How Do You "Lean Burn" For A Year? share your tips for living well but spending less

therock

Some are struggling but others are still deciding on which Merc or BMW ..

17 minutes ago, Ody_2004 said:

Salary and bonus i estimate abt 200k per annual

So networth maybe just $2mil at best.  Pretty average 

certainly not the true Patek level imo

Edited by Throttle2

16 hours ago, Jellandross said:

Yesterday my friend kpkb about rising cost of living. Today he posted on social media bringing his mother, father, wife and kids for "long overdue Europe trip". I see ppl who kao peh the most about "struggling to feed family" are often the root cause of their own problems in life.

Poverty is a myth in Singapore. It's not real as long as you don't believe in it.

Lol your friend is quite silly. I don't see any of those going to Europe self pawn ing like this. 

On 6/3/2022 at 10:15 PM, Jman888 said:

take public transport immediately save >$10k a year [laugh]

Already done that, on weekends/ PH, I do car lite by taking buses and train down town area, rested my car for both days only. More saving than $10.00 or more☺️

1 hour ago, Ody_2004 said:

maybe but i doubt.. to work 12 hours shift for a 70 years old no joke.. 

Yup medical cost in Sg still affordable.. for cos there are those who choose A or B class then kpkb abt being expensive..

I see generally people need to work longer as life expectancy had increased.. My dad retired at 75 now 82 choose to spend more time in vietnam as cost is lower and pace of life is slower.. the dollar can stretch more..

Oh, your dad all the way in Vietnam at 82 :slow:

6 minutes ago, Windwaver said:

Oh, your dad all the way in Vietnam at 82 :slow:

he hardly in Singapore since his work need him to be away most time. in the past i get to see him once or twice a month.. now oso same when he retired! whahahahahahah..

Only Covid managed to lock him down in Singapore 2 years.. his longest stretch in Singapore! whahahaha

He got more friends in Vietnam and overseas than in Singapore as he seldom here

Edited by Ody_2004
  • Shocked 2

24 minutes ago, Ody_2004 said:

he hardly in Singapore since his work need him to be away most time. in the past i get to see him once or twice a month.. now oso same when he retired! whahahahahahah..

Only Covid managed to lock him down in Singapore 2 years.. his longest stretch in Singapore! whahahaha

Does Vietnam govt allow Singaporeans to like …..live on long term visit pass ?? Any special conditions ?? Ancestry ?? Owning a property allowed ?? I guess he knows the local lingo there too 

30 minutes ago, Ody_2004 said:

Most elderly folks here by 67 wouldn't go anywhere else.

Your dad is a super hero :grin:

JB or Penang is a potential place to lean burn ..

you’ll have to live there and run the risk of another epidemic lockdown ..

13 minutes ago, BanCoe said:

Does Vietnam govt allow Singaporeans to like …..live on long term visit pass ?? Any special conditions ?? Ancestry ?? Owning a property allowed ?? I guess he knows the local lingo there too 

Errr.. the short answer is no.. so you do need to travel to other countries to gain re-entry to extend your stay.

Property as in condo/apartment is allowed but different terms and condition to local.

Local lingo very hard to learn.. but as the economy gradually improve over the years they starts to understand some English. Some Vietnamese speak Cantonese too.. so don go there DLLM! whahahahahahha..

Edited by Ody_2004

2 hours ago, Ody_2004 said:

Salary and bonus i estimate abt 200k per annual

It is not how much he earned. It is how much he saved.

52 minutes ago, Starry said:

It is not how much he earned. It is how much he saved.

Yes and No.. 

I personally believe one can only save that much.. no matter how one save basic necessity still there.. and as cost of products goes higher the saving portion will be thinner..

I always advise my staff to earn enuff for a decent lifestyle. if they choose to stay at their comfort zone of $4000; this amount will get smaller n smaller as times goes by.. if he wanna save oso hard.. wantan mee may cost $8 per bowl.. unless he choose to eat bread but the loaf of bread will not be $2.x of today.. 

Overcommitting to property is the other way to burn money 

seems like a great way to park extra funds until the interest rates go up 

starting from a BTO HDB is a good way to save and capitalize on the government’s subsidies 

Only 1 year?

I have been living lean since getting married and getting burn by my MIL.

That jamesc can turn any topic into his MIL.

13 hours ago, Ody_2004 said:

I guess not all singaporeans.. i dunno if there's a realistic study on the wealth gap now.. seem to me it is wider than before..

my boss mid 30s.. bought 2 Patek over 3 months.. while my colleague at 70 still working as security guard with OT shld be $4k or so

As much as we want to help....

We are constantly reminded......m

We are not communist or socialist country right?

"What's wrong with earning more money?"

We are a country base on meritocracy....

Those who work hard in the 1st 20 years in their life got to rule SG. 

Those who don't work hard need to suffer for the rest of their lives.

Think this is the state of reality in our country...

But there recent spate of fights after the relaxation of covid rules....

Makes me feel some needed to be rule over😅