Malaysia government to halt export of 3.6 million chickens a month

Tohto

2 hours ago, Turboflat4 said:

For a moment I was very concerned for @Jamesc.

Then I realised they actually meant chickens. 

😁

Everyone knows I prefer chicken from Thailand, Korea, Vietnam, Japan and Taiwan more than chicken from MY.

Thai

image.png.fe58d06f22686fe334f567f3d05784fb.png

Korea

image.thumb.png.f896fb78a80600f9307ec49597ec351d.png

Japan

image.thumb.png.006df40f5bada1b7fcae46f53703309f.png

Taiwan

image.thumb.png.38b1c86e6ff05f837425b9edbd985691.png

Vietnam

image.png.45e04e8cbac8dd46ec994c0659ff5be0.png

SFA working to minimise impact on supply after Malaysia curbs export of chickens

In a Facebook post, SFA said that approximately 34 per cent of Singapore’s chicken imports in 2021 were from Malaysia. Almost all of these were imported as live chickens which were slaughtered and chilled in Singapore.

Other major sources of chicken include Brazil (49 per cent) and United States (12 per cent).

https://www.channelnewsasia.com/singapore/sfa-working-minimise-impact-supply-after-malaysia-curbs-export-chickens-2701701

wow, 49% from Brazil ...

34 minutes ago, Blueray said:

SFA working to minimise impact on supply after Malaysia curbs export of chickens

https://www.channelnewsasia.com/singapore/sfa-working-minimise-impact-supply-after-malaysia-curbs-export-chickens-2701701

wow, 49% from Brazil ...

I think Brazil are all frozen chickens, meat and wing.

Our chickens rice store should be fresh one from Boleh. 

3 hours ago, Watwheels said:

They dont have an anti-competition ministry to prevent ppl from fixing chicken prices?

To resort to stop exporting is kinda counter-productive. might end up wasting food.

They have controlled pricing for staple or basic foodstuff like rice, sugar, to make sure that the rural poor can afford it. Not sure how they control the prices though but heard that retailers cannot anyhow set the price for these controlled food items. 

11 hours ago, Silverkris said:

Rise price +$0.50 due to Covid Malaysia truck hard to come in (but never come down)

Rise price +$0.50 due to  CNY (but never come down)

Rise price +$0.50 due to current chicken shortage (will it come down?)

Rise price +$0.30 due to 2023 increase GST 1% (will NOT come down)

Rise price +$0.30 due to 2024 increase GST 1% again (will NOT come down)

I cannot afford chicken rice liao .....

Eat fish then. According to HY.:yeah-im-not-drunk:

Well, I don't begrudge the Malaysian Minister for doing so if their domestic demand has not been met. They are taking care of their own population's needs.

25 minutes ago, Fitvip said:

Well, I don't begrudge the Malaysian Minister for doing so if their domestic demand has not been met. They are taking care of their own population's needs.

yes agreed... that's what a nation and govt should do

meanwhile, ours still monitoring the all time high petrol prices 😁

12 hours ago, Tianmo said:

Not really a bad thing actually.  It will just force us to source from other places,  which will cut our dependent on MY chicken,  just like how we used to depend so much on MY eggs.  Now we have eggs from as far as Poland.  

Mayb we will have fresh chickens from Russia and Ukraine soon leh,  and MY can keep all the chickens to themselves.  [laugh][laugh][laugh]

I am sure you are not talking & thinking about feathered ones ...... [sly]

Ukraine one cute & sui .... 🥰 

:grin:

11 hours ago, Turboflat4 said:

For a moment I was very concerned for @Jamesc.

Then I realised they actually meant chickens. 

😁

You are the most happy person when all meat items increase prices .... [sly]

Wait followed closely by vegetables export to SG than you :a-m1524:  

:XD:

25 minutes ago, Picnic06-Biante15 said:

You are the most happy person when all meat items increase prices .... [sly]

Wait followed closely by vegetables export to SG than you :a-m1524:  

:XD:

The only meat I indulge is my man meat. 😁

26 minutes ago, kobayashiGT said:

Scare semo. I am already eating plant based chicken liao. hahaha. taste like the real one. 😂

Plant based foods think not cheap also le.