RadX Moderator June 4, 2022 Share June 4, 2022 11 minutes ago, Ingenius said: You only live once. Why live frugal when you don't have to. Anyway I think going on holiday is one item which will spend most money. Yup my greece trip , on escrow since 2020 trip went up $3k this year so changed to Switzerland…still same proce ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Thaiyotakamli Supersonic June 4, 2022 Share June 4, 2022 Go JB for better saving also avoid going eat at restaurant much dont change car often Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
serenade 6th Gear June 4, 2022 Share June 4, 2022 13 hours ago, therock said: Medications: More meds are now OTC - over the counter and one can consider self medication: - flu meds - painkillers - rashes Do you need that many memberships? - subscriptions in general can cost a lot, and it may be better to curate some of them, then use the remaining to get the best value out of them.. Buy generic medicines instead of branded ones. Those dished out by the polyclinics and GHs are much cheaper. Can get from the pharmacist at Guardian if you ask them for it. Their first response is to recommend branded ones that cost more. E.g Ask for generic paracetamol instead of Panadol 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Atonchia Supersonic June 4, 2022 Share June 4, 2022 Spend more time to keep a healthy lifestyle. Hopefully spend less money in future for hospital stay. Spend more time exercising meant less time on subscriptions on TV/entertainment program. Spend sufficient time with kids. Plan your trips around your hobby/pastimes so it's memorable. Will feel the $$$ is well spent🤣 Buy a house that is not more than 5 times the annual household income. Since already going to spend $$$, Use loyalty programs that provide good incentives. Both from credit cards and petrol company. 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fitvip Supersonic June 4, 2022 Share June 4, 2022 12 hours ago, therock said: Don't spend too much on a wedding... especially if you're not going for a long haul? https://mothership.sg/2022/06/kim-lim-husband-photos-gone/?fbclid=IwAR1cMvQlp7pICYRVafXa6o2z9pIU4DZyg9xXku4ttPRGWE6onJ4VvHg49nA Theirs is not for a long haul la. Theirs is like fashion, go according to the seasons.🤐🤐 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
BanCoe Hypersonic June 4, 2022 Share June 4, 2022 1 hour ago, RadX said: Yup my greece trip , on escrow since 2020 trip went up $3k this year so changed to Switzerland…still same proce Buy some Rolex PP AP lah 🤣 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fitvip Supersonic June 4, 2022 Share June 4, 2022 (edited) _ instead of angmo liang teh, drink plain water; - remember the question - Your want to eat in restaurtant, food court or hawker centre? ; - Don't visit car showrooms - my ex boss bought his cars on impulse; - Instead of going for car wash - wash the car yourself. It is a good exercise; - instead of performance tyres go for comfort tyres; - don't renew your passport when it expires - just hold for a while; - avoid private gyms- go to SAFRA Clubs or NS Clubs; - do away with fdw - take up the household chores; - look for items on offer - the savings can be quite substantial; - visit value shops- you will be surprised and pleased; - don't keep small three - look after the 1.😬 - when chickens are ex - switch to fish.🤐 Edited June 4, 2022 by Fitvip amended 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Throttle2 Supersonic June 4, 2022 Share June 4, 2022 Er, smoke less cigars? 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jamesc Hypersonic June 4, 2022 Share June 4, 2022 The best way to save money is don't get married. If you get married don't have kids. If you have kids don't have an MIL. If you have an MIL do away with her. 5 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sosaria Twincharged June 4, 2022 Share June 4, 2022 (edited) Take up tuition teaching. Nowadays with mid year exam abolished but one big year end exam remaining, demand for tuition is there. Better still if got lobang then do adjunct teaching support skillfuture courses. Enlarge the pie. Less worry about rising cost as long as we grow our income. To be honest I was only motivated and had the push to do these gigs when cost of living started to rise noticeably. Family also must be supportive with those additional hours of work commitments. Anyone doing part time delivery service , is it worth the trouble? Recently saw a particular company advertising quite aggressively Edited June 4, 2022 by Sosaria 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sosaria Twincharged June 4, 2022 Share June 4, 2022 9 minutes ago, Jamesc said: The best way to save money is don't get married. If you get married don't have kids. If you have kids don't have an MIL. If you have an MIL do away with her. Too late ! 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fitvip Supersonic June 4, 2022 Share June 4, 2022 20 minutes ago, Jamesc said: The best way to save money is don't get married. If you get married don't have kids. If you have kids don't have an MIL. If you have an MIL do away with her. Eh, your have been saying, plotting, seeking advice etc on your last statement. Till now you still have not result to report? 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Atonchia Supersonic June 4, 2022 Share June 4, 2022 (edited) 1 hour ago, Fitvip said: _ instead of angmo liang teh, drink plain water; - remember the question - Your want to eat in restaurtant, food court or hawker centre? ; - Don't visit car showrooms - my ex boss bought his cars on impulse; - Instead of going for car wash - wash the car yourself. It is a good exercise; - instead of performance tyres go for comfort tyres; - don't renew your passport when it expires - just hold for a while; - avoid private gyms- go to SAFRA Clubs or NS Clubs; - do away with fdw - take up the household chores; - look for items on offer - the savings can be quite substantial; - visit value shops- you will be surprised and pleased; - don't keep small three - look after the 1.😬 - when chickens are ex - switch to fish.🤐 That's a lot of adjustment to make leh... especially on car wash and FDW. I rather wash the car less often than wash it myself. 😅 Not a saving I am willing to endeavour for lazy people like me. 😅 Edited June 4, 2022 by Atonchia Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jamesc Hypersonic June 4, 2022 Share June 4, 2022 56 minutes ago, Fitvip said: Eh, your have been saying, plotting, seeking advice etc on your last statement. Till now you still have not result to report? Don't want to make it too obviously lah. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Atonchia Supersonic June 4, 2022 Share June 4, 2022 1 hour ago, Sosaria said: Take up tuition teaching. Nowadays with mid year exam abolished but one big year end exam remaining, demand for tuition is there. Better still if got lobang then do adjunct teaching support skillfuture courses. Enlarge the pie. Less worry about rising cost as long as we grow our income. To be honest I was only motivated and had the push to do these gigs when cost of living started to rise noticeably. Family also must be supportive with those additional hours of work commitments. Anyone doing part time delivery service , is it worth the trouble? Recently saw a particular company advertising quite aggressively Tuition is a great idea. I plan to sell chicken rice after seeing all the long queues.😅 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ingenius Turbocharged June 4, 2022 Share June 4, 2022 3 hours ago, Lala81 said: Quite true. If you can afford it, by all means, help our local economy. Especially with current airfares... hah, i won't bother talking about frugality or living within your means to my friends. Your spending habits already formed long ago since you were young. I believe in one day , everyone eventually will be facing our creator. And at that moment , we can tell ourselves that at least I have treated myself well and have no regrets, within my means. Recently I started to practise doing a bit of kindness each day, and it brings happiness to myself and others. 6 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ingenius Turbocharged June 4, 2022 Share June 4, 2022 I read that on average people will leave behind 70 percent of their wealth, and have no control over how it will be spent or squandered. So better spend it on oneself. Lol. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
therock Supersonic June 4, 2022 Author Share June 4, 2022 3 hours ago, RadX said: Yup my greece trip , on escrow since 2020 trip went up $3k this year so changed to Switzerland…still same proce For a country that's frequently in debt, their prices are really high.. Perhaps they are trying to attract only folks with money ... Switzerland can be the gateway to Europe, eg Germany or even Austria, which is a very pretty country.. I once stayed in the Vienna woods, wonderful to be in a hotel with deer outside your room.. ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...