Inflation coming to hit us hard.

Watwheels

On 1/4/2023 at 3:29 AM, Heartlander said:

Seems no one is talking about it, the price of kopi has just gone up by 10 cents over the last  2 days. Both the Old Airport kopi stall and another kopitiam in TPY i went to both went up already. Not sure if reported in the Chinese newspapers.

Could be the usual increase before CNY that happen from time to time, but not hopeful it will go down after the celebration over.

Expand  

My favourite dough fritters (youtiao 油条) was 90 cents then after GST increase, it's $1 now. 

• Sad 1

On 1/4/2023 at 3:51 AM, Atonchia said:

My favourite dough fritters (youtiao 油条) was 90 cents then after GST increase, it's $1 now. 

Expand  

Flour and cooking oil prices all up significantly from 2 years ago. 

  On 1/4/2023 at 3:44 AM, Lala81 said:

I've heard of it before but never tried. I think Briyani is a bit of a personal preference. 

I find Indian origin foods give me "heatiness" so i just eat it once in a long while (outside of prata). And while the spices in the rice is quite nice, eat such a big serving detracts from the taste though.

When i used to go Gardens, i will usually just drive to old airport or elsewhere to eat.

Expand  

I also seldom eat bryanni as the rice is very unhealthy right? I like it though. The Yishun Northpoint basement foodcourt one is nice. I go that foodcourt just to see the dinosaur 🙂

On 1/4/2023 at 3:29 AM, Heartlander said:

Seems no one is talking about it, the price of kopi has just gone up by 10 cents over the last  2 days. Both the Old Airport kopi stall and another kopitiam in TPY i went to both went up already. Not sure if reported in the Chinese newspapers.

Could be the usual increase before CNY that happen from time to time, but not hopeful it will go down after the celebration over.

Expand  

My estate no price increase YET.

Cross my finger & toe

On 1/4/2023 at 4:00 AM, Wind30 said:

I also seldom eat bryanni as the rice is very unhealthy right? I like it though. The Yishun Northpoint basement foodcourt one is nice. I go that foodcourt just to see the dinosaur 🙂

Expand  

Its better than the yishun park hc one?

Hmm yeah most of us don't need eat so much rice since white collar jobs. 

Expand  

GST increased 1% but they increased 10%. 

Well done! 👏🏼

Expand  

On 1/4/2023 at 4:07 AM, Fcw75 said:

GST increased 1% but they increased 10%. 

Well done! 👏🏼

Expand  

It is better than 3 months later need to up price 3 months later.

If i am the business owner, I will do the same shit.

It either absorbs 1 cent increase or whack kao kao.

My usual tray of 30x eggs went from $9 last month to $9.50 today. The seller must be preparing for next 10 years' GST increase.

But I'm not surprised at all. Because the authority is monitoring the situation as usual.

small business won't follow 1% zhun zhun one lah, unless the gst is a separate item in the bill as in the restaurant or for invoicing.

On 1/4/2023 at 4:20 AM, Jman888 said:

small business won't follow 1% zhun zhun one lah, unless the gst is a separate item in the bill as in the restaurant or for invoicing.

Expand  

For GST registered businesses, GST increase has no impact on profitability (except during transition months).

On 1/4/2023 at 4:00 AM, Wind30 said:

Expand  

think that stall is called banana leaf. personally i feel overhyped and overpriced and there was a serious food poisoning case many moon back that killed someone. 

there is another shop near chong pang nicer. 

  On 1/4/2023 at 4:27 AM, Stratovarius said:

think that stall is called banana leaf. personally i feel overhyped and overpriced and there was a serious food poisoning case many moon back that killed someone. 

there is another shop near chong pang nicer. 

Expand  

Seriously ?? Lucky I seldom eat Bryanni

  On 1/4/2023 at 4:04 AM, Lala81 said:

Its better than the yishun park hc one?

Hmm yeah most of us don't need eat so much rice since white collar jobs. 

Expand  

Dunno as I don’t eat either stall often enough. I think both is good and I will go back unlike the one at gardens by the bay.

On 1/4/2023 at 4:19 AM, Jellandross said:

My usual tray of 30x eggs went from $9 last month to $9.50 today. The seller must be preparing for next 10 years' GST increase.

But I'm not surprised at all. Because the authority is monitoring the situation as usual.

Expand  

See the supermarket pricing....

All the odd odd cents pricing come out already.😅

Then next year another odd odd price adjustment. 🤦😅

All their suppliers also need to adjust pricing this year and next year. 

On 1/4/2023 at 4:31 AM, Wind30 said:

Seriously ?? Lucky I seldom eat Bryanni

Expand  

yeah years back, got a death from bacterial food posioning from the northpoint food court. But something to do with nasi padang stall? IIRC?

To counter inflation.😁 

Raisin, red bean and peanut butter. 

It has been quite a while since we last baked bread. 😁 So over the weekend me and wifey decided to bake some bread. 

20230102_062259.jpg

20230102_062324.jpg

On 1/4/2023 at 4:52 AM, Lala81 said:

yeah years back, got a death from bacterial food posioning from the northpoint food court. But something to do with nasi padang stall? IIRC?

Expand  

i've googled and that was in 2014. The incident i talked about was very long ago. Maybe 90s early 2ks. That time the stall still at the corner of the foodcourt. 

Come to think of it, Northpoint like alot of food poisoning. :D I also used to eat at Eng's heritage before they moved to CWP.