Branteo Clutched May 30, 2011 Share May 30, 2011 My house in front is special . It is not illegal to park so TP wont come. The point is if you park to visit me i sure support you. If you park to visit my neighbors they will support you If you park to take advantage of the residents and genuine visitors expense, we will purposely report you. But generally we are nice people If it's not illegal to park = no offence committed. Henceforth, on what grounds are you reporting that driver? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yogi 1st Gear May 30, 2011 Share May 30, 2011 What do you guys thinks if LTA/SLA allows a house owner to buy the parking space(s) infront of his house so that the house owner legally owns that parking space? Will that end the all these "its a public road" reason/excuse? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
FerrariCalifornia_ Neutral Newbie May 30, 2011 Share May 30, 2011 when we park illegally and tio summon ,we comprian. now park legally no tio summon also comprain. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Powersteer Clutched May 30, 2011 Share May 30, 2011 to be honest ... its has never been legal to park along roads that have no single white line or double yellow. our garment have a catch all that deems ALL parking at non-designated places ILLEGAL. meaning, as long as there is no lot, you can get a nice cool ticket Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Throttle2 Supersonic May 30, 2011 Share May 30, 2011 If it's not illegal to park = no offence committed. Henceforth, on what grounds are you reporting that driver? You're right, thats why I never report. Got no grounds to. I was referring to a collective behaviour not specifically for my own individual situation. anyway for my area, the density is very low and errant/inconsiderate parking is not an issue. Thank goodness. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Throttle2 Supersonic May 30, 2011 Share May 30, 2011 What do you guys thinks if LTA/SLA allows a house owner to buy the parking space(s) infront of his house so that the house owner legally owns that parking space? Will that end the all these "its a public road" reason/excuse? that is actually possible. but usually people dont buy. in other words, it is possible to rent a part of what is deemed state land on a temporary basis, renewable after X period of time. Especially if it is not heavily used by public and if it does not create inconvenience to general public. my old property had a common area which had a long term lease on a small strip of land belonging to the state. the size of 2 carpark lots Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Thinthin Neutral Newbie May 30, 2011 Share May 30, 2011 Erm..am ok with other people parking along the road outside my house..but i really do hope they don't park against the flow of the traffic and for goodness sake, park properly and not in the middle of the lane! Yes agree , we are nice and considerate to allow them to park , as long as they are considerate2 , but more often our flexibility were taken for granted by these tidak apa attitudes of inconsiderate drivers , ppl parking their cars that not only took the whole day and sometimes even over night !! how would u feel after a hard day's work to come home to see yr lot taken up and u cannot park in yr own estate ??? Its really really ....frustrating !!! Worst the cars that parked even obstructed the path of cars coming out of the house !! ....... What do u tink the House owner should do ??? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Meanmachine Supercharged August 21, 2011 Share August 21, 2011 Sometimes i really wonder what makes some of these house owners think that they own the road outside their houses too. So often you see people put their trashbins along the kerb just to prevent others from parking outside their houses. I mean, the road is common property, and if there is no double yellow lines or whatsoever, it is LEGAL to park. Even if there is dbl yellow line, i can still park if i want as i am taking the risks in getting a summon. Yesterday, i parked outside this house along carpmael road (off joochiat).. there is no marking on the road, so its legal. The kerb between the 2 houses is actually long enough to accomodate my car length. I even got out the car after i parked to ensure i am not obstructing any of the unit's entrance... When i return to my car.. someone actually leaned the trashbin AGAINST (not just near) my driver's door. It is just sickening to the core. I was tempted to ring the bell of the house but even if they did, they will deny the deed. And yes, there is a chance its really not them, but the mischieve of some boliao people. I had seen before, a house owner after moving away his vehicle from the spot outside his house, will actually place the bin in the same spot then drive off...what i did then was to remove the bin and park there. For house owners that are in the forum here, do you use bins to chop the road outside your house too? And do you have the possessive mindset of the road outside your houses too? seen too many examples at these estates. Bro, I had same encounter, come back at nite and throw the whole trash inside/outside the house lor! Once I wanted to park my car along Jln, A....., saw a plastic chair placed outside the empty lot, I simply took the chair and drove off, the owner dare not place anything outside anymore . . . I would have kicked the trash-bin accidentally and drive off, the space does not belong to them. I returned the chair a month later saying , I simply borrow it and tell him not to place anything outside again, if he did, I will not return again. U tink the house owner got the time to watch over who park in front of their house? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic August 21, 2011 Share August 21, 2011 Agreed, i think the house owner has no right to "chop" the space outside their house, cause it belong to the public. Unless you park infront of his gate, then it is not right. I think not only those landed house owner who always like to chop the space outside their house by placing chairs or trashbin. Even those shop owner also same, they always like to chop the parking lot infront of their shop, do you guys think it is correct? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sony 1st Gear August 21, 2011 Share August 21, 2011 Agreed, i think the house owner has no right to "chop" the space outside their house, cause it belong to the public. Unless you park infront of his gate, then it is not right. I think not only those landed house owner who always like to chop the space outside their house by placing chairs or trashbin. Even those shop owner also same, they always like to chop the parking lot infront of their shop, do you guys think it is correct? and also those HDB uncles and aunties that put things outside their flat... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yanbros Neutral Newbie September 6, 2011 Share September 6, 2011 I always walk pass this private estate on my way to work. I believe the owners of these houses are vandalizing cars that are parked overnight outside their house. They will either damage their license plate or remove it entirely. I've also seen them sticking paper with some kind of industrial strength glue. I know its industrial strength cause i've seen how the paper sticks onto the windscreen of the vehicles that park there. The vehicle owner will try to remove the paper but i still see remains of the dried glue. I can't believe how these home owners will retort to vandalism in scaring away those who try to park there. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Helbreath 1st Gear September 6, 2011 Share September 6, 2011 (edited) I think it is funny how these people think that the space outside their homes strictly belongs to them. When they buy the property, they should have considered the no. of cars they going to buy and allocate sufficient parking space inside. If they do not have sufficient space inside their house, they can upgrade to a bigger house or move to a condo. If they cannot afford to do so, they shld not buy a car. They shld regard the parking space outside their hse as a bonus, and not rely on it as if it is their private parking space. Edited September 6, 2011 by Helbreath Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Speeedo Neutral Newbie September 6, 2011 Share September 6, 2011 So then you are suggesting that the street becomes the landed house property? Seriously quite an elitest attitude. When you buy a house you look at the parking situation. Is not up to a "visitor" to the estate to leave spaces in front of your house "just in case" the residents want to park there, and putting up a bin or anything else to "reserve" is just a jerk move. Block the space the whole day when someone may only want to park 5-10 minutes? Only a self entitled, syphilitic used condom does that. its the same mentality when staying in HDB..... planting of potted plants in front of your house.... you can tahan than great.....so i said when property developers buy the plot of land to develop.. they have to include the road being built and in turn it is being added into the cost of buying the landed housing...so technically saying the owner has a the priority of the road directly infront of them even there's no black and white...... so back to topic... if you wanna park for 5-10 mins why not park infront of your friend/relative house... and infront of the other neighbour's house.. so look whose the one being anal... just show how shallow one gets with personal attacks.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Throttle2 Supersonic September 7, 2011 Share September 7, 2011 It's not a question of rights. it's a question of integrity and grace. If you have integrity and grace, you wont park outside people house for long hours extending overnite becasue you want to save a few dollars on parking. If you have integrity and grace, you wont vandalise outsiders who park in front of your house especially due to short visits and emergency cases. I have had outsider park his car in front my my house over nite. I wrote a polite note requesting him not to do so again and thanking him for his consideration. it never happened again. so the lesson to be learnt here is to start politely and it will end politely. we are singapore singaporeans..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
KARTer 2nd Gear September 8, 2011 Share September 8, 2011 I think it is funny how these people think that the space outside their homes strictly belongs to them. When they buy the property, they should have considered the no. of cars they going to buy and allocate sufficient parking space inside. If they do not have sufficient space inside their house, they can upgrade to a bigger house or move to a condo. If they cannot afford to do so, they shld not buy a car. They shld regard the parking space outside their hse as a bonus, and not rely on it as if it is their private parking space. If visitors park in front (but not blocking the access to/from) of a private house i guess its okay. For emergency / short duration, even blocking the gate but leave their hp number on the windscreen is still ok. Give n take a bit between visitors and residents. However, there are big trucks / vans from nearby HDB estates which park along narrow roads in private estates every night and deprive other visitors and residents the space, this is something not too acceptable. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darryn Turbocharged September 8, 2011 Share September 8, 2011 It's not a question of rights. it's a question of integrity and grace. If you have integrity and grace, you wont park outside people house for long hours extending overnite becasue you want to save a few dollars on parking. If you have integrity and grace, you wont vandalise outsiders who park in front of your house especially due to short visits and emergency cases. I have had outsider park his car in front my my house over nite. I wrote a polite note requesting him not to do so again and thanking him for his consideration. it never happened again. so the lesson to be learnt here is to start politely and it will end politely. we are singapore singaporeans..... Why write note? Did you pay for the land OUTSIDE your house as well? Did he block you from coming / going to your house? Although the note may have been polite, and your actions gracious, I find the motivation behind it incredibly rude and assumptive. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darryn Turbocharged September 8, 2011 Share September 8, 2011 Yes agree , we are nice and considerate to allow them to park , as long as they are considerate2 , but more often our flexibility were taken for granted by these tidak apa attitudes of inconsiderate drivers , ppl parking their cars that not only took the whole day and sometimes even over night !! how would u feel after a hard day's work to come home to see yr lot taken up and u cannot park in yr own estate ??? Its really really ....frustrating !!! Worst the cars that parked even obstructed the path of cars coming out of the house !! ....... What do u tink the House owner should do ??? 1. You can park inside your own house 2. Since when is the space on a public road outside your house YOUR LOT? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Throttle2 Supersonic September 8, 2011 Share September 8, 2011 Why write note? Did you pay for the land OUTSIDE your house as well? Did he block you from coming / going to your house? Although the note may have been polite, and your actions gracious, I find the motivation behind it incredibly rude and assumptive. It's not a question of pay or not becos that then become a legal right. Landed housing estates in singapore are generally quite old so the roads may not be as braod as we all hope for. No he didnt totally block me but having a car outside makes it more difficult for owners to drive their car in and out of the house. which is one reason why we mostly park outside in front of the house. So I did my best. Every man for himself but I think I have maintained integrity and consideration for the other man. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...