Is our Police asking too much?

Carbon82

Is our Police asking too much?  

96 members have voted

1. 1. Is it reasonable that a Police Permit is needed for conducting an event on any road or part thereof?

• Yes, organisers of the convoy events should apply for a permit to keep our society and road safer.
    • No, too much hassle for the organisers and this will kills car meetups and convoy on the road.
    • None of my concern since I don't join such meetup or convoy.
  2. 2. Should a Police Permit be mandated for cyclists in convoy on any road or part thereof?

• Yes, if permit is to help to keep our society and road safer.
    • No, too much hassle for the organisers and this will kills cycling as a hobby.
    • None of my concern since I don't join such cyclists group.

11 minutes ago, Kopites said:

Quoted.

"Towards the end of the second video, a traffic police officer could be seen stopping one of the black supercars with its top down."

yes i am able to read. Thanks.

so any follow up action from TP? any investigation into the organizer(s)? any public warning to car groups that road convoys are illegal?

1 hour ago, Turboflat4 said:

As much as some cyclists get on my nerves, I've been very fair and voted "no" on both.

This country and its legal system are becoming a tragic joke in my view. And police spokespersons are not always right about the law and its interpretation and enforcement. For example, I recall there was one time one spokesperson said stay off the right lane at any speed unless overtaking, otherwise it's hogging, and another seemed to contradict that with the assertion that it was fine to travel the right lane at the speed limit. No guesses as to which one is more often quoted by the Roach Vaginante sites. 🙄

It is a joke.

My understanding from their interpretation is that road hogging is an offence, but if you're driving at the speed limit it is not an offence. 🙄

2 minutes ago, Benarsenal said:

It is a joke.

My understanding from their interpretation is that road hogging is an offence, but if you're driving at the speed limit it is not an offence. 🙄

12744138_1132958143403254_2183662400787604950_n.jpeg

8 minutes ago, Shibadog said:

yes i am able to read. Thanks.

so any follow up action from TP? any investigation into the organizer(s)? any public warning to car groups that road convoys are illegal?

Don't know.

I am not against meet up but neither am I against the application of permit. Permit itself would encompass the organiser with responsibility and accountability.  

1 minute ago, Kopites said:

Don't know.

I am not against meet up but neither am I against the application of permit. Permit itself would encompass the organiser with responsibility and accountability.  

i am against selective, discriminatory policing. 

6 minutes ago, Shibadog said:

Come to think of it if the MU is for some sort of feast like durian and not for vehicle mu.

Would that be allowed under the law? Curious. 🤔

Edited by Kopites

9 minutes ago, Shibadog said:

TP acts on complaint only.

Unlikely to have enough resources to spread around.

5 minutes ago, Kopites said:

Come to think of it if the MU is for some sort of feast like durian and not for vehicle mu.

Would that be allowed under the law? Curious. 🤔

Low key and not disturbing surrounding.  Why not?

Look at Kopi and Car.

4 minutes ago, inlinesix said:

TP acts on complaint only.

Unlikely to have enough resources to spread around.

i'm sure there are many complaints abt PMD etc. 

3 minutes ago, Shibadog said:

i'm sure there are many complaints abt PMD etc. 

If it is lodged, there might be Cisco standing around.

Any form of gathering be it humans or vehicles it is not allowed. It is called "illegal gathering".

This I know since younger days of chiong at night spots or pubs. If you are together with a group of friends expect non-uniforms to ask for your IC. It is "routine check" for them, that's what they will say. At the same time they will catch those who are drinking underage. I think ppl in mcf are good boys and good girls, never had police take down your IC before in their life. LoL...

For cars and other form of vehicles I believe ppl in the public will call the police nevertheless. It is an eye sore. Hahaha...

Anyway police dont make the call, they are just enforcing the law that is in place for many years. It is not personal.

I believe that police should step up roadblocks even during the day. I would think a fair amount are driving around with suspended license. 
should automatically jail. Same with vehicles without insurance or road tax. 

7 minutes ago, Mkl22 said:

I believe that police should step up roadblocks even during the day. I would think a fair amount are driving around with suspended license. 
should automatically jail. Same with vehicles without insurance or road tax. 

If LTA get their act up, they would have sent enforcement officer out against owner of vehicles with expired road tax or insurance.

3 hours ago, Karoon said:

Yup. Noise. Anyone rev up their car/bike in Sg urban roads for a stupid smallcock reason, i'll do my best to make sure they pay for it. Sorry. Even if its my bff. LCK still ok. 

how u make them pay ?

lta nv say cant rev

8 minutes ago, DylanChen said:

how u make them pay ?

lta nv say cant rev

But lta says can't mod illegally. Those whose revs disturb the peace definitely mod. Just bao toh. 

3 hours ago, BanCoe said:

Small car groups are fine lah …… this guys due to internet blasts  and like Covid freedom word spread like wildfire and everybody in the group cannot tahan to break free and join in and not feel left out 

But those long line of exotic cars (few commenced from Hilton in Orchard Rd start-point previously) that roared downtown to MBS etc were not accosted by TP and I knew that there were few lawyers and young doctors in the mix. So, does high ses cars attract less attention than motorbikes? I'm not comparing those that consisted of bikes, and even container trucks that blasted their horns throughout the neighborhood causing jams during weddings, as they were a nuisance.