Tohto Hypersonic May 23, 2022 Share May 23, 2022 Oh No!!! Our chicken rice price going to go up. Malaysia government to halt export of 3.6 million chickens a month until domestic prices stabilise https://www.channelnewsasia.com/asia/malaysia-halt-export-chicken-36-million-month-ismail-sabri-2701206?cid=internal_sharetool_androidphone_23052022_cna ↡ Advertisement 4 2 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic May 23, 2022 Share May 23, 2022 What the hell are they thinking...... Really idiots these Malaysian ministers。 7 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Silverkris 5th Gear May 23, 2022 Share May 23, 2022 Rise price +$0.50 due to Covid Malaysia truck hard to come in (but never come down) Rise price +$0.50 due to CNY (but never come down) Rise price +$0.50 due to current chicken shortage (will it come down?) Rise price +$0.30 due to 2023 increase GST 1% (will NOT come down) Rise price +$0.30 due to 2024 increase GST 1% again (will NOT come down) I cannot afford chicken rice liao ..... 2 2 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic May 23, 2022 Share May 23, 2022 Going to buy chicken tomorrow from the wet market. the poultry sellers/hawkers must be thinking, wtf do i do now. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tianmo Hypersonic May 23, 2022 Share May 23, 2022 Not really a bad thing actually. It will just force us to source from other places, which will cut our dependent on MY chicken, just like how we used to depend so much on MY eggs. Now we have eggs from as far as Poland. Mayb we will have fresh chickens from Russia and Ukraine soon leh, and MY can keep all the chickens to themselves. 4 8 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ody_2004 Turbocharged May 23, 2022 Share May 23, 2022 Those roasted chicken at aunty lucy oredi up $1 liao... was $5.95 now $6.95 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Philipkee Twincharged May 23, 2022 Share May 23, 2022 (edited) @Tianmo Your chickens from russia and ukraine are chickens as in the animal or chickens as in the "animals"? Edited May 23, 2022 by Philipkee 1 11 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
macrosszero Turbocharged May 23, 2022 Share May 23, 2022 The MY government is essentially telling their chicken farmers they cannot sell/export their chickens for optimum economic benefit but must sell them at capped prices for local benefit. Essentially asking chicken farmers to do national service. Can’t help but feel this is politically motivated to remind Singapore of realpolitik. I’m not a chicken farmer but I know a little bit about economics, but I’ll let @Chickenfarm weigh in on this. 4 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
ER-3682 Twincharged May 23, 2022 Share May 23, 2022 Buy Frozen Chicken. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Estrangable 5th Gear May 23, 2022 Share May 23, 2022 i tot our chickens are sourced from thailand, vietnam and china??? depending on price range? Am shocked to know we are also sourcing from MY... which street btw? 12 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Old-driver 5th Gear May 23, 2022 Share May 23, 2022 oh no.... want eat chickens must go MY eat 😐 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Inlinefour Twincharged May 23, 2022 Share May 23, 2022 (edited) 19 minutes ago, Ody_2004 said: Those roasted chicken at aunty lucy oredi up $1 liao... was $5.95 now $6.95 siao liao lor...chirping one talking one all Kee siao price we better pack and move to bolehLand Edited May 23, 2022 by Inlinefour 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
1fast1 Supersonic May 23, 2022 Share May 23, 2022 For a moment I was very concerned for @Jamesc. Then I realised they actually meant chickens. 😁 21 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blueray Hypersonic May 23, 2022 Share May 23, 2022 soon hainanese chicken rice one plate no $10 no talk. 2 1 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ct3833 Supersonic May 23, 2022 Share May 23, 2022 is their GE coming again ? trying to win votes ? 😄 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic May 23, 2022 Share May 23, 2022 They dont have an anti-competition ministry to prevent ppl from fixing chicken prices? To resort to stop exporting is kinda counter-productive. might end up wasting food. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ody_2004 Turbocharged May 23, 2022 Share May 23, 2022 12 minutes ago, Watwheels said: They dont have an anti-competition ministry to prevent ppl from fixing chicken prices? To resort to stop exporting is kinda counter-productive. might end up wasting food. Got! heard on radio earlier that they will use one month to study/investigate to see if there's price fixing. Result i guess u guess is the same.. whahahahahahahaha.. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Windwaver Turbocharged May 23, 2022 Share May 23, 2022 1 hour ago, Lala81 said: What the hell are they thinking...... Really idiots these Malaysian ministers。 Yeah, no more chickens ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...