most people wants to be nice, and in my case, if i had parked nicely, and the owner is to place a bin to lean on my door to punish me, is it justifiable? Like someone here also said, if buay song, play scratch and win. So what give and take are we talking about? This may seem trivial, as the issue is simply about a parking space. But i see it as an erosion of civic mindedness and selfishness at its height. If in anyway the owner feel that I am causing any inconvenience, be a gentleman, talk to me or write me a note. Placing a bin is really no class. But again, it may be the act of some passer by that was too free. Edited March 15, 2010 by Chrispie Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tom-Mouse Neutral Newbie March 15, 2010 Share March 15, 2010 (edited) i guess most house owners here are looking at cases where the driver parked in a way such that the entrance is more of less obstructed.. well, if its my house, and a car parked such that it infringed into the gate area, i will be super pissed too. But i guess i will be leaving a note to inform the driver of his inconsideration. That aside, having discussed to a great length here, my key question is what is the house owner's attitude towards a driver if he is to park outside your compound but did not cause any obstruction. Refer to attached picture for reference. And is it correct for the owner of the house to place object on that space to either: 1. reserve the space for personal use. 2. Prevent others from obstructing the entrance? Most people wants to be nice, and in my case, if i had parked nicely, and the owner is to place a bin to lean on my door to punish me, is it justifiable? Like someone here also said, if buay song, play scratch and win. So what give and take are we talking about? This may seem trivial, as the issue is simply about a parking space. But i see it as an erosion of civic mindedness and selfishness at its height. If in anyway the owner feel that I am causing any inconvenience, be a gentleman, talk to me or write me a note. Placing a bin is really no class. But again, it may be the act of some passer by that was too free. not an issue if park properly and do not cause obstruction and inconvenience and do not leave rubbish behind ...... i know some drivers throw their rubbish out of their car when they leave the parking space Edited March 15, 2010 by Tom-Mouse Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Extramint Clutched March 15, 2010 Share March 15, 2010 in some private estate, really void of parking space.. moreover what if the house only allows 1 car to be parked inside, and most private owners i know have more than 1 car. so they park outside naturally. who likes to park far away from their own house if they live in that estate? eventually but slowly, there will be this common understanding between the people living there loh. as long as they don't obstruct one another or park another neighbour's lot, all is fine. it is not fine when people not living there, start to park there.. these are the people who arent aware of the "common understanding" and just park anyhow. i don't blame them because they don't live there. its not correct for private house owners to "chop" lots for themselves, but sometimes we need to understand, give and take. in my estate, theres a stretch of road for e.g can park 3 cars, then a non-neighbour comes and park in a way that only can park his car, or just 2.. this will give rise to inconvenience. if it was a neighbour, we would have parked close to each other, maximising use of space. so naturally, we become pissed at "outsiders" over time. PS: i don't reserve lots for myself outside my gate. at my area, we dont park outside other people's house, only outside our own.. this is the common understanding i was talking about. during festive occassions, i prefer to park my car outside and drive the car parked in my house.. in that way, saves me the hassle later when i return home. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beehive3783 Turbocharged March 15, 2010 Share March 15, 2010 give and take lar.. quarrel over this for wat? there are always 2 sides to a coin. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chrispie 5th Gear March 15, 2010 Author Share March 15, 2010 give and take lar.. quarrel over this for wat? there are always 2 sides to a coin. haha.. i would love to. Until i see a bin leaning on my car door. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beehive3783 Turbocharged March 15, 2010 Share March 15, 2010 haha.. i would love to. Until i see a bin leaning on my car door. well, whoever did that was wrong, no doubt about it. but i guess there's no point starting a thread here to argue about who has the right to park where right? being considerate means thinking on both sides of the situation. i do park in private estates ocassionally, but i usually park where there is no house on the same side as i'm parking, reduces chances of conflict and sabotage. just try not to park near to any houses, all should be fine i guess.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Boyboy 1st Gear March 15, 2010 Share March 15, 2010 just so that u know, very often there are two sets of rules. one for residents (and to a lesser extent, guests), and another for free-riders like yourself. when i say two sets of rules, i mean that sometimes, residents may call in the TP or NPP to summon the illegal parkers, and those who live there usually wun kena unless they obstruct traffic. another thing is, it is illegal to chope spaces by the roadside with dustbin n whatnot, but usually the authorities will not bother. so, you may be legally correct, but no point offending people lah. just spend some time looking for a lot which isn't lorded over by a possessive resident. i used to stay in pte estate, now i'm a cheapskate who prefers such eating/shopping places as J8 and beauty world area because there are pte estates nearby. i am happy to walk a bit further to enjoy free parking while not pissing anyone off in the process. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...