How Do You "Lean Burn" For A Year? share your tips for living well but spending less

therock

On 6/6/2022 at 3:35 AM, Starry said:

Since I  have plenty of time everyday, I thought of just using public transport to commute and leave my car alone. Will use my car only when going to Msia or in urgent rush to go somewhere.

Can save on erp, petrol, car park fees and car wear & tear.  That's quite a big saving!

Must as well sell pff

i also don’t know now sell can earn how much especially if your coe very cheap

coe 100k I confirm take bus liao

Edited by Mustank

social media plays a part in overspending too

those glamourous lifestyle such as luxurious holidays, fine dining, expensive sportcars make many young people drool

some even envious of that $32m scammers' display of Rolexes, private jets and cars loll what's the world coming to

2 hours ago, Scion said:

those glamourous lifestyle such as luxurious holidays, fine dining, expensive sportcars make many young people drool

some even envious of that $32m scammers' display of Rolexes, private jets and cars loll what's the world coming to

Yes definitely 

We can add Vanity to Stupidity and Greed in this toxic potion

3 hours ago, Scion said:

Yeah best don't install FB, Instagram, perhaps don't visit MCF too! 

The trouble comes because humans like to compare.. and all these social media sites are outlets for it.

When someone says "blessed", and show a new car / watch / holiday, it's a way of sharing or perhaps boasting too..

But it's part and parcel of life I guess... 

4 hours ago, Scion said:

I don't use any social media .........so I don't drool over all these things.

Anyway, I was building some AI apps for fun, and realise that there are digital influencers  in instagram with huge following  thesedays......so I think insta influencer days are also numbered. 😆

Edited by Starry

29 minutes ago, Volvobrick said:

Yeah best don't install FB, Instagram, perhaps don't visit MCF too! 

wah don't kua zhang lah...just close the watch thread will do

🤣

I am selling off one of my family's 2 cars.  Just keep one and share it with the wife.  I don't drive to work nowadays anyway, always take bus.  Taking a bus to and from work gives me a total of 1 hour plus each day to relax, unwind, listen to music or watch Netflix without having to talk to anyone.  I really enjoy that alone time.

7 minutes ago, Loki said:

I am selling off one of my family's 2 cars.  Just keep one and share it with the wife.  I don't drive to work nowadays anyway, always take bus.  Taking a bus to and from work gives me a total of 1 hour plus each day to relax, unwind, listen to music or watch Netflix without having to talk to anyone.  I really enjoy that alone time.

Good time to sell! 1 or 2 years use same amount of money to get a brand new one! 

2 hours ago, Loki said:

Smart move bro. 

I'm sharing a car with wife too. Sometimes I have to rush and I'll take a cab but most times the bus / train works fine.. 

I know why some keep a car for convenience, but just one is enough. Too many cars hanging around is costly....

6 hours ago, Loki said:

Wah, make me feel like selling my car too leh….

When i bought my current used 4 year old car, I kept my old coe car as it has 1 year 3 months left on the renewed COE and it has sentimental value, but i realised it was really not wise, so I sold it off, haiz abit heart pain but better to cut off excess expenditure and have more cash on hand for rainy days. Thankfully, sold it off for 14k, gonna use the money to weather out this crazy inflation

Edited by SiLangKia

On 7/24/2022 at 10:28 AM, therock said:

Lean burn, but if the man can't afford petrol, he is likely to be a marginal car buyer..

Might be better to sell the car for a higher value now and maybe buy a car when his financial situation improves:

https://www.channelnewsasia.com/singapore/inflation-rising-prices-car-petrol-transport-cost-family-2806636

Only pay extra $35 more every 2 weeks for petrol. Since he drives to work, can do hitch, pick up passenger along the way, already can more than cover this extra cost and he still gets to drive to work no need to rely on public transport and bear the wasted time.

Not forgetting, parking car at home not using it is not a solution. There's still depreciation cost. It's the reason why airlines keep their aeroplanes in the air on flights as much as possible.

On 7/25/2022 at 3:01 PM, Loki said:

Agreed...one hour pass by very fast one with surfing MCF, sleep, beo xmm...sometimes too fast...good times always liddat one 😁

49 minutes ago, mersaylee said:

Agreed...one hour pass by very fast one with surfing MCF, sleep, beo xmm...sometimes too fast...good times always liddat one 😁

If I'm not in a big hurry, taking public transport, especially if I can sit down, offers me some quiet time that I won't get as a driver. You need to be very alert when driving, but when you're just a passenger, you can zone out a far bit... 

On 7/27/2022 at 9:24 AM, therock said:

If I'm not in a big hurry, taking public transport, especially if I can sit down, offers me some quiet time that I won't get as a driver. You need to be very alert when driving, but when you're just a passenger, you can zone out a far bit... 

Yeah, it's about the only forum with no porn, can surf safely in office and in front of CO :grin:

edmw-song-bo.gifsong-bo-song-song-gao-jurong.gif