GLZT 6th Gear May 28, 2011 Share May 28, 2011 yea at the end of the day... this is the best solution la... ask first ... everyone happy... Then again, normally when the owners are home, their car would probably be parked at the lot outside leaving you none to even ask. Many times, is when the residents come back and saw other cars occupying those lots then they get frustrated. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sony 1st Gear May 28, 2011 Share May 28, 2011 sorry to hear that, these are probably the bloody as$holes but the first step is to politely highlight to them. if the response is negative, then confirm they are bloody as$holes. you know how to treat As$holes, right? Looking at the story, I think already burn bridge already. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chrispie 5th Gear May 28, 2011 Author Share May 28, 2011 (edited) I don't live in a house but I can understand the plight of the house owner. It is like having foreign objects right at your doorstep depriving you of the "comfort" space your desire. HDB dwellers, how about letting your neighbours place potted plants or junks outside your common corridor? You have no rights over it but you don't want that to happen, do you? It is also similar to why Singaporeans are shunning foreign workers who are now displacing their jobs and crowding public transports, though this is quite a different issue. Always put yourself in others' shoes and you will see things differently. hahaha.. so surprised that such an old thread got dug out. I think we cannot really compare hdb corridor space to parking space outside private properties lah.. if neighbour do put junks outside my house, then the junks will be cleared by the cleaners. If they do put potted plants outside my place, and its a nice pot and he make sure he doesnt dirty the area or cause inconvenience to my family, im ok too. (placing at the door is another thing lah. that is war liao.. i dont park at ppl's gate do i?) assuming that the road is a public one, 1. Owner shouldnt claim any right to the lot by placing any object 2. Anyone can park as long as posing no danger, no physical inconvenience, obstruction to the house owner or the traffic. (if owner parking kayu, cannot reverse in cause of his/her lack of skill, then too bad) 3. As long as the car does not become a permanent fixture. (call LTA) Anyone seconder kee qiu? Edited May 28, 2011 by Chrispie Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
KARTer 2nd Gear May 28, 2011 Share May 28, 2011 (edited) So then you are suggesting that the street becomes the landed house property? Seriously quite an elitest attitude. When you buy a house you look at the parking situation. Is not up to a "visitor" to the estate to leave spaces in front of your house "just in case" the residents want to park there, and putting up a bin or anything else to "reserve" is just a jerk move. Block the space the whole day when someone may only want to park 5-10 minutes? Only a self entitled, syphilitic used condom does that. I understand that govt encourages multi-tier family living together. Some of the landed properties owners follow the call and live with their grown up children under the same roof. These adult children work and need a car for their job, so if the car porch / driveway can only take 2 cars, the 3rd car needs a space overnight along the road side. If visitors can communicate with these owners and have mutual understanding that the formers will only park there for a fixed period of time (hopefully not overnight), things can usually be worked out at the most the house owner has to park somewhere else (if he can find a space) and move his car back later when the visitor leaves. In fast-pace Spore, there isn't much of such opportunities for the above communiation, sadly. Edited May 28, 2011 by KARTer Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dawg_getz Neutral Newbie May 28, 2011 Share May 28, 2011 oohh...that is soooo not right....... sometimes these peeps are forgetting profesional courtesy as to talk things out... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
KARTer 2nd Gear May 28, 2011 Share May 28, 2011 Lame cheapskate fella loh. If he doesnt care about his car, then you shouldnt as well. Most of my neighbours and I can sometime accept such cheapskate car owners, what we cant stand is big lorries / vans from neighbouring areas park their big machines on a long term basis. We see them walk over every morning to drive off, and repeat the reverse at the end of the day. The roads are narrow, and the lorries really make the space even tighter for other drivers who may or may not stay there. Poor planning by LTA / URA / HDB who do not foresee car population's growth and cater to the genuine need for more parking spaces in both private and public housing areas? Of course those who try to save on season parking fee at their own housing estate by using others' space doesn't help in solving the problems caused in the first place in lapses made by the above bodies in their planning. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
KARTer 2nd Gear May 28, 2011 Share May 28, 2011 Still, you do not have the right to the road. Whereas it is not gracious of that car owner to do it, it is also the same when u put ur trash bin outside to reserved the lot for your ownself. You have a good practice and gracious enough to ask the owners along the road that u parked. Kludos. But that still does not give u the right to put a trash bin and reserved ur own lot. Sometimes the owner doesnt really mean 'no parking' by putting the trashbin in front of his house, if the visitor talks to him for some mutual arrangement, he will gladly allow the visitor to park there. The trashbin just means 'lets talk and make arrangement'. Without the bin there to send this signal, the visitor may just park there the whole night / day. I do agree that technically it's public space and any tom dick harry can park there, but a bit of mutual understanding wont hurt. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
KARTer 2nd Gear May 28, 2011 Share May 28, 2011 If singapore cannot understand that graciousness is required to move the nation to new heights, not matter how loud voices are in parliament also wont help lah. at the end of the day ,it comes down to a "everyman for himself" syndrome. on the lighter side: what about women, they dont have such problems?? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Throttle2 Supersonic May 28, 2011 Share May 28, 2011 Most of my neighbours and I can sometime accept such cheapskate car owners, what we cant stand is big lorries / vans from neighbouring areas park their big machines on a long term basis. We see them walk over every morning to drive off, and repeat the reverse at the end of the day. The roads are narrow, and the lorries really make the space even tighter for other drivers who may or may not stay there. Poor planning by LTA / URA / HDB who do not foresee car population's growth and cater to the genuine need for more parking spaces in both private and public housing areas? Of course those who try to save on season parking fee at their own housing estate by using others' space doesn't help in solving the problems caused in the first place in lapses made by the above bodies in their planning. yup, have the same issue near my place. Really makes the scene ugly. Luckily it's on another stretch of road and not in sight from my house. In this case it isnt poor planning, it's just those guys taking advantage of the free parking. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Throttle2 Supersonic May 28, 2011 Share May 28, 2011 Sometimes the owner doesnt really mean 'no parking' by putting the trashbin in front of his house, if the visitor talks to him for some mutual arrangement, he will gladly allow the visitor to park there. The trashbin just means 'lets talk and make arrangement'. Without the bin there to send this signal, the visitor may just park there the whole night / day. I do agree that technically it's public space and any tom dick harry can park there, but a bit of mutual understanding wont hurt. absolutely. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
macrosszero Turbocharged May 28, 2011 Share May 28, 2011 It isn't hard for the local residents' committee to come up with a parking label scheme that residents have to display when they park overnight along these free parking areas within the estate. If the parking aunty comes around at night and sees that the parked car does not have the label then it is fair game for a parking ticket. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lucaswh 1st Gear May 28, 2011 Share May 28, 2011 Erm..am ok with other people parking along the road outside my house..but i really do hope they don't park against the flow of the traffic and for goodness sake, park properly and not in the middle of the lane! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Swiftee Clutched May 29, 2011 Share May 29, 2011 yep...it's a no win situation... worse, if you garang and park and go off... who knows, when come back see a broken window with a brick through it... and no witnesses. So in the end, it may be less frustrating to find other parking than fight with this kind of owners. Same thinking. Just move off n park else where. What for create more trouble. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
KARTer 2nd Gear May 29, 2011 Share May 29, 2011 (edited) yup, have the same issue near my place. Really makes the scene ugly. Luckily it's on another stretch of road and not in sight from my house. In this case it isnt poor planning, it's just those guys taking advantage of the free parking. maybe it's not exactly poor planning, it's poor enforcement because if the roads are not designed and built for heavy vehicle parking, for goodness sake put a sign saying so, so that owners of such big machines at least are told and given a chance to avoid parking there. or maybe URA / LTA / HDB do feel that big heavy vehicles can park anywhere their owners like recently (after 7th May) we saw a police sentry post suddenly appeared in front of one of the houses.... maybe a newly appointed big shot is staying there and things will change coz big trucks / vans can be a security threat.... just maybe. watch this space, the identify of the owner of the house will be 'investigated' and revealed soon..... my wife said it could be a overseas diplomat staying in the house, but I doubt so coz the estate is too lowend for diplomats........ Edited May 29, 2011 by KARTer Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
KARTer 2nd Gear May 29, 2011 Share May 29, 2011 It isn't hard for the local residents' committee to come up with a parking label scheme that residents have to display when they park overnight along these free parking areas within the estate. If the parking aunty comes around at night and sees that the parked car does not have the label then it is fair game for a parking ticket. something like your suggestion may actually work..... but betwen say 10am to 4pm (where residents' cars are unlikely to be home) it can be free for all, outside these hours, label parking can do the trick Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Throttle2 Supersonic May 29, 2011 Share May 29, 2011 something like your suggestion may actually work..... but betwen say 10am to 4pm (where residents' cars are unlikely to be home) it can be free for all, outside these hours, label parking can do the trick that has been discussed in my estate. confirm doesnt work. becos on roads which are legally ok to park, they WILL NOT be summoned no matter what. on roads which are illegal for parking, everyone illegally parked will be summon regardless of resident or not. and the reason? becos LTA goes by the book, they dont care who is resident or not. so if no one complains, everyone safe. if someone complains everyone kena. one way is to coordinate with all your neighbors, park your cars inside then call LTA to summon the outsider's cars. thats the only way. do it a few times confirm outsider scared. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mllcg 3rd Gear May 29, 2011 Share May 29, 2011 that has been discussed in my estate. confirm doesnt work. becos on roads which are legally ok to park, they WILL NOT be summoned no matter what. on roads which are illegal for parking, everyone illegally parked will be summon regardless of resident or not. and the reason? becos LTA goes by the book, they dont care who is resident or not. so if no one complains, everyone safe. if someone complains everyone kena. one way is to coordinate with all your neighbors, park your cars inside then call LTA to summon the outsider's cars. thats the only way. do it a few times confirm outsider scared. if i need to park there for a few hours, AND i ask your permission, will u cover my ass if the TP comes? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Throttle2 Supersonic May 30, 2011 Share May 30, 2011 if i need to park there for a few hours, AND i ask your permission, will u cover my ass if the TP comes? My house in front is special . It is not illegal to park so TP wont come. The point is if you park to visit me i sure support you. If you park to visit my neighbors they will support you If you park to take advantage of the residents and genuine visitors expense, we will purposely report you. But generally we are nice people ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...