inlinesix Hypersonic February 11 Share February 11 On 2/11/2024 at 10:42 AM, Karoon said: Some people want something they can pass on For foreign property, there will be more complications to pass on. Don’t give Children the problem ↡ Advertisement 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
bsswan 6th Gear February 12 Share February 12 On 2/11/2024 at 10:42 AM, Karoon said: Some people want something they can pass on There could/should be property in SG.... Rent it out, use the income to pay overseas rent and living expenses. This is the norm, and still leaves property to pass on, if that is the key. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Atonchia Supersonic February 17 Share February 17 Haven't eaten it for a long time. Just bought a $5 You Kee duck rice set. I think they are still one of the best value meal available. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Christan Turbocharged February 17 Share February 17 Experienced 2 prices increase after CNY. 1. At my regular satay stall at Jalan Berseh FC, Satay and rice, each increase $0.1 to $0.8 2. At geylang Bahru FC western food, spring chicken from 10 to 11.5 for 1, bcos a regular, so the auntie was explaining she had to increase as her supplier had increase the supplies pricing and was rather apologetic for it. i felt it is was difficult not to increase as she did not increase after last years GST but I guess the GST increase again left her with no choice for 2, will probably cut down on buying their spring chicken 3 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic February 21 Author Share February 21 (edited) On 2/8/2024 at 9:06 AM, Watwheels said: Wah seh, what do you think? Fair or not fair to consumers, to bear this "surcharge"? Or should the companies bear the cost of the surcharges instead? https://www.asiaone.com/singapore/prepare-pay-more-some-coffee-shops-chinese-new-year-vendors-implement-surcharges Prepare to pay more at some coffee shops this Chinese New Year as vendors implement surcharges The executive director of Badaling Holdings Guo Guanbao (transliteration) told 8world that they plan to implement a drink surcharge from Friday to Sunday. Hot and cold drinks at Badaling coffee shops around the island will cost 20 cents extra, while canned drinks will cost 30 cents more. A 50-cent surcharge will also be imposed on alcoholic beverages. Johnson Lim, CEO of Wu Fu Group, said that their coffee shops will also implement a 20-cent surcharge to drinks after 3pm on Chinese New Year Eve, and a 50-cent surcharge for alcoholic drinks. 11 out of Wu Fu's 16 coffee shops in Singapore will be open on Chinese New Year eve. Their coffee shops will be closed on Saturday and Sunday, and their drink prices will return to normal on Monday. Andy Hoon, CEO of Kim San Leng coffee shop chain shared that they would be imposing a 10-cent to 20-cent surcharge on their drinks during the Chinese New Year period. Food prices will also increase from between 50 cents to $2 at Kim San Leng coffee shops, depending on individual stall owners and market conditions. Qi Ji implements 10 per cent festive surcharge The Chinese media says it is to supplement the workers' pay for these establishments. https://www.8world.com/singapore/coffeeshop-cny-surcharge-2364311 Like what I mentioned earlier,are the wide range of surcharges during this time fair to consumers? Looking at majority ppl expectations they think an increase of 10% to 30% extra is alright while experts/economist think it is too much. For some hair cutting sole proprietor it seems they are the ones who put in the extra effort for the longer working hours, they are expecting the returns for their work. I mean that's fair if it's a slight surcharge, anything more than 10% is too much. But for the F&B sector or even bigger businesses I wonder the extra cost really get pass down to the workers cos for them this is their time where they see a boom in business for the entire year. Do they really need to charge extra cos they are seeing better business than usual or is it just an opportunity to chop carrot heads? Or is it just to cover cost for the cny rest days for other businesses? Imo in some cases it is blatant overcharging in the name of festive season cos other public holidays there are no such surcharges. Ppl should not support the surcharges during such times just because it is norm for many years. Edited February 21 by Watwheels Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Volvobrick Supersonic February 21 Share February 21 Went to my regular barber yesterday. Price increased from 10 to 12. Don't think it's just for the CNY period. 20% inflation! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Throttle2 Supersonic February 21 Share February 21 I think we have lost it a while back. Just using the same formula to tackle new issues doesnt work. sigh…. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Scion Turbocharged February 21 Share February 21 On 2/21/2024 at 9:47 AM, Volvobrick said: Went to my regular barber yesterday. Price increased from 10 to 12. Don't think it's just for the CNY period. 20% inflation! can take it as permanent increase in the price liao.... 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wt_know Supersonic February 21 Share February 21 On 2/21/2024 at 11:02 AM, Scion said: can take it as permanent increase in the price liao.... actually hor, any increase is permanent in spore, once up never come down … LOL 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ody_2004 Turbocharged February 22 Share February 22 why can't they just put the price tag on the dish itself? hygiene? or harder to con pple? whahahahahahaha.. 1 5 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wt_know Supersonic February 22 Share February 22 (edited) now a lot chap chai peng stall got "red" and "green" flag kiap at the food plate to highlight it's a meat or vege option but i still don't trust the guy standing at the cashier anyhoo punch punch ... $5.50, $6.50, $7.50, sometime hits $8 (must be fish) for my CCP lunch why can't they just put the price tag on the dish itself? hygiene? or harder to con pple? whahahahahahaha.. Edited February 22 by Wt_know 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vratenza Supersonic February 22 Share February 22 On 2/22/2024 at 11:49 AM, Wt_know said: now a lot chap chai peng stall got "red" and "green" flag kiap at the food plate to highlight it's a meat or vege option but i still don't trust the guy standing at the cashier anyhoo punch punch ... $5.50, $6.50, $7.50, sometime hits $8 (must be fish) for my CCP lunch that's why I never eat cai png or nasi padang for many years liao.....i dun like being carrot...😁 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kopites Supersonic February 22 Share February 22 On 2/22/2024 at 11:42 AM, Ody_2004 said: why can't they just put the price tag on the dish itself? hygiene? or harder to con pple? whahahahahahaha.. You mean there are people looking at pricelist to order their cai fan dishes? Generally depends on the thickness of my wallet just point here, here, there....will do.😁 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ody_2004 Turbocharged February 22 Share February 22 On 2/22/2024 at 12:28 PM, Kopites said: You mean there are people looking at pricelist to order their cai fan dishes? Generally depends on the thickness of my wallet just point here, here, there....will do.😁 If pple can request for their fare price to be displayed when they use SimplyGO when every trip is the same of cos MUST display and SEE before they order loh! whahahahahahaha.. i stay away from cai fai many years oredi.. indian rojak oso same.. wu siang i oso siam.. they can sum up the $$ infront of you then when u go order other stuff at other store they will cut half the lup cheong n hide somewhere.. jin dishonest.. 2 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dafansu Turbocharged February 22 Share February 22 On 2/21/2024 at 9:47 AM, Volvobrick said: Went to my regular barber yesterday. Price increased from 10 to 12. Don't think it's just for the CNY period. 20% inflation! Most are from $12. $10 not so common anymore. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Volvobrick Supersonic February 22 Share February 22 On 2/22/2024 at 11:42 AM, Ody_2004 said: why can't they just put the price tag on the dish itself? hygiene? or harder to con pple? whahahahahahaha.. The CP boss jiak till bui bui.... Wonder how often she eats her own CP.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Benarsenal Turbocharged February 22 Share February 22 On 2/22/2024 at 11:42 AM, Ody_2004 said: why can't they just put the price tag on the dish itself? hygiene? or harder to con pple? whahahahahahaha.. They will say every day different dishes, so pricing also every day different. Some stall owners will even say, meat and veg buy from market every day different price. Like stock market. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Victor68 Turbocharged February 23 Share February 23 On 2/22/2024 at 11:42 AM, Ody_2004 said: why can't they just put the price tag on the dish itself? hygiene? or harder to con pple? whahahahahahaha.. I thought once upon a time, NEA has this requirement to put the price on the food on display? Slowly disappear again? ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...