Inflation coming to hit us hard.

Watwheels

5th Gear
On 3/12/2025 at 2:20 PM, Stary said:

This chart look interesting.  The rollover balances had been at $6b for many years prior to 2020 and then suddenly it started to move up in 2023.

The article is here https://www.straitstimes.com/business/credit-card-debt-cross-8b-delinquency-rate-around-1-3-mas-and-credit-bureau-singapore-data

"People aged between 30 and 34 recorded the biggest jump, with average card balances up 5.9 per cent to $4,448. Those 35 to 39 followed closely behind – their average outstanding balances increased 5.5 per cent to $5,894."

Considering the age group, should be all the new family financial commitments from wedding to renovation to children stuff.

Anyway, the delinquency rate seems low  for now  because the  economy is churning fine. Once the economy goes into recession, and with such an increasing rollover trend, the delinquency rate  will surely increase. 

Well when things start to get more expensive, these group of people refuse to cut down even if can no longer afford, still want face so resort to credit lor. Just like cars, getting more and more expensive but they never give it up, just borrow more and buy, chalk up more debt 🤣

Edited by Ginyu

On 3/12/2025 at 12:19 PM, Ginyu said:

People keep saying Singaporeans are loaded but the data clearly shows that they are only slapping themselves to look fat🤣

Loaded are those are top 10% 

Top 20-16% are those still having cars, but most are also sandwich classes. Not very tight financially but definitely cannot stop working.

On 3/12/2025 at 4:07 PM, Atonchia said:

Loaded are those are top 10% 

Top 20-16% are those still having cars, but most are also sandwich classes. Not very tight financially but definitely cannot stop working.

Top 10% is easy peasy.  Minimum must be top 5% 

Tax bracket must be 22% bare minimum. Anything less is definitely sandwich Class

On 3/12/2025 at 3:26 PM, inlinesix said:

Starbucks coffee just bad la.

My long black from Moka Pot taste better than Starbucks 

It is probably bad for coffee connoisseur.  I mostly drink drip coffee at home and prefer it to expresso actually.

What is your view of local nanyang kopi served at Yakun etc given you take your cuppa very seriously?  

On 3/12/2025 at 12:19 PM, Ginyu said:

People keep saying Singaporeans are loaded but the data clearly shows that they are only slapping themselves to look fat🤣

Haha, loaded my ass …… most Singaporeans cant even write a $100k check freely. 😂   
all slap and pinch to look fat  muayhahaha.   

Tia kong, got $600k already considered made for life already….wahahahahahah

Edited by Throttle2
  • Sad 1

On 3/12/2025 at 5:05 PM, Throttle2 said:

Top 10% is easy peasy.  Minimum must be top 5% 

Tax bracket must be 22% bare minimum. Anything less is definitely sandwich Class

Actually I was thinking more on should household income.

If individual income, then top 5% really anytime cash payment for million dollar car is don't bat an eyelid. If they choose a $1m car.

On 3/12/2025 at 5:08 PM, Voodooman said:

It is probably bad for coffee connoisseur.  I mostly drink drip coffee at home and prefer it to expresso actually.

What is your view of local nanyang kopi served at Yakun etc given you take your cuppa very seriously?  

In general, I dislike Nanyang coffee.

It doesn’t taste like coffee.

I made my own long black that’s is diluted by round 2 brew coffee.

On 3/12/2025 at 1:19 PM, Lala81 said:

Lucky i don't need to drink coffee. Even buy the milo from drink stall also will think twice.
Earn my $ not easy. 

every saturday i wait around 45min to 1 hr for my son to finish class after I'm done at the supermarket.
The kopitiam is big and not crowded at that time. So usually i just bring my own water bottle and go all the way to back and sit there and drink. Also got other merdeka generation one sitting there and blow aircon. 

My wife's 3 in 1 is 30+ cents per satchet. 🤣

If all like u, sg economy will collapsed. Lol.

On 3/12/2025 at 8:05 PM, Stratovarius said:

If all like u, sg economy will collapsed. Lol.

if doc also no spend money 

spore economy jit dong jeng liao!

On 3/12/2025 at 8:07 PM, Wt_know said:

if doc also no spend money 

spore economy jit dong jeng liao!

That's why I have no clue on what sells well or consumer trends.

Like must travel biz class, watch this concert, do this activity, bucket list etc. Spending on upmarket, premium and luxury is really something I learnt from my friends. 

I can somewhat understand it but also not fully understand it at the same time. Other than maybe cars and travel to some degree. 

I guess with enough income and exposure to quality, you get used to it. 

On 3/12/2025 at 9:12 PM, Lala81 said:

Like must travel biz class, watch this concert, do this activity, bucket list etc. Spending on upmarket, premium and luxury is really something I learnt from my friends. 

I can somewhat understand it but also not fully understand it at the same time. Other than maybe cars and travel to some degree. 

get a 911 soft top lo ... doc's fav car! lol

d05e3c1b-2020-porsche-911-cabriolet-0.jp

On 3/12/2025 at 9:16 PM, Wt_know said:

get a 911 soft top lo ... doc's fav car! lol

d05e3c1b-2020-porsche-911-cabriolet-0.jp

Haha for those who work hard play hard. 

on a diff note … $13M for a coffee shop 

how much is the kopi? [sly] 

may be can only afford kopi-o-kosong … 

or doc lala sit at the back lim ownself bring ownself water … lol

IMG_7453.jpeg

On 3/12/2025 at 9:12 PM, Lala81 said:

its good not to be like your friends.  They are clearly ratracing.   

be down to earth.  Pay for value not for pride.  Will never go wrong that way. 

On 3/12/2025 at 9:48 PM, Wt_know said:

on a diff note … $13M for a coffee shop 

how much is the kopi? [sly] 

may be can only afford kopi-o-kosong … 

or doc lala sit at the back lim ownself bring ownself water … lol

IMG_7453.jpeg

Haha I will buy a drink or eat something lah. 

On 3/13/2025 at 10:31 PM, Wt_know said:

can i say “sound familiar”

Then, in most countries, your family pays tax on the money you pass down to them when you die.

Death is not an escape.